cuprita
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:40 pm

¿Is very large this transfer between both terminals?...¿We can wait a lot time in the pasport controls?...Because dont have to much time.

[Edited 2006-02-11 10:41:20]
PANASONIC DMZ-FZ5
 
superhub
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 4:17 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:49 pm

The only way you can transfer from T1 to T3 is by Airtrain on the land-side. I am not aware of anything that can take you from T1 to T3 on the air-side.

If you are arriving into T1 from an international flight, you have to clear immigration and customs first. I believe you also have to collect all your bagges first, then transfer to T3 and recheck them. Hence, you still need to transfer land-side.
 
SA7700
Posts: 2940
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:38 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:08 pm

Cuprita

At what time does your flight land at JFK and at what time are you departing from Terminal 3?


Rgds

SA7700
When you are doing stuff that nobody has done before, there is no manual – Kevin McCloud (Grand Designs)
 
cuprita
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:30 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:14 pm

2 hours in total , i arrived in a DL flight and i have to take the AM 403 to MEX
PANASONIC DMZ-FZ5
 
SA7700
Posts: 2940
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:38 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:01 pm

Ok, first of all you will be arriving at T3 (Delta) and departing from T1 (AM). When you check-in for your Delta flight, try to get your baggage tagged to MEX and not just JFK. Although Delta may not be able to print a boarding pass for your AM flight, at least your luggage will be tagged to your final destination, MEX.

That shaves off time already. If your luggage is tagged to MEX, pass USA Immigration and pick up your luggage in the baggage claims area of Terminal 3. Pass customs and drop your bags in the dedicated baggage recheck area, to your right, when you have passed customs but before you enter the arrivals hall. Proceed to Airtrain on the outside of T3, just follow the signs, it is not that far from the terminal.

Get on the "inner-loop" train, that moves between the various terminals, and get off at T1. Simply collect your boarding pass for your flight to MEX.

Here is a link to more Airtrain information: http://www.panynj.gov/aviation/jitcfram.htm


Rgds

SA7700
When you are doing stuff that nobody has done before, there is no manual – Kevin McCloud (Grand Designs)
 
Birdwatching
Posts: 3573
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 10:48 am

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:16 pm

Hola Cuprita, bienvenidos a Airliners.net!

Airports in the US are laid out differently than in Europe. In most European locations you can remain airside without even entering the country, saving you a lot of time.

In the US, many airports decided it would be a good idea to lose the business of all travellers from Latin America to Europe, because they can't get a visa to the US. So they laid out the airports in a way that you have to leave the terminal, walking on US soil.

It would certainly not be a huge logistical problem to have a possibility to get from terminal to terminal airside.

Soren  santahat 
All the things you probably hate about travelling are warm reminders that I'm home
 
rjpieces
Posts: 6849
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:58 am

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:45 am

What time of day is your flight arriving at JFK? Security lines at T1 can be very long during certain times in the afternoon.
"Millions long for immortality who do not know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon"
 
cuprita
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:30 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:16 pm

I arrived to the T1 at 13:35......
PANASONIC DMZ-FZ5
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:54 pm

Quoting RJpieces (Reply 6):
What time of day is your flight arriving at JFK? Security lines at T1 can be very long during certain times in the afternoon.

If you let the security people know that you are in danger of being late for your flight, they'll more than likely let you move to the head of the line.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
panamair
Posts: 3759
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 2:24 am

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:35 pm

Quoting Cuprita (Reply 7):
I arrived to the T1 at 13:35......

I am a little confused...you're arriving T3 (Delta) at 13:35 and leaving from T1 (AM) at 16:30 right? (AM403 leaves JFK at 16:30).

Should be ok with 3 hours of transfer time if your inbound arrives on schedule. With an arrival time or 13:35, can I assume you are arriving on DL119 from Paris? If so, immigration/customs at T3 Delta should not be a problem at that time - there should only be 2 (depending on the day, up to 3) other transatlantic flights coming in then (DL81 from AMS and DL141 from BRU, and if on certain days of the week, also DL83 from NCE). As others have mentioned, you don't have to drag your checked luggage between terminals if DL tags them all the way to MEX (should be no problem as DL and AM interline).

T1 also should not have too many departures at the 16:30 hour so the security lines should not be bad then.
 
EddieDude
Posts: 6177
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:19 am

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:13 am

Right, I agree with Panamair. The time for your connection is more than sufficient. I do not recall there being long security lines at T1 for the AM flight.

Quoting Cuprita (Reply 3):
have to take the AM 403 to MEX

Pablo, check your e-mail.
Next flights: MEX-LAX AM 738, LAX-PVG DL 77L, SHA-PEK CA 789, PEK-PVG CA A332, PVG-ORD MU 77W, ORD-MEX AM 738
 
cuprita
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:30 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:29 am

Eddie..no recibi ningun e-mail.....
PANASONIC DMZ-FZ5
 
User avatar
jfklganyc
Posts: 3934
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 2:31 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:35 am

"In the US, many airports decided it would be a good idea to lose the business of all travellers from Latin America to Europe, because they can't get a visa to the US. So they laid out the airports in a way that you have to leave the terminal, walking on US soil."

Actually, as per US law after 9/11, all pax transiting the US need a Visa. That was the reason the IB hub at MIA was shut.

PJ
 
cuprita
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:30 pm

RE: Transfer Between T1 And T3 IN JFK

Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:39 am

¿All visa?....I read that the EU citizens only need the electronic pasport...

[Edited 2006-02-13 17:40:24]
PANASONIC DMZ-FZ5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: An767, Baidu [Spider], BobMUC, CHCalfonzo, flyDTW1992, Francoflier, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Humberside, hunter58, Leej, PacificBeach88, PanzerPowner, poolkeeper, qf789, robr, Ronnoc, rutankrd, seahawk, shamrock350, SoJo, WIederling and 186 guests