Hagic
Topic Author
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:19 am

Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:59 am

Hello folks,

This may seem outdated but I just learned that AC is now flying YYZ-GRU with the A343! I've taken this flight a number of times in the past but on the B763, so this is kind of surprising to me.

So YYZ-GRU is the only southbound AC flight with the A343.

Moreover, it is the only flight within the Americas with any A340, if we consider that LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.

Is this correct?
There's only one freedom of the press: That of the survivors - (G. Arciniegas)
 
B742
Posts: 3559
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:48 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:03 am

Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):
Moreover, it is the only flight within the Americas with any A340, if we consider that LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.

Is this correct?

Nope, for example Aerolineas Argentinas operates the A340 between EZE and MIA and JFK  Smile

Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):
if we consider that LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.

LAN actualy has 4 A340-300's, they are to get more also I think  Smile

Rob!  wave 
 
A342
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:05 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:04 am

Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):
LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.

I thought they had 4 or 5 of them ?
Exceptions confirm the rule.
 
hardiwv
Posts: 4341
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 11:30 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:31 am

Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):
This may seem outdated but I just learned that AC is now flying YYZ-GRU with the A343! I've taken this flight a number of times in the past but on the B763, so this is kind of surprising to me.

AC is operating the A343 daily YYZ-GRU since October/05. The route has shown excellent results for AC therefore the increase in capacity.

Please read:
AC Upgrades GRU To A340 Service (by PPVRA Jul 1 2005 in Civil Aviation)
AC President In Brazil: E175 And A340 To GRU (by Hardiwv Jul 30 2005 in Civil Aviation)

Rgs,
 
FLYACYYZ
Posts: 1820
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:13 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:17 am

Quoting Hardiwv (Reply 3):
AC is operating the A343 daily YYZ-GRU since October/05. The route has shown excellent results for AC therefore the increase in capacity.

Results have been great, but looks like it's going back to the 763 for the summer schedule--presume the aircraft is required elsewhere.
Above and Beyond
 
Hagic
Topic Author
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:19 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:47 am

Quoting Hardiwv (Reply 3):
AC is operating the A343 daily YYZ-GRU since October/05. The route has shown excellent results for AC therefore the increase in capacity.

Please read:

AC Upgrades GRU To A340 Service (by PPVRA Jul 1 2005 in Civil Aviation)

AC President In Brazil: E175 And A340 To GRU (by Hardiwv Jul 30 2005 in Civil Aviation)

Thanks a lot Hardiwv. My search for this topic before posting it yielded no matches. I will certainly improve my keyword search next time. I apologize for this.

Quoting FLYACYYZ (Reply 4):
Results have been great, but looks like it's going back to the 763 for the summer schedule--presume the aircraft is required elsewhere

I've been in this flight a number of times... It is always completely full, both ways, any season... For anyone taking this flight on the GRU direction, I suggest booking a left-hand side window: The view of dawn and sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean is gorgeous...
There's only one freedom of the press: That of the survivors - (G. Arciniegas)
 
hardiwv
Posts: 4341
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 11:30 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:21 am

Quoting Hagic (Reply 5):
Thanks a lot Hardiwv.

My pleasure!

Quoting FLYACYYZ (Reply 4):
Results have been great, but looks like it's going back to the 763 for the summer schedule--presume the aircraft is required elsewhere.

Maybe because AC will finaly land in GIG? YYZ-GIG would be an interesting route 3 x week nonstop.

Rgs,
 
sebring
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:08 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:46 am

Quoting Hardiwv (Reply 6):
Maybe because AC will finaly land in GIG? YYZ-GIG would be an interesting route 3 x week nonstop.

Rgs,

They don't have enough A340s. AC has to inaugurate YYZ-PVG 3x weekly and that will take up almost an entire aircraft. AC is not adding 340s since the 777s are coming next year.
 
YULWinterSkies
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:42 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:54 am

Quoting B742 (Reply 1):
Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):Moreover, it is the only flight within the Americas with any A340, if we consider that LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.

Is this correct?

Nope, for example Aerolineas Argentinas operates the A340 between EZE and MIA and JFK  

Air Jamaica also flies to JFK with a 340-300.

LA flies its 4 340s to Europe + Oceania, but NAm is only 767.
When I doubt... go running!
 
cayman
Posts: 739
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:28 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:14 am

Could AC use the 333s on the route too--I assume they have the range? What difference would there be in using the 343s over the 333s if there are a/c available?

Can we asume that YYZ GRU is thus a possible 777 route if they are using the 343s there already?
 
LipeGIG
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 7:33 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:15 am

AC will receive back from RG one 767-300ER, now under brazilian registration PP-VPV, in two or three months.

Quoting Hardiwv (Reply 6):
Maybe because AC will finaly land in GIG? YYZ-GIG would be an interesting route 3 x week nonstop.

Could be a smart move. A YYZ-JFK-GIG also can give good profits.


Felipe
New York + Rio de Janeiro = One of the best combinations !
 
BN747
Posts: 5344
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 5:48 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:24 am

Quoting Hagic (Thread starter):
if we consider that LA only flies its two A343 to European destinations.



Quoting YULWinterSkies (Reply 8):
LA flies its 4 340s to Europe + Oceania, but NAm is only 767.

LA currently has two A343 services to LAX a week. TueFri via LIM.
The rest is 763 svc.


BN747
"Home of the Brave, made by the Slaves..Land of the Free, if you look like me.." T. Jefferson
 
FLYACYYZ
Posts: 1820
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:13 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 7:44 am

Quoting Sebring (Reply 7):
They don't have enough A340s. AC has to inaugurate YYZ-PVG 3x weekly and that will take up almost an entire aircraft. AC is not adding 340s since the 777s are coming next year.

Again, it's the proverbial aircraft shortage situation. YYZ-PEK was supposed to be daily on the 343, but now shares a 4/3 split with PVG. The 343 was supposed to remain on the GRU route year round, but it's operating YYZ-LHR, YYZ-FRA & YYZ-ICN for the summer, in addition to many of the Asia flights. Anybody have a 340 to spare??

In addition, obtaining the extra 763 from Varig will allow AC to replace the dubious "Club Class" cabin with true Executive First on the YYZ-FCO run.
Above and Beyond
 
A342
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:05 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:11 pm

Quoting CayMan (Reply 9):
Could AC use the 333s on the route too--I assume they have the range? What difference would there be in using the 343s over the 333s if there are a/c available?

They could as the route is about 8200 km long and the A333 has a max. range of 10500 km. However, they cannot take a full payload as the A333´s range with max. payload is about 7200 km.

To sum it up, AC would use the A333 if cargo revenues were not so good. If they want to take off with a full belly, they´d have to use the A343.
Exceptions confirm the rule.
 
FLYACYYZ
Posts: 1820
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:13 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:21 pm

Quoting A342 (Reply 13):
To sum it up, AC would use the A333 if cargo revenues were not so good

Question answered. Cargo is generally packed out of South America to Canada.
Above and Beyond
 
krisyyz
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:04 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:54 pm

Quoting FLYACYYZ (Reply 12):
Again, it's the proverbial aircraft shortage situation.

Wow, that ACPA vote last year really messed up AC's aircraft ops. If it weren't for the cancellation of the original Boeing order, AC would be getting its first B773ER next month thereby freeing up more A340 for Asia and S. America.

IMO I can see GRU being a B772LR route if the loads warrant it. I could even see an YYZ-MIA-GRU route, AC taking away some U.S/Brazilian business with its new products on its B777s.

Quoting FLYACYYZ (Reply 12):
Anybody have a 340 to spare??

I hope Air Jamaica doesn't, I flew on AC's 340-312 (the one from JM ) what a disgrace!! How could AC put that plane into service? On landing in YYZ some of the overhead containers opened up spilling bags everywhere.

Krisyyz
 
JJMNGR
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 9:06 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:07 am

It is not the first time AC uses the A343 to GRU but like posted above seems they change equipment very often because since AC flies to GRU the changed from B763 to A343 and v.v many times.
 
FLYACYYZ
Posts: 1820
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:13 am

AC//YYZ-SEA 2nd FLT -- First E190?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:14 am

Quoting KrisYYZ (Reply 15):
I hope Air Jamaica doesn't, I flew on AC's 340-312 (the one from JM ) what a disgrace!! How could AC put that plane into service? On landing in YYZ some of the overhead containers opened up spilling bags everywhere.

A.K.A fin 983. Don't know when you flew on that fin, but the aircraft was pressed into service last summer, allowing the company to operate the YYZ-PEK & YYZ-ICN routes as planned. Alot of man hours has been spent on that bird addressing the internal cabin snags, it was delivered in less than stellar shape. Have flown it recently, and while from a cabin service point of view hate the layout, it's posed few problems. Lets just hope we don't take on one of the BW A340's...apparently they're really beat up.

Never had the issue with the overheads opening. With all due respect, could just be that our customers didn't secure them properly, and the crew didn't pick up on it.

[Edited 2006-02-15 16:14:47]
Above and Beyond
 
beechnut
Posts: 549
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 12:27 am

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:19 am

Quoting KrisYYZ (Reply 15):
I hope Air Jamaica doesn't, I flew on AC's 340-312 (the one from JM ) what a disgrace!! How could AC put that plane into service? On landing in YYZ some of the overhead containers opened up spilling bags everywhere.

That due to the plane or the pilot's landing?  Smile
 
krisyyz
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:04 pm

RE: Air Canada To GRU Now With The A343

Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:35 am

Quoting FLYACYYZ (Reply 17):
Don't know when you flew on that fin, but the aircraft was pressed into service last summer

I flew her LHR-YYZ in 08/05, Im glade to hear that AC has put some work into her.

Quoting BeechNut (Reply 18):
That due to the plane or the pilot's landing?

Point taken, but I would say the plane. I've flown dozens of times on AC and I have to say I never experienced a hard landing, maybe less graceful ones on the 767, but that too is more plane and less pilot.

Krisyyz

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aerlingus747, B757Forever, Baidu [Spider], CHCalfonzo, D328, freakyrat, Gemuser, Google Adsense [Bot], gstpa, hyd09l27r, lavalampluva, LAX772LR, miguelpr91, mir2069, nikeson13, OA412, PanAm_DC10, rta, stlgph, The777Man, Thomo1978, TWA772LR, USAirALB, Wraine, Yahoo [Bot], YANQUI67 and 284 guests