yulguy
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 8:09 am

Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:29 am

I was just consulting the Toronto Airport website (www.gtaa.com) and was surprised to see that Cathay Pacific is not listed as serving the city anymore. I know that Air Canada now has daily HKG flights, but what about Cathay? Did they stop it? Is it seasonal? It would seem to me that there is more than enough room for 1 player on this lucrative route.
"Celui qui diffère de moi, loin de me léser, m'enrichit." - Saint-Exupéry
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:35 am

Cathay still flies daily to YYZ via YVR or ANC.
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
yulguy
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 8:09 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:38 am

Good to know. Are they operated by the 744?
"Celui qui diffère de moi, loin de me léser, m'enrichit." - Saint-Exupéry
 
flyyul
Posts: 4394
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2000 11:25 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:52 am

Daily via ANC with 340-300.
 
ba777-236
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 11:35 pm

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:03 am

Quoting FLYYUL (Reply 3):
Daily via ANC with 340-300.

Yup, and just saw her land in front of me last weekend!

Rumour has it that we'll see an A346 upgrade. One can only hope!
I like British Airways! I'm not sure why, but I do! ;-)
 
User avatar
yowza
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:01 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:10 am

Quoting FLYYUL (Reply 3):
Daily via ANC with 340-300.

If I'm not mistaken the 343 has the range to fly YYZ-HKG direct? I'd imagine with a few hundred nm to spare. Is there any reason they operate via ANC?

YOWza
 
User avatar
QB737
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 2:28 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:28 am

Quoting YOWza (Reply 5):
If I'm not mistaken the 343 has the range to fly YYZ-HKG direct? I'd imagine with a few hundred nm to spare. Is there any reason they operate via ANC?

YOWza

I know during winter the flight used to stop in ANC for a tech stop but the return on the other end was non-stop, was very tough on the smoker that I was at the time.

Ben
Ben YVR
 
ca228
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 8:17 am

RE: Cathay At YYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:44 am

If you were looking at the arrivals/departures page, sometimes CX doesn't appear on it earlier in the day, YYZ time. This is because CX doesn't land/depart until late in the evening, and sometimes the listing doesn't show until later on in the afternoon. I know that by experience from flying out of YYZ on CX last November.