sleekjet

Let's Hear It For The Gear

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:45 am

You guys are the experts; I'm just an amateur photographer. But I'm completely amazed by landing gear.

Just think. Landing gear are complicated pieces of technology, built to support enormously heavy aircraft under enormously stressful situations.

Engines are sexier, but the gear fascinates me more.

OK, just wanted to plug 'em.
II Cor. 4:17-18

ChiGB1973

RE: Let's Hear It For The Gear

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:50 am

whoop whoop

I am a big fan too!

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Fabian Gysel
View Large View Medium

Photo © Tim de Groot - AirTeamImages

View Large View Medium

Photo © Jet City Aviation Photography

M

jamesbuk

Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:13 am

I personally think that the wheels are the most important part of an aircraft and also the strongest. I think this because they are locked into the airframe they then get chucked out into an aircraft flying at like 200knots then they have to suddenly accelerate to 140-160 knots then after they've sped up, cope with all the weight of the aircraft. You tell me that aint impressive, LOL

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!

Newark777

Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:03 am

Quoting Jamesbuk (Reply 2):
I personally think that the wheels are the most important part of an aircraft and also the strongest.

Yeah, who needs those engines.  Wink

Anyway, the 777 has my favorite gear, especially while on short final, when it looks like a bird of prey coming in for a kill, with those big bogeys.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?

ReidYYZ

Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am