timz
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 1999 7:43 am

$ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:10 am

Looking at the flight plans on http://www.flightaware.com I see CO's IAH-HNL nonstop sometimes stays over the US and sometimes heads WSW from Houston over Mexico (Ciudad Obregon, then lat-lons across the ocean instead of a track). Mexico must charge them for the overflight? If they flightplan over the US, just skirting the border, are they allowed to deviate southward around weather-- or, if they do deviate, do they get charged?

How about flights from Chicago/Detroit and west, to Boston/NY? Does Canada charge for the overflight? Or, if they do, is it more expensive than staying over the US?
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:31 am

Both Mexico and Canada charge overflight fees.

Fees are based on the distance travelled within the respective FIRs.
Mexico's fees are pretty reasonable on a global scale, however Nav-Canada is one of the more expensive ATC providers particularly when one considers the size and distances involved. Canada's fees are also applicable in the large oceanic areas covered by its ATC.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
COSPN
Posts: 1535
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:33 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:56 am

Yes but NAV-Canada is a private for profit company right "outsourced" to make money for themselves and the Government of Canada...
 
Tornado82
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:19 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:07 am

Quoting Laxintl (Reply 1):

Mexico's fees are pretty reasonable on a global scale, however Nav-Canada is one of the more expensive ATC providers particularly when one considers the size and distances involved. Canada's fees are also applicable in the large oceanic areas covered by its ATC.

Is this also applicable for the flights that go over Canada say on approach to a place like BUF, CLE, ERI, or DTW? I've been pretty far out over Lake Erie on flights into DTW, alot closer to the Canadian side than the American side it seems.
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:15 am

Quoting Tornado82 (Reply 3):
I've been pretty far out over Lake Erie on flights into DTW, alot closer to the Canadian side than the American side it seems.

The boundary for Cleveland ARTCC (ZOB) is just north of the north shore of Lake Erie, and runs east-west. If you're over Lake Erie, you're in ZOB's airspace...
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
juventus
Posts: 2017
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:12 pm

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:27 am

Mexico might charge money, but I think the reason CO stays over the US its probably to avoid the paperwork. They go over Mexico, they'll save what? 20 minutes....
 
IAHFLYR
Posts: 3943
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:56 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:49 am

Quoting Juventus (Reply 5):
they'll save what? 20 minutes

Considering that is 2 flights a day from IAH to HNL and the current one to OGG that is a bundle of money 20 minutes a day when they file that way due to winds.....otherwise they wouldn't do it.
Any views shared are strictly my own and do not a represent those of any former employer.
 
Tornado82
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:19 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:04 am

Quoting OPNLguy (Reply 4):

The boundary for Cleveland ARTCC (ZOB) is just north of the north shore of Lake Erie, and runs east-west. If you're over Lake Erie, you're in ZOB's airspace...

That's interesting, considering it's Canadian sovereign territory.
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:39 am

Quoting Tornado82 (Reply 7):
That's interesting, considering it's Canadian sovereign territory.

Physical country border do not always equate to similar airspace borders.

For instance with Canada, US centers of Anchorage, Cleveland and Minneapolis manage cover portions of Canada's physical landmass, while Canadian Montreal and Vancouver cover some areas of US landmass.

With Mexico its also somewhat similar with Albuquerque and Ft Worth covering portions of Mexico's landmass while Mexico's Monterrey Center ends ups covering a portion of Southern Texas.

Similar situations occurs in other parts of the world, particularly Europe.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
Tornado82
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:19 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:13 pm

Quoting Laxintl (Reply 8):

Physical country border do not always equate to similar airspace borders.

Learn something every day..
 
planespotting
Posts: 3026
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 4:54 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:22 pm

So what are the "rates" like?

Do US aircraft flying directly to cities in Canada pay an airspace user fee and an ATC landing fee, or how does that work exactly?

can anyone elaborate more on these user fees? We are lucky in the US that we do not use them (especially GA)
Do you like movies about gladiators?
 
Lt-AWACS
Posts: 2120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 2:40 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:50 pm

Quoting Laxintl (Reply 8):
With Mexico its also somewhat similar with Albuquerque and Ft Worth covering portions of Mexico's landmass while Mexico's Monterrey Center ends ups covering a portion of Southern Texas.

No Part of Fort Worth Center's border touches Mexico. Only Houston and Albuquerque. Also none of my FAA 7610.4 pubs/LOAs show any of south Texas in Monterrey's control. Do you have a chart or pub I could see? I am intrigued now.

Ciao, and Hook 'em Horns,
Capt-AWACS, All Redheads are insane
Io voglio fica ogni giorni da mia bella moglie!
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:22 pm

Quoting Lt-AWACS (Reply 11):
Fort Worth Center's border touches Mexico

Absolutely right. I meant Houston (ZHU)

Quoting Lt-AWACS (Reply 11):
Do you have a chart or pub I could see? I am intrigued now.

Its a small area just South of HRL & MFE, plus a thin area just West of if you were to draw a straight line from MFE to NLD.

In return both Houston and Albuquerque control some areas over Mexico's territory further North and to the West.

Quoting Planespotting (Reply 10):
can anyone elaborate more on these user fees?

Mexico currently (atleast as of 2005 was) 2.52peso's (about $0.25USD) per Kilometer from entry of FIR to exit of FIR.

Nav-Canada on the other hand has a quite complex rate structure with fees for everything including enroute fees, terminal fees, airport fees, communications fees, oceanic fees...etc.
If you want some bed time reading here is a guide.
http://www.navcanada.ca/ContentDefin...s/Customer_Guide_to_Charges_en.pdf

At the end of the day, Canada can get pretty expensive. I know some airlines that will try to avoid transiting Canada on transcon flying if the enroute time via an all US route does not add much to the trip.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
cdeanda
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2001 9:34 am

RE: $ For Flying IAH-HNL Over Mexico?

Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:00 am

Quoting Laxintl (Reply 12):
I know some airlines that will try to avoid transiting Canada on transcon flying if the enroute time via an all US route does not add much to the trip

That's right. I flew with WestJet YVR-YUL-YVR on Oct 2004 and we stayed most of the time over US airspace.

Cheers,

Carlos

Who is online