soups
Posts: 3220
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 6:41 pm

'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:50 pm

South African Airways is investigating the circumstances on board an international flight, which a passenger described as "terrifying and chaotic", after technical difficulties kept them in Ghana for about 11 hours.

Flight SA208 from Washington to Johannesburg was approaching the apron at Accra Airport on Saturday for people to board, when, according to a Johannesburg passenger, the plane stopped dead on the runway and experienced a blackout.

http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePag.../NewsArchive/artikel.php?ID=102147
Next destinations, Suarabaya, beirut, paris, Accra
 
macc
Posts: 893
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:11 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:23 pm

anyone knows which aircraft?

empty batteries.... thats funny. so, was the plane plugged into a power socket somewhere in the lounge? Big grin
I exchanged political frustration with sexual boredom. better spoil a girl than the world
 
soups
Posts: 3220
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 6:41 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:56 pm

Currently SAA operated 4 weekly JNB-ACC-IAD this will soon be changed to 3 weekly A340-300
Next destinations, Suarabaya, beirut, paris, Accra
 
Umhlanga
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:27 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:55 am

Does this sort of thing happen often to aircraft?
 
andz
Posts: 7624
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:01 am

a SAA guard told them there was "a very, very big problem with the plane".

"We all got very scared to get back on the plane. I was frantic.

It felt like they were playing with our lives,"


Give me a break. The lights went out on the ground for God's sake.
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
MrMcCoy
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:17 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:03 am

Quoting Andz (Reply 4):

It felt like they were playing with our lives,"

They bought the ticket.  Smile After all, it's not United or WN on safety. Big grin
It only takes five years to go from rumor to standard operating procedure.
 
Umhlanga
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:27 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:17 am

I have no doubt their lives weren't in danger (in danger of what? As Andz said, they were on the ground!), but if this is an uncommon incident on board aircraft, then the publicity can't be good for SAA. (SAA seem to have a few power woes lately, as their HQ lost power today! See http://www.int.iol.co.za/index.php?s...id=181&art_id=qw1144231381989R131) By the way, what's with the 'SAA guard'? Do SAA have guards at ACC, or bring them along on flights? Or did one of the article's sources simply mistake an ACC airport security officer (who may not have any special, or accurate, knowledge about the plane's condition) for an SAA employee?
 
YYZYYT
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 12:41 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:33 am

Quoting MrMcCoy (Reply 5):
They bought the ticket.

... they knew what they were getting into. I say let em crash.
 
JoKeR
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:34 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:41 am

Quoting YYZYYT (Reply 7):
... they knew what they were getting into. I say let em crash.

What a stupid thing to say!  butthead 
Kafa, čaj, šraf?
 
lincoln
Posts: 3133
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:22 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:51 am

Quoting Umhlanga (Reply 6):
I have no doubt their lives weren't in danger (in danger of what? As Andz said, they were on the ground!), but if this is an uncommon incident on board aircraft, then the publicity can't be good for SAA.

I think there's just some "puffery" going on...Sounds like maybe an APU issue or something... I remember on one of my NW A3-something-or-other (think A320) flights went out with an inop APU... When we were on the ground there was no AC until ground power was fired up and then when we landed and the engines were shut off at the gate all of the cabin lights/AC went off and the emergency lights came on (followed by the FA making an announcement to the effect of "Had this been an actual emergency, you would have followed the white lights that you are seeing to the red lights. Red lights indicate an exit. Since this isn't an actual emergency, please DO NOT open the emergency exits. We'll be opening the main cabin door momentarially.")

Lincoln
CO Is My Airline of Choice || Baggage Claim is an airline's last chance to disappoint a customer || Next flts in profile
 
TinkerBelle
Posts: 1436
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:46 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:58 am

Quoting Soups (Thread starter):
approaching the apron at Accra Airport on Saturday for people to board,

Wait, if the plane had left IAD on it's way to JNB, it wouldn't be stopping at ACC for 'people to board', would it? I would think it's the other way round since ACC-JNB isn't that far off compared to IAD-ACC.

Quoting YYZYYT (Reply 7):
... they knew what they were getting into. I say let em crash.

WHAT? Failed attempt at humor on your part.
If you are going through hell, keep going.
 
Umhlanga
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:27 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:03 am

Quoting TinkerBelle (Reply 10):
Wait, if the plane had left IAD on it's way to JNB, it wouldn't be stopping at ACC for 'people to board', would it? I would think it's the other way round since ACC-JNB isn't that far off compared to IAD-ACC.

I'm not sure I get what you're saying, TinkerBelle. SAA fly IAD-ACC-JNB, and sell seats ex-ACC to JNB. Thus, as I understand it, this plane had left IAD, landed in ACC, and was on its way to the ACC terminal to pick up pax bound for JNB.


Best regards,
Umhlanga
 
TinkerBelle
Posts: 1436
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:46 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:06 am

Quoting Umhlanga (Reply 11):
and sell seats ex-ACC to JNB

Thanx, that explains it. Didn't know they sell ACC-JNB seats on this leg of the journey.
If you are going through hell, keep going.
 
kappel
Posts: 1836
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:48 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:30 am

Quoting JoKeR (Reply 8):
What a stupid thing to say!



Quoting TinkerBelle (Reply 10):
WHAT? Failed attempt at humor on your part.

I think it's meant as a joke as was used in the movie "Airplane". In that context it's kinda funny, but chances are many ppl didn't make the link.
L1011,733,734,73G,738,743,744,752,763,772,77W,DC855,DC863,DC930,DC950,MD11,MD88,306,319,320,321,343,346,ARJ85,CR7,E195
 
desertjets
Posts: 7564
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 3:12 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:35 am

Quoting Kappel (Reply 13):
I think it's meant as a joke as was used in the movie "Airplane". In that context it's kinda funny, but chances are many ppl didn't make the link.

I got the joke. Do I win a prize?
Stop drop and roll will not save you in hell. --- seen on a church marque in rural Virginia
 
IFEMaster
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:17 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:39 am

Quoting JoKeR (Reply 8):
What a stupid thing to say! butthead

Your name says it all... It's a line from 'Airplane'.

Was the plane a big pretty white one, with a big stripe, and looked like a big Tylenol?
Delivering Anecdotes of Dubious Relevance Since 1978
 
kappel
Posts: 1836
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:48 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:42 am

Quoting DesertJets (Reply 14):
I got the joke. Do I win a prize?

I dunno, ask the guy who made the joke in the first place...
L1011,733,734,73G,738,743,744,752,763,772,77W,DC855,DC863,DC930,DC950,MD11,MD88,306,319,320,321,343,346,ARJ85,CR7,E195
 
JBLUA320
Posts: 2997
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 8:51 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:15 am

I get it too!!! It's a JOKE people-- wow. This situation I'm sure is a bit harrowing for people but it's not like they were airborne when it happened...

JBLU
 
leothedog
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:45 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:44 am

I suddenly have the urge to put "Airplane" in the DVD player.
I've got things to see and people to do.
 
flyboy36y
Posts: 2897
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2000 1:45 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:29 am

Shaeneah.... they bought their tickets, they knew what they were getting into.... I say, LET 'EM CRASH. One of the best parrodies of how some news ppl sound.
 
IFEMaster
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:17 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:56 am

I have to wonder, though...were the engines shut down when this happened? If the engines were running, why would they be using the APU during taxi?
Delivering Anecdotes of Dubious Relevance Since 1978
 
YYZYYT
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 12:41 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:56 am

I think Airplane should be required viewing before someone can join a.net!
 
bphendri
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:18 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:01 am

Quoting MrMcCoy (Reply 5):
They bought the ticket.  

Shana, They Bought their tickets, they knew what they where getting into, I say.... "Let their light's go out!"


 Big grin  Big grin  Big grin
 
skyhigh777
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 7:07 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:35 am

Quoting Soups (Reply 2):
Currently SAA operated 4 weekly JNB-ACC-IAD this will soon be changed to 3 weekly A340-300

Are you serious?! I am flying IAD-Port Elizabeth in June and I was looking forward to flying the 747!! That sucks....unless of course the A340 won't leave me stranded in Ghana  optimist 
Prepare for take-off.
 
AlexPorter
Posts: 1655
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:10 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:44 am

Did they pass the time with sing-a-longs?
Last Flight: SCX701 MSP-PHX B738 8Jan2008
 
flydreamliner
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:05 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:48 am

Quoting Andz (Reply 4):

Give me a break. The lights went out on the ground for God's sake.

If they went out in the air, no one on the plane would be complaining, now would they?

Quoting MrMcCoy (Reply 5):

They bought the ticket. Smile After all, it's not United or WN on safety. Big grin

Yeah, really. I'm pretty sure I'd fly KLM through AMS or British through LHR if I were going to South Africa, but that's just me. The sad thing is, for as shady as SAA can be, they really aren't any less expensive.....

Quoting JoKeR (Reply 8):
What a stupid thing to say! butthead

If you read the ticket, it says, you're buying this ticket, it's not our fault if the plane shuts off and you die. People fly second rate airlines should die! Natural selection of airlines and airline passengers!


......lol.
"Let the world change you, and you can change the world"
 
a3xx900
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:03 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:53 am

Quoting IFEMaster (Reply 20):
I have to wonder, though...were the engines shut down when this happened? If the engines were running, why would they be using the APU during taxi?

I was asking myself the same question.

Quoting Soups (Thread starter):
Flight SA208 from Washington to Johannesburg was approaching the apron at Accra Airport on Saturday for people to board, when, according to a Johannesburg passenger, the plane stopped dead on the runway and experienced a blackout.

So, on the runway the engines went dead, no APU was running (or went dead as well) and the batteries went dead too?
Correct me pls, but doesn't the plane gets power from the generators of the running engines? And if the engines aren't running it gets the power from the APU. And if the APU isn't running there is still the batteries.
Now, if they really had a sudden blackout with engines spooling down and no battieries.... that sounds indeed like a very, very big problem.
Why is 10 afraid of 7? Because 7 8 9.
 
flydreamliner
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:05 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:55 am

Quoting A3xx900 (Reply 26):
So, on the runway the engines went dead, no APU was running (or went dead as well) and the batteries went dead too?
Correct me pls, but doesn't the plane gets power from the generators of the running engines? And if the engines aren't running it gets the power from the APU. And if the APU isn't running there is still the batteries.
Now, if they really had a sudden blackout with engines spooling down and no battieries.... that sounds indeed like a very, very big problem.

I can see a fuel issue cutting out the engines and APU, but like you said, it's still got batteries, it might stop, it wouldn't go dark. My guess is its an electronics issue.
"Let the world change you, and you can change the world"
 
a3xx900
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:03 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:57 am

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 27):
I can see a fuel issue cutting out the engines and APU, but like you said, it's still got batteries, it might stop, it wouldn't go dark. My guess is its an electronics issue.

EMP maybe?  Silly
Why is 10 afraid of 7? Because 7 8 9.
 
ptharris
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:58 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:03 am

Quoting YYZYYT (Reply 21):
I think Airplane should be required viewing before someone can join a.net!

Amen to that!! Big grin Uh oh... I have the urge to break out the DVD...

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
If you read the ticket, it says, you're buying this ticket, it's not our fault if the plane shuts off and you die.

 rotfl  ... shuts off ... perfect! Big grin

Quoting AlexPorter (Reply 24):
Did they pass the time with sing-a-longs?

"John Jacob Jin...." Well, certainly that would pass the time. Ooo.. tell scary stories would be great. Maybe build a fire, and roast some marshmelons.
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving isn't for you.
 
IFEMaster
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:17 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:13 am

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):

If you read the ticket, it says, you're buying this ticket, it's not our fault if the plane shuts off and you die.

Microsoft Windows comes with the same disclaimer  Wink

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
People fly second rate airlines should die! Natural selection of airlines and airline passengers!

Y'know, this makes perfect sense. I'm tired of stupid travellers. The weak should be devoured, the strong should prevail!
Delivering Anecdotes of Dubious Relevance Since 1978
 
AT502B
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 11:17 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:19 am

Quoting SkyHigh777 (Reply 23):
Are you serious?! I am flying IAD-Port Elizabeth in June and I was looking forward to flying the 747!! That sucks....unless of course the A340 won't leave me stranded in Ghana

I believe the IAD-JNB flight is going to be rerouted through DKR Senegal, and yes it still will be on the B744.
Of course with the current SA regime anything could change in a heartbeat.
If you're gonna be on a B744 in Y request the upper deck- the seat pitch is a lot more spacious.

Enjoy PLZ and the surrounding area, I was there this last Christmas and had a great time- be sure to visit Shamwari, a local private reserve with a guaranteed chance at seeing the big 5 up close Big grin
I love the smell of jet fuel in the morning.
 
aviationwiz
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:20 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:31 am

Quoting YYZYYT (Reply 7):
... they knew what they were getting into. I say let em crash.

Why not try em' before you bash em'? I've gone to South Africa 4 times in the past 4 years, each time with SAA, and the service was vastly superior to any American airline I have flown with.

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
People fly second rate airlines should die! Natural selection of airlines and airline passengers!

I guess you don't know this, but I'll tell you. SAA Technical does maintenance work for over 40 worldwide airlines, including a number of "first-rate" European airlines.

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
Yeah, really. I'm pretty sure I'd fly KLM through AMS or British through LHR if I were going to South Africa, but that's just me. The sad thing is, for as shady as SAA can be, they really aren't any less expensive.....

Well, if you want to spend twice as much, and get worse service, go for it. Each time I've gone to South Africa with SAA, I've saved nearly 50% than what I would have spent with NW/KL via AMS, or NW/BA/VS via LGW/LHR. If your travel agent is giving you similar pricing, find a new travel agent!
Proudly from the Home of the Red Tail.
 
skyhigh777
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 7:07 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:37 am

Quoting AT502B (Reply 31):

Thanks! I'm going to be in Port Elizabeth for about 2 1/2 months for work, so I'll be sure to see as many of the sights as possible. I'm really excited to go, I've never been to South Africa before and I heard its amazing!
Prepare for take-off.
 
AT502B
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 11:17 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:39 am

Quoting Aviationwiz (Reply 32):
Well, if you want to spend twice as much, and get worse service, go for it. Each time I've gone to South Africa with SAA, I've saved nearly 50% than what I would have spent with SA)">NW/KL via AMS, or SA)">NW/BA/VS via LGW/LHR. If your travel agent is giving you similar pricing, find a new travel agent!

You might want to look at the "NEW" 2006 SA US-JNB fares. They went up pretty much US$500pp across the board including low season,I believe this takes effect this month- so if you don't have tickets already you are screwed. My consolidator sent me an email last month notifying me of this joyful tidbit
 vomit 
I love the smell of jet fuel in the morning.
 
9252fly
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:19 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:43 am

I suspect the APU shut down due to to human error(flicked a switch at the wrong time),or it was breaker that tripped. Most commercial jet aircraft do not run the electrical systems off the engines when on the ground,rather electrical power for the aircraft comes from the APU. If you loose the APU,you're dead in the water and will require an air-start or sufficient ground power,without which you cannot restart the engines. It's interesting to note that on a CRJ,the APU is started before landing,this may also apply to other large jet aircraft. Is it possible the aircraft was being towed at the time of the APU failure? One can only conclude from this story,that it was an APU failure and that's reason enough to delay a flight until the problem is corrected.
 
malb777
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:53 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:12 am

Quoting Leothedog (Reply 18):
suddenly have the urge to put "Airplane" in the DVD player

Thats strange that is what I am watching at the moment
thank god i was not born a bird. this type of flying is much better
 
Cadet57
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:02 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:31 am

Quoting YYZYYT (Reply 7):
they knew what they were getting into. I say let em crash.

 rotfl  ha, thats classic

Quoting JoKeR (Reply 8):
What a stupid thing to say!

you sir, have obviously never seen Airplane!  Wink

Quoting DesertJets (Reply 14):
I got the joke. Do I win a prize?

yes. A free flight on WN so long as its on a tuesday, and anywhere within the Wright Amendment  Wink
Doors open, right hand side, next stop is Springfield.
 
WannaFly
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:16 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:47 am

"a SAA guard told them there was "a very, very big problem with the plane"

Why would you tell passangers that there was "a very, very big problem with the plane" ? Does not sound like a good idea to me.
WannaFly
 
flydreamliner
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:05 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:07 am

Quoting Aviationwiz (Reply 32):
I guess you don't know this, but I'll tell you. SAA Technical does maintenance work for over 40 worldwide airlines, including a number of "first-rate" European airlines.

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
Yeah, really. I'm pretty sure I'd fly KLM through AMS or British through LHR if I were going to South Africa, but that's just me. The sad thing is, for as shady as SAA can be, they really aren't any less expensive.....

Well, if you want to spend twice as much, and get worse service, go for it. Each time I've gone to South Africa with SAA, I've saved nearly 50% than what I would have spent with NW/KL via AMS, or NW/BA/VS via LGW/LHR. If your travel agent is giving you similar pricing, find a new travel agent!

The fact they do service for airlines I might fly scares me....

I live in MSP, I generally get a good price on anything NW/KL. Plus, SAA I'm flying MSP-ATL-DAK-JNB-CPT - and MSP-ATL is on a comair CRJ. I'd rather fly MSP-AMS-CPT, A330 and 777 service, one stop in just about my favorite place ever (Amsterdam Schipol Airport). And pricewise, it's about the same, give or take, depending on my dates. I was looking at going there. I've never been, and my father grew up there, so I've always wanted to go. When I do, it won't be SAA, and hopefully not something they've serviced either. Else it might just shut off over the mid-atlantic.

Quoting WannaFly (Reply 38):
Why would you tell passangers that there was "a very, very big problem with the plane" ? Does not sound like a good idea to me.

Don't they know the drill. if the truth is the engine shot off a fan blade, punctured a line and bled the hydraulics dry, you tell the passengers it's a minor problem with the in-flight-entertainment and intercom.
"Let the world change you, and you can change the world"
 
aviationwiz
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:20 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:30 am

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 39):
When I do, it won't be SAA, and hopefully not something they've serviced either. Else it might just shut off over the mid-atlantic.

What about all the incidents that happen with American carriers? Like the threads just today about a part falling off of a DC-10 engine from FX, and a US engine fire over Seattle. SAA is a perfectly safe airline, and is just as good as any US based airline in that regard.
Proudly from the Home of the Red Tail.
 
Umhlanga
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:27 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:57 am

SAA have certainly made plenty of marketing mis-steps (anyone who visits their website and tries to get much relevant information aside from fares and timetables can attest to SAA's PR ineptness), but their technical program is definitely top-notch. As noted elsewhere on this thread, SAA Technical do maintenance for nearly all of the major ('non-third rate') carriers that serve JNB. Criticize SAA management all you want for selling off needed long-range aircraft, for eliminating nonstop service from the USA, for having a poor website, for recent price hikes, or for being overly political (i.e., promoting too many people based on race alone), but their maintenance is as good as any first rate airline. And their service isn't bad either!
 
worldtraveler
Posts: 3417
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 6:18 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:28 pm

The last paragraph sums up SAA's explanation....although a failure of two parts of the electrical system does seem unusual.

According to SAA spokesperson Jacqui O'Sullivan, the aircraft had experienced problems because its auxiliary power unit that operated while it was on the ground had not been working and its batteries had needed recharging. She said passengers had at no time been in danger.

And airplanes are dispatched with inop APU's all the time... they are not essential for flying although are required by some types of aircraft for some missions such as ETOPS. Domestically, they just have to be air started and the crew best not shut down the engines until they have ground power flowing.
 
ptharris
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:58 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:06 pm

Quoting IFEMaster (Reply 30):
Microsoft Windows comes with the same disclaimer

Imagine being on the flight deck when you hear over the intercom "BONG!" and you look at your displays ahead and it's the blue "your hosed" screen Window's likes to display when all goes sideways.

Or, instead of the standard call outs (terrain, pull up) it says (exception error, reboot) Big grin
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving isn't for you.
 
YULWinterSkies
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:42 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:54 pm

Quoting Ptharris (Reply 43):
Or, instead of the standard call outs (terrain, pull up) it says (exception error, reboot) 

Then you say, oops, the computer "crashed".... Or, let's rephrase it, CNN says the computer "crashed"...

Please keep Windows out of airplanes. Regular plane windows are enough for me, thanks.

Quoting Andz (Reply 4):
a SAA guard told them there was "a very, very big problem with the plane"

Sarcastic. The dude probably had no idea of what was going on, neither was he prepare to reassure a crowd of 300 people (he was obviously not reassuring!). Being (likely) based in Accra, he may have witnessed a few "exception error, reboot" on sketchy 35-year-old DC4s or Illyushin cargos coming from the very safe neighbouring countries... Prepared to the worst, basically...

Africa always brings us lots of surprises about airplane transportation... Nothing too unsafe this time, just a good laugh!
When I doubt... go running!
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:14 pm

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 39):
When I do, it won't be SAA, and hopefully not something they've serviced either. Else it might just shut off over the mid-atlantic.

Hmm, so if it was up to you, you would blame SAA for the fuel leak which helped cause the inflight shutdown of both engines on TS flight 236, which safely glided though crashlanded in TER? Give me a break. Or would you say the same about LH if they had the same problem, and in the process blame Lufthansa Technik for that?  Yeah sure

As has been said, SA is a perfectly safe airline, and they wouldn't have many other airlines as customers if their maintenance department wasn't top notch.
 
flydreamliner
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:05 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:44 pm

I'm sure their safety is there. I don't trust UA that much either when it comes to maintanance, but that's based on the extreme disrepair of the last flight of theirs I was on. I still think SAA is third rate airline. I wouldn't blame them for everything, I was being sarcastic. That said, when I go to capetown, it'll be on KLM.

But I do agree, they are horribly mismanaged.
"Let the world change you, and you can change the world"
 
andz
Posts: 7624
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:16 pm

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
as shady as SAA can be



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
People fly second rate airlines should die!



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 39):
The fact they do service for airlines I might fly scares me....



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 46):
I still think SAA is third rate airline

Second rate? third rate? any advance on third rate?

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 46):
But I do agree, they are horribly mismanaged

This is the only thing making even half-sense that you have said in this thread.
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
flydreamliner
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:05 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:28 pm

Alright, for half the time, I was trying to be funny and sarcastic, referring to an airline who has planes that simply "shut-off" and then tell people the plane has had a major issue.

My opinion of SAA isn't high, from my understanding of their opperations, my calling them once, after their website couldn't help me (they couldn't either) and my collegues and family's experiences flying them.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure in all honestly their mantainance is very good, I was just poking fun at the fact they have planes that simple shut off, on top of that they seem to be more mis-managed than any airline I can think of (even NW).
"Let the world change you, and you can change the world"
 
Euclid
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 3:42 am

RE: 'Blackout' On SAA Plane

Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:37 pm

Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 39):
The fact they do service for airlines I might fly scares me....



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 39):
When I do, it won't be SAA, and hopefully not something they've serviced either. Else it might just shut off over the mid-atlantic.



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 25):
for as shady as SAA can be



Quoting FlyDreamliner (Reply 46):
I still think SAA is third rate airline.

Why don't you just stay out of South Africa altogether? It's obvious that you have a huge problem with anything South African.