Guest

CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 5:28 am

CSA's long haul fleet consists of 2 Airbus A310-300's. Any thoughts on
what they might replace these with? I would think the 767-300ER would
be a good fit. CSA has 737-500's and 737-400's.

The A310's operate EWR-PRG and ORD/YUL-PRG flights.

 
CB777
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 1999 8:13 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 5:46 am

I heard they might order 3 Boeing 767-400's. I heard this a few months ago, but not sure exactly where I got it from.

CB777
 
mikeyyz
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:31 pm

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 6:29 am


If they join up with CO it most likely will be boeing's, a couple of 764's would do the job.

CSA stoped the ORD flight and operates into YYZ 3X a week and also flies into BKK.

MIKEYYZ
 
User avatar
sammyk
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 1999 11:31 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 6:35 am

I forget the source also, but I remember hearing it in several places, and it sounds like it can happen. I think they are waiting for the A310 leases to end.

Sammy
 
D L X
Posts: 11631
Joined: Thu May 27, 1999 3:30 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 7:25 am

Having just flown CSA, I can tell you that the 310s they have a too small for the Czech Republic's new economy. Both flights I experienced, and the flight I watched load were all 100% full. (One person in our group actually couldn't board with us because the flight was too full.) A 764 would fit nicely in their fleet, especially if they trade their 733 and 734 for 737NGs. THey could all fly the same displays, and actually do MFF flying as well. (with a little effort.) Perfect for their small fleet.
 
prebennorholm
Posts: 6409
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2000 6:25 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 8:01 am

Just wondering why everybody excludes the posibility that CSA exchanges old Airbusses with new Airbusses. A330 in CSA colors would fit nicely with their 737-400/500s the same way as SAS's 737NG and A330/340 do.
BTW, any rumours where SAS's old 767s will go when their Airbusses arrive? Maybe a few of them to CSA?
CSA might also just lease one more A310 and step up their frequencies, a quite ordinary procedure when more capacity is needed.
Well, how can I know? Last time I was with CSA it was on an Il-62 - hopefully it is not considered again!!!
Always keep your number of landings equal to your number of take-offs
 
Guest

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 8:59 am

Its important that the Czech government make an overture to the European Union. Now that they are a member of NATO, they can fod off the Americans and order Airbus.
 
slawko
Posts: 3742
Joined: Tue May 25, 1999 7:40 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 9:16 am

They went with airbus, and it prooved to be to small....time for boeing, the only thing worth flying.....

(Just my opinion)
"Clive Beddoe says he favours competition, but his actions do not support that idea." Robert Milton - CEO Air Canada
 
JAT
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2000 4:45 am

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 9:31 am

I don't understand Slawko. If they had gotten the 767-200 instead of the A310 they have now your comment could be the opposite. The size has nothing to do with the manufacturer. CSA could have gotten an A330 if they wanted larger capacity.


JAT



 
mikeyyz
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:31 pm

RE: CSA Fleet Renewal

Fri Jun 09, 2000 11:32 am


Well it can go both ways BUT if CSA gets in with Continental those A330's will not look good with CO's 777's and 764's. Right???
Since every airline now is going crazy with the common cockpits. same with alliances.

MIKEYYZ
 
mish1234
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 1999 7:05 am

I Almost Flew With Them For This Reason....

Fri Jun 09, 2000 12:29 pm

I almost flew with this airline because the ticket was half the cost of any other ticket. But I no .. I dont trust this airline yet. I said no cause I remeber the Tu-154 operating its flights from Toronto and other airports. But than I looked it up and the Tu-154 was retired out of the fleet long ago. So I would of been on the AIrbus 310 connecting on the 737. But still I dont feel safe with this airline. If they get some newer aircraft ill fly them.  
 
mikeyyz
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:31 pm

RE: I Almost Flew With Them For This Reason....

Fri Jun 09, 2000 1:51 pm


It doesn't matter if they have old or almost old aircraft if an airplane is maintained through it's life it can fly for a long, long time. Most of their 737's are new. Look up when was the last time a passenger died on a CSA flight, i think you would have a hard time finding one.

And yes it is true they have quite cheap fares.
that's why they are always full.

MIKEYYZ
 
D L X
Posts: 11631
Joined: Thu May 27, 1999 3:30 am

Mish1234

Wed Jun 14, 2000 1:03 pm

Yeah, I agree Mish. Their fleet is way too old for my taste. What is it, 3 years old? CSA's fleet age is certainly nothing to complain about, Mish.
 
Udo
Posts: 4288
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:16 pm

RE: Mish1234

Wed Jun 14, 2000 4:45 pm

I think CSA is a very good airline, using a modern fletrt of A310-300, B737-400, B737-500, ATR72-200 and ATR42-300/400. The average fleet age is around five years. The Czech economy is rising, so is CSA. Some people should better get informed before talking stuff ready for the trashcan.

Regards
Udo
Me & You & a Plane Named Blue...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airtechy, Avianca, azz767, Baidu [Spider], BlueSky1976, Bongodog1964, CALTECH, chiad, coronado, D L X, dabpit, Ducari, Dutchy, Google Adsense [Bot], jbs2886, mjdemain, MKEdude, motif1, MSNbot Media, northstardc4m, Okie, ordpia, persiangulf93, phluser, posti, PW100, PZ707, Qatara340, SWADawg, theginge, TZTriStar500, V90Ambulanse, warpedreality, winGl3t, Yahoo [Bot], yyz717 and 422 guests