leelaw

JetBlue Seen Slowing Growth In Face Of Challenges

Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:42 pm

JetBlue Airways may "modestly retard its growth" through retirement of its oldest aircraft or deferrals of new deliveries and could make an announcement to that effect as early as next week, JP Morgan analyst Jamie Baker speculated in a report released Monday.

http://atwonline.com/news/story.html?storyID=4754
Lex Ancilla Justitiae

roseflyer

RE: JetBlue Seen Slowing Growth In Face Of Challenges

Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:44 pm

Retiring its oldest aircraft?!? That sounds pretty bad when they have so many A320s on order. It does look like jetBlue expanded wildly as it rapidly grew a new market segment, however now that their initial expansion is over, they are getting into new markets and facing problems. Hopefully jetBlue will continue to succeed, but it does have a lot of airplanes on order. I'm not an expert on airplane purchasing, but if they have to retire 5 year old planes in order to slow growth while taking new delivery of planes, I would question investing in jetBlue. Now Singapore Airlines does this, but I haven't seen any other airline retire such new airplanes.
If you have never designed an airplane part before, let the real designers do the work!

akjetBlue

Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:12 pm

Quoting Leelaw (Thread starter):
JetBlue Airways may "modestly retard its growth" through retirement of its oldest aircraft or deferrals of new deliveries and could make an announcement to that effect as early as next week, JP Morgan analyst Jamie Baker speculated in a report released Monday.

*Note it says "speculated"

This is not a news report, this is speculation, just as everyone speculated the end of NW and DL, the merger of FL and Midwest, the fact that the A380 wouldn't fly or that no one would buy it, and of course there is the forever speculated retirement of the NW DC-9, do i really need to continue?