od-bwh
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 6:25 pm

Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 5:54 am

I heard a long time back that all airline's websites would start with the airlines IATA two letter code, followed by the .aero domain. Only few airlines used this, namely Lufthansa LH.aero, NWA NW.aero...

What about other airlines? Why didn't they update their domains yet? It's a good idea, but i think it'll be difficult for those who never heard of IATA codes  Smile

OD-BWH
A300, A319, A320, A321, A332, A333, A343, A346, A388, B734, B738, B744, B772, B773, B788, F70, MD11, CRJ700
 
acidradio
Crew
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 3:19 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 5:56 am

People already know these airlines by the websites they already have. There is no sense in changing now. That is almost like changing your phone #, especially when you've had it for years. Website names need simplicity, nothing more.
Ich haben zwei Platzspielen und ein Microphone
 
od-bwh
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 6:25 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 6:04 am

Quoting Acidradio (Reply 1):
People already know these airlines by the websites they already have. There is no sense in changing now.

Lufthansa is using both, lufhansa.com and LH.aero. Airlines shouldn't give up their original websites, but, I guess, they should adopt the .aero as an alternative. I use Google evertime i search for SAS website! The same happens with Cathay Pacific and Singapore Airlines. How easy could it be to use SK.aero, CX.aero, and SQ.aero?
A300, A319, A320, A321, A332, A333, A343, A346, A388, B734, B738, B744, B772, B773, B788, F70, MD11, CRJ700
 
andrej
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 8:31 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 6:04 am

Hello OD-BWH,

I just checked some webpages and it seems that some airlines have re-linked their .aero domains to their normal ones. Example: ok.aero is same as csa.cz, ba.aero will get you to British Airways webapage.

However, if you type in wn.aero, a link will show up and on left site it will explain to you that this is a "pre-registered domain" for Southwest. There will be also a link for WN. Also, I tried su.aero with same results.

So I guess it depends on airlines and their priorities.

Cheers,
Andrej
 
od-bwh
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 6:25 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 6:11 am

I've been checking this for the last 3 yrs  Smile Nothing happened since then.
A300, A319, A320, A321, A332, A333, A343, A346, A388, B734, B738, B744, B772, B773, B788, F70, MD11, CRJ700
 
797
Posts: 1386
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:51 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 6:20 am

www.CONVIASA.aero

There you have...

Cheers!
Flying isn't dangerous. Crashing is what's dangerous!
 
mhodgson
Posts: 4673
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 8:47 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 6:39 am

Sri Lankan use srilankan.aero

BA use BA.com, but I've just found that BA.aero works too.
No trees were harmed by this message. However, several million electrons were terribly inconvenienced
 
petmbro
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:07 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 10:49 am

I could see if it was .air, but aero isn't as catchy as .com is and everyone is so use to the it, so why bother changing?
"don't pee on my leg and tell me it's raining!" - Judge Judy
 
utapao
Posts: 546
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 10:19 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 10:53 am

Quoting OD-BWH (Thread starter):
Why didn't they update their domains yet? It's a good idea, but i think it'll be difficult for those who never heard of IATA codes

Think you answered your own question with the comment about general public not knowing IATA codes.

Also, getting the public to shift their mindset to start looking for .aero, .air or anything other than .com would take a while. I'm always amazed at number of people I've spoken to who don't know there are any domains other than .com.
Sawasdee khrab!
 
flywithjohn
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:59 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 10:57 am

you'd have redo every .com address to .aero and people now them as .com why make it confusing
Always Blue Sky's.....
 
LFutia
Posts: 3155
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 11:04 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 11:53 am

KL.aero redirects me to KLM.com

Leo
Leo/ORD -- Groetjes uit de VS! -- Heeft u laatst nog met KLM gevlogen?
 
RCS763AV
Posts: 3650
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:22 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 12:12 pm

Alianza Summa used to have summa.aero, but its now avianca.com....
 
Ken777
Posts: 9046
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:39 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 12:18 pm

The average consumer can't find anything on the internet unless it's a .com and often times that is difficult. Maybe the .xxx domain would work for some businesses, but basically it's .com if you want people to find you.
 
aviatortj
Posts: 1694
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:15 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 12:46 pm

There is nothing stopping airlines from having two or more domain names redirecting to one page. It could be kinda cool to see a logo jet like www.us.aero (instead of the .com ones).
 
UpperDeck79
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:14 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 4:37 pm

The Finnair-owned feeder airline Aero (Finnair's original name, btw) should definitely get theirs: aero.aero Big grin But would people even realise that's a web site address?

(Their actual site is this: http://www.aeroairlines.com/)
AY and ANA rock!
 
ceo@afg
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2001 2:32 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Tue May 02, 2006 4:50 pm

http://www.sas.aero seems to work for getting you to the SK website
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue." Steven McCroskey, Airplane!
 
kaniksu
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 12:54 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 12:37 am

Most of the airline domain names are easy to figure out, it's the airports that are hard to find at times. Many people do not know the 3 letter codes for airports but it would still be nice if all of the airports used the .aero extention. It appears they have all been registered and the airports just need to contact the registrar to take control of the domain. My local airport doesn't even have a domain name, it piggybacks on to the local ports domain.
 
neilalp
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2000 3:16 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 12:40 am

Plus I'm sure millions of Americans would complain.... (.AERO) it would have to be (.AIR)
 
757MDE
Posts: 1451
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:45 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 1:23 am

What for those little airlines that don't have a IATA code?
Quisiera volveraamartevolveraquerertevolveratenertecerrrrcaademígirl! Mis ojos lloran porrr ti...
 
av8rphx
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:10 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 3:23 am

Quoting Kaniksu (Reply 16):
Many people do not know the 3 letter codes for airports but it would still be nice if all of the airports used the .aero extention

I personally like www.yvr.ca its easy to remember.
 
User avatar
yowza
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:01 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 3:28 am

I just don't think the extenson should ever be longer that the domain stub itself.

i.e. yvr.ca looks and sounds much better than yvr.aero Maybe I'm not forward thinking enough but I think a 2/3 letter TLD extension would have been received far better. Such as say yvr.air

I guess that another reason that this has not picked up is due to carriers wanting to show their national pride, at least for the purposes of marketing within their own borders.

YOWza
 
blrBird
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:39 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 3:32 am

UL does use it www.srilankan.aero
from star dust....
 
RICARIZA
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:56 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 3:41 am

Quoting RCS763AV (Reply 11):
Alianza Summa used to have summa.aero, but its now avianca.com....

But http://www.av.aero will take you to Avianca's website.

"To date there are more than 40 airlines and 200 airports already using www.(industrycode).aero as a shortcut to their corporate website. This has become a fast entry alternative for those who know the code and like using a “system” that is predictable." (source, aa.aero)

[Edited 2006-05-02 20:43:53]
I miss ACES, I am proud of AVIANCA & I am loyal to AMERICAN
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 3:46 am

I put in a bunch of different airline codes, and they all showed up as pre-registered. I guess the .aero people don't even ask the airlines, and they just reserve their IATA code by default for the respective airline.
 
User avatar
antoniemey
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:38 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 4:20 am

Interestingly enough, co.aero is the placeholder page, but Continental.aero says it's "Coming Soon"

So, looks like Continental may be planning to make use of the .aero domain in some way.
Make something Idiot-proof, and the Universe will make a more inept idiot.
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 6:49 am

Quoting OD-BWH (Reply 2):
Lufthansa is using both, lufhansa.com and LH.aero.

Not for me http://www.lh.aero/

www.dresden.aero is Dresden Airport but not used in advertisement. Seems .aero was more a wish than what it's now....like the .eu domains.

Georg
 
FoxBravo
Posts: 2769
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 1:34 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 6:55 am

The new International Registry of aircraft and engines under the Cape Town Convention is at internationalregistry.aero. That's the only .aero domain that I've seen used as a primary address.
Common sense is not so common. -Voltaire
 
PU803
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 1999 8:06 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 5:49 pm

Hi,

PLUNA is also using http://www.pluna.aero as its primary address.
 
killjoy
Posts: 601
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 1999 6:00 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 6:04 pm

Quoting Ken777 (Reply 12):
The average consumer can't find anything on the internet unless it's a .com and often times that is difficult. Maybe the .xxx domain would work for some businesses, but basically it's .com if you want people to find you.

The average consumer can't, in fact, even understand IATA codes when they're printed on the boarding pass. Every time I fly LHR-HEL there's at least a couple of idiots trying to get on the wrong plane, just because the Finnair and BA evening flights take off very close to each other.
 
User avatar
ClassicLover
Posts: 3940
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:27 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 7:44 pm

Yeah QF and AY are pre-reserved also, though they don't redirect.
I do quite enjoy a spot of flying - more so when it's not in Economy!
 
goaliemn
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 9:46 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 10:32 pm

I'm sure .aero isn't cheep. Alot of the niche domains demand alot of money to use them
 
congaboy
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 11:18 pm

It isnt widely adopted and marketed because too many airlines have advertised the ".com" heavily, and now the traveling public associates with "united.com" rather than "ua.aero". And that is the goal for airlines...

More reasons: hate to say it, but in the U.S., IATA airline and city are not used like they are in Europe, Africa, Asia, etc...flights are not referred to as "SU205", it is written as it is spoken, "Aeroflot flight number 205". The point is web sites connect much better with US customers when its in plain English.

Also, "aero" is a European root word...in the US, just use "air" if anything.
"Joey, you like movies about gladiators?"
 
star_world
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 7:52 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 11:29 pm

Just a few points on this -

Quoting Congaboy (Reply 31):
"aero" is a European root word...in the US, just use "air" if anything.

As far as I know, "aero" in this case refers to "aerospace" which is just as accepted in the US as in Europe. Not sure why this would be a problem!

Quoting Goaliemn (Reply 30):
I'm sure .aero isn't cheep. Alot of the niche domains demand alot of money to use them

This is an important point. The .aero TLD was set up by SITA, who are one of the providers of IT services to the airline industry. Presumably this means yet more money for them if any of the airlines sign up to this - they are widely known for their extortionate pricing across the entire sector, particularly with smaller airlines who feel like they have no choice to go elsewhere. I would hope that this would put some airlines off!
 
TWA902fly
Posts: 2869
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 1999 5:47 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Wed May 03, 2006 11:48 pm

Quoting Ken777 (Reply 12):
but basically it's .com if you want people to find you.

its funny because we're all on airliners.net
life wasn't worth the balance, or the crumpled paper it was written on
 
congaboy
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 1:21 am

Quoting Star_world (Reply 32):
The .aero TLD was set up by SITA,



Quoting Star_world (Reply 32):
As far as I know, "aero" in this case refers to "aerospace" which is just as accepted in the US as in Europe. Not sure why this would be a problem!

Funny you should mention these items...guess who I work for? In fact, we sell the ".aero" domain for alot less than you think we do...
"Joey, you like movies about gladiators?"
 
User avatar
antoniemey
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:38 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 2:41 am

Quoting Star_world (Reply 32):
As far as I know, "aero" in this case refers to "aerospace" which is just as accepted in the US as in Europe. Not sure why this would be a problem!

Not as widely known to the general public as you might think. No one in the US says "Aeroplane" for example. It's "Airplane" and "Airline." Add to this the fact that the average joe probably doesn't even know of the EXISTENCE of the .aero domain at this point... Well, I think you get the idea.
Make something Idiot-proof, and the Universe will make a more inept idiot.
 
star_world
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 7:52 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:19 am

Quoting Antoniemey (Reply 35):
Not as widely known to the general public as you might think. No one in the US says "Aeroplane" for example. It's "Airplane" and "Airline." Add to this the fact that the average joe probably doesn't even know of the EXISTENCE of the .aero domain at this point... Well, I think you get the idea.

I had thought the .areo domain was intended for use within the industry (hence the use of the airline code format) and not so much the general public? Congaboy may have some views on the subject, since he works for them?  Smile
 
L410Turbolet
Posts: 5432
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:12 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:27 am

PRG just recently changed their logo



and started to use http://www.prg.aero as their official webpage address. I suppose they will keep their old address in operation for quite a while as well.
 
congaboy
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:34 am

Quoting Star_world (Reply 36):
I had thought the .areo domain was intended for use within the industry (hence the use of the airline code format) and not so much the general public? Congaboy may have some views on the subject, since he works for them?

Yea, that's right, Star_world. Certainly an ATI business could use .aero to the public, but with .com already being actively marketed and branded, no real hope to think .aero would become the standard...so, we went to the likes of Airbus and Boeing, P&W, GE, etc first.
"Joey, you like movies about gladiators?"
 
bond007
Posts: 4423
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:07 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:35 am

Quoting Goaliemn (Reply 30):
I'm sure .aero isn't cheep. Alot of the niche domains demand alot of money to use them



Quoting Star_world (Reply 32):
Presumably this means yet more money for them if any of the airlines sign up to this - they are widely known for their extortionate pricing across the entire sector, particularly with smaller airlines who feel like they have no choice to go elsewhere. I would hope that this would put some airlines off!

Nope, it's not much more than a dot.com domain. My company has a couple and they are very affordable.


Jimbo
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air, than in the air wishing I was on the ground!
 
star_world
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 7:52 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:37 am

Quoting Bond007 (Reply 39):
Nope, it's not much more than a dot.com domain. My company has a couple and they are very affordable.

It's just hard to resist having a little dig at SITA occasionally  Wink (and yes I'm probably biased too being from the 'other' side!)
 
User avatar
antoniemey
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:38 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:42 am

Quoting Star_world (Reply 36):
I had thought the .areo domain was intended for use within the industry (hence the use of the airline code format) and not so much the general public?

Yes, but the general public would still have to know it exists to go to the site using the domain extension.
Make something Idiot-proof, and the Universe will make a more inept idiot.
 
star_world
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 7:52 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 3:48 am

Quoting Antoniemey (Reply 41):
Yes, but the general public would still have to know it exists to go to the site using the domain extension.

That's why airlines have .com domain names also (or whatever their local country equivalent is) - you can have many domain names pointing to a single site.
 
flyingfool
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:28 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 4:03 am

www.afriqiyah.aero is the main domain of Afriqiyah...
 
congaboy
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Thu May 04, 2006 4:27 am

Quoting Star_world (Reply 40):
It's just hard to resist having a little dig at SITA occasionally

Irresistable to not reply, man. Take your shot! You would not be the first.
"Joey, you like movies about gladiators?"
 
od-bwh
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 6:25 pm

RE: Why Aren't Airlines Using The .aero Domain?

Sat May 06, 2006 6:45 am

Quoting Neilalp (Reply 17):
Plus I'm sure millions of Americans would complain.... (.AERO) it would have to be (.AIR)

Sorry my friend, but life doesn't revolve around America only  Smile Anyways, the word "Air" isn't appealing in slang Arabic: it means Penis  Smile
A300, A319, A320, A321, A332, A333, A343, A346, A388, B734, B738, B744, B772, B773, B788, F70, MD11, CRJ700