nycfuturepilot
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:50 am

Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 8:07 am

I'm going to be flying CO to HKG in a couple weeks and was wondering what adapter I need to get to plug in my laptop. It says its Empower but I can't find anything for it on google. Can I use my standard power plug? If not, where can I order the adapter (I use an apple powerbook). thanks
Father, Son, HOYA spirit
 
EWRCabincrew
Posts: 4306
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:37 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 8:12 am

The adapter is a standard adapter for any airplane/ship/car. It comes with many plug/adaptors for your computer type. You can buy it an any electrical store such as Tandy or Radio Shack.

Our 767/777 have the adaptor plug.

Our 757-200s are being retrofitted with standard plugs. Not all of them have it, but soon will be.

Hope this helps.
You can't cure stupid
 
nycfuturepilot
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:50 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 8:20 am

can you please send a link, dont know why i'm having so much trouble finding this.
Father, Son, HOYA spirit
 
COIAHLGW
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:11 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 10:42 am

I have an APC PNoteAC75 travel inverter, but it appears that they discontinued that model. Looks like the updated (and better) 150W version is here...

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...pec_index.cfm?base_sku=PNOTEAC150A

and link to buy at Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...2-3448725-4784134?%5Fencoding=UTF8
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 10:47 am

I have an Igo power supply for my laptop. Converts auto/plane(empower) voltage to the specs of the laptop. Unfortunately the adaptor plug for the laptop is not exactly the same as the oem. Now the Igo barely works, and I have to jiggle the oem to get it to charge right. I guess it broke the connector in the laptop, and I have to figure out how to get that fixed without spending millions. So make sure you dont move the plug when you have it plugged in.
Yay Pudding!
 
phatty3374
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:30 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 11:47 am

I don't think you need to get a whole converter+empower extension set, I'm pretty sure they sell a standard "addition thing" that just plugs onto the end of the charger you already have (fits onto the three or two pronged plug you usually plug into the wall and enables you to use empower).

Quoting Go3Team (Reply 4):
I have an Igo power supply for my laptop. Converts auto/plane(empower) voltage to the specs of the laptop. Unfortunately the adaptor plug for the laptop is not exactly the same as the oem. Now the Igo barely works, and I have to jiggle the oem to get it to charge right. I guess it broke the connector in the laptop, and I have to figure out how to get that fixed without spending millions. So make sure you dont move the plug when you have it plugged in.

The same exact thing happened to my iGo!! At first i had to wiggle it to get it to work, but after a while the thing just stopped working. The product is a good idea but the quality of the connectors just blooowwss.

Regards,

Tom
 
upsmd11
Posts: 642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 10:56 am

RE: Laptop Connection On CO Businessfirst

Thu May 25, 2006 10:54 pm

I have used Empower with my Thinkpad car converter kit. The end that fits into the typical car outlet (cigarette lighter) slides off and underneath it is the Empower adapter that just plugs into the aircraft seat. I have used this on US many times on Airbus aircraft equipped with it. Quite handy on long flights.

Cheers,
John

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airzim, cero852, Channex757, czpdx, dcchipper, GavinSharp, Google Adsense [Bot], guyanam, keesje, KLDC10, KTPAFlyer, msycajun, Phen, piedmontf284000, V90Ambulanse and 247 guests