okelleynyc

Airline Pax In France Face New Tax To Help Poor

Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:42 am

Fair use excerpt:

Quote:
Passengers boarding planes in France are now paying a new tax on their tickets to help the world's poor, after the measure came into effect on the weekend.

The tax, championed by President Jacques Chirac and backed by UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, adds a surcharge of between one and 40 euros (1.25 and 50 dollars) depending on the destination and class of seat.

Money raised is to go to an international fund to buy treatments for AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria.

http://www.breitbart.com/news/2006/07/02/060702104216.1lh2ue8o.html

I'm not a fan of coerced charity and choose to send my $$$ to organizations where I have some knowledge of their ability to affect change. I'm curious why the airline industry was singled out as a suitable means for collecting these funds?

Interested to hear everyone elses comments....
Just give me my Vario, my Ozone Mojo and a gorgeous day of soaring.

ArtieFufkin

RE: Airline Pax In France Face New Tax To Help Poor

Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:46 am

I don't have an issue with the Gvt using funds to help the poor. I just don't think one industry should be singled out to fund the programs. The tax should be much broader based.

CRGsFuture

Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:52 am

I'm assuming this is more punishment to French Airline travellers. First the picture tacking and now the tax. The only question I have is why also not on the SNCF TGV's? Its upsetting where one industry is singled out. Especially when this industry is in France, the most travelled to nation in the world. I'm guessing that's why it is in the airline industry, because of the amount of pax that travel and O&D there.
Flying you to your destination; your girlfriend to her dreams.

Bofredrik

Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:56 am

Have a higher general income tax instead in France. That is my proposal.

SmokinL1011

Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:13 am