B742
Topic Author
Posts: 3559
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:48 am

Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:58 am

I noticed when browsing the db that there is a OS 777-200ER landing at LHR on June 6th... why is this?

Was it operating in place of the A32S's, or was it a chater flight or diversion?

Has OS evert flown the A340 into LHR in the past?

Sure is nice to see European widebodies in LHR on a regular basis, so far we get KL 763/332, OA 343, TK 332/313 (sometimes 343) and CY 332


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Terry Wade



Rob!

[Edited 2006-07-04 22:15:29]
 
CO738
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 12:05 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:07 am

Could have been a diversion for medical reasons, a charter, or maybe they got lost... Smile
If only you could install an air horn on a plane...
 
User avatar
Richard28
Posts: 1619
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:42 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:23 am

According to lhr-lgw.co.uk, the 777 operated as follows on the 6th June :

OS0453 From Vienna, Austria OE-LPA 777 06/06/2006 12:31
OS0462 To Vienna, Austria OE-LPA 777 06/06/2006 16:50
 
Christa
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 9:37 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:24 am

Maybe it has something to do with lots of fans from England going to the World Cup in Germany. Austria is very close and has good onward air, rail and road connections to Germany. Thus the increase in demand so the 777 operated.

Regards,
Chris
Croeso i Faes Awyr Rhyngwladol Caerdydd - Welcome to Cardiff International Airport
 
LY777
Posts: 2265
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:24 am

OS 777 will also fly to CDG on August29th
Flown:A3B2,A320,A321,A332,A343,A388,717,727,732,734,735,738,73W,742/744/748,752,762/2ER/763/3ER,772/77E/773/77W,D8,D10,L
 
amirs
Posts: 1184
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:20 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:26 am

Quoting B742 (Thread starter):
Sure is nice to see European widebodies in LHR on a regular basis, so far we get KL 763/332, OA 343, TK 332/313 (sometimes 343) and CY 332

If you consider LY "european" then it has widebodies to LHR ... 762,763,777,742 (cargo and pax in the past),744.
Most airlines consider TLV to be a european/regional destination so I guess LY should be considered european
 
UN_B732
Posts: 3529
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:57 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:44 am

The OS 777 is scheduled into KBP for pilot training.
Presumably they are going into LHR, CDG for the same reason, Lauda pilots training Austrian blood on their 777s.
-Mr. X
What now?
 
BCA2005
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:56 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:03 am

The 777 is scheduled to LHR again on 8th August VIE - LHR (OS 257) and 9th August LHR-VIE (OS 258)
 
bhxdtw
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:28 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:48 pm

Quoting Kaitak744 (Reply 11):
And they are really using LHR for 777 training? Won't they loose money on that by not selling enough seats? I mean, a simulator would make much more sense.

Many airlines do this when they receive a new type..granted the 777 in the OS fleet is not brand spanking new but for arguments sake, its newer than the 340's
For instance when BA received 777's they were placed on the tiny LHRCDG routing and I think a few other euro routes. Its all really to do with getting to know the aircraft... I know some asian airlines have done this too..
Didnt some new operators of the A345 do this ?
That having been said yes a simulator is just as effective... but although Im no pilot Id like to hazard a guess that its one thing being in a simulator but another actually landing the bird at LHR...
 
ARGinLON
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:26 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:27 pm

Quoting Christa (Reply 3):
Maybe it has something to do with lots of fans from England going to the World Cup in Germany. Austria is very close and has good onward air, rail and road connections to Germany. Thus the increase in demand so the 777 operated.

You either wrote this message a week ago or you’re being a bit sarcastic…  Smile
 
FrancoBlanco
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:38 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:43 pm

Could we PLEASE stay with the topic and stop those pointless arguments about countries and continents? Go to the Non-Av Forum in order to discuss that!

My assumption would be that OS wants to fly the 777 also on shorter routes in order to keep them busy. There are three 777s for two routes (VIE-KUL-SYD and VIE-SIN-MEL) so there is some space in the schedule. OS 777s also fly regularly to FNC, as we all know. A few years ago there was a weekly charter flight VIE-CUN operated by a 777.

Another reason could be crew issues, not only for training purposes but also in order to meet specific requirements (e.g. performing at least one Autoland approach in 28 days).

SQ has two routes for the A345, SIN-LAX and SIN-EWR, but there is also one flight SIN-CGK (a very short hop for an A345)

Sebastian
'Pointless!' - NY Times
 
bhxdtw
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:28 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:03 pm

Quoting FrancoBlanco (Reply 22):
SIN-CGK (a very short hop for an A345)

When I worked at SQ this was operated by a 310.. as far as I recall..Actually no.. the DPS route was a 310 and the CGK route was 343.. (cant remember if the celestars were 300's or 200's)

(oh just a really quick sidetrack...anyone know the SQ names for the 345 and 380 ?? )

Love ya

Joe
 
express1
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 2:08 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:44 pm

The Austrian B777s are operating to LHR for the summer season only

dave
David.S cavanagh since 1961,if you can do better,then show me.
 
TUGMASTER
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:21 am

OK .... this is the end thread.....

The OS 777's are for training purpose's.
They are also being used to Kiev every Tuesday.
Also selected European cities are getting T7 service as per above reason.

that's it

10 points to all who knew the answer
and a big fat zero to all whose answers just wandered.

rgds

Tugmaster
 
FrancoBlanco
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:38 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:34 am

Tugmaster,

thanks for that information.

Just for being picky, can you give a source to this?

Sebastian
'Pointless!' - NY Times
 
GB
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2000 9:19 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:35 am

@FrancoBlanco: Usually I am a "quiet listener/reader" in this forum. YOUR comment doesn't allow me not say anything though.
1. Being an aviation enthusiast of the 21st century (as I assume you are), do you actually believe that an airline operates a certain aircraft on a certain route just "in order to keep them busy"? Those days are over - especially for a carrier such a OS - which presented one the worst financial results for 2005 in the E.U. I can assure you from the fleet and network planning side that you are wrong!
2. At the moment there are only 2 777s in service as OE-LPB is in HAM (since June 4) for maintenance reason as well as for the C-Class cabin upgrade. Due to this lack of aircraft OS was forced to change the MEL rotation to the 767 causing spill on certain days. This made the FNC (777) rotations possible, as agreed with the tour operators. The last FNC rotation with the 777 operated on June 19 (OE-LPA).
Finally I have to add that charter flights cannot be taken into account!
Regards,
GB
 
FrancoBlanco
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:38 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:43 am

Quoting GB (Reply 31):
YOUR comment doesn't allow me not say anything though.

Pardon, Sir? Has my post really been THAT bad? I am so sorry!

Quoting GB (Reply 31):
1. Being an aviation enthusiast of the 21st century (as I assume you are), do you actually believe that an airline operates a certain aircraft on a certain route just "in order to keep them busy"?

Come on, you know what I mean. IF you do not have a tight schedule you can always send an aircraft on smaller routes. It may not be profitable to send a 777 on VIE-LHR, but an airplane sitting idly on the ground looses money, too.

Quoting GB (Reply 31):
At the moment there are only 2 777s in service

OK, I did not know that. But that is the purpose of this forum, to get factual information. I was just suggesting things in order to keep the thread alive and trying to scare these hijackers away.

Quoting GB (Reply 31):
OS was forced to change the MEL rotation to the 767

AFAIK (please keep that in mind!), OS has always been downgrading some Oz flights during northern summer months. Touristic demand may not be that high at this time.

Sebastian
'Pointless!' - NY Times
 
TUGMASTER
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:42 am

Quoting FrancoBlanco (Reply 28):
Tugmaster,

thanks for that information.

Just for being picky, can you give a source to this?

Sebastian

Here is the intel you require,
This is from someone who flies the DH8-400 (capt)for Austrian Arrows, but two of his close friends are flying on the T7. The sole reason for the relatively short sectors is PILOT TRAINING. There are a lot of new captains being transfered from the A330/340 fleet, since OS just sold two 340s and since there's a sector requirement for the training the do that. It would take a while if they'd only fly to SYD and/or MEL.

Kinds regards,

Tugmaster
 
FrancoBlanco
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:38 am

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:50 am

Tugmaster,

that makes perfect sense. Thanks very much for your help!

Sebastian
'Pointless!' - NY Times
 
LHRman
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 10:35 pm

RE: Austrian (OS) 777 At LHR - Why?

Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:53 am

Bit weird one this one.

To reply to the ACTUAL question I was under the assumption these were one off simply because it was the way the Aircraft has been rostered. To keep the aircraft active they have stuck on a short haul hop to LL to keep it active and therefore making money as it allows a high load factor. I may be wrong (more than likely) but this was my understanding.

I am not sure it would be training because it seems unusual for a training flight to come into LL and normally the callsign would surely be followed by a T?

Example: AUA257T

Anyway this is just my 2 cents..
Thanks..
Dave
Always after the picture you can't get..

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: a36001, airsmiles, atypical, Baidu [Spider], CrimsonNL, DBun, DocLightning, Google [Bot], jonchan627, LY777, sailsman1, seat1a and 195 guests