rjpieces
Posts: 6849
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:58 am

Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:43 am

Just trying to figure out how this works....If one is flying from Switzerland to LHR on BA and connecting to LHR-JFK on AA, does the agent check your bags all the way through, or do you have to claim them at LHR and drop them a transfer desk? And would you get your boarding pass for both legs?

And finally what terminals would both flights be on at LHR?

Thanks!
"Millions long for immortality who do not know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon"
 
BA
Posts: 10134
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:49 am

Quoting RJpieces (Thread starter):
If one is flying from Switzerland to LHR on BA and connecting to LHR-JFK on AA, does the agent check your bags all the way through, or do you have to claim them at LHR and drop them a transfer desk?

They check them in all the way.

Quoting RJpieces (Thread starter):
And would you get your boarding pass for both legs?

Since AA and BA are both oneworld partners, yes, they should.

Quoting RJpieces (Thread starter):
And finally what terminals would both flights be on at LHR?

BA - Terminal 4
AA - Terminal 3

Keep in mind that most European destinations on BA operate from Terminal 1, but there are exceptions and Switzerland is one of them.
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
Venezuela747
Posts: 1374
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 9:36 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:50 am

You will probably get off your plane in LHR and take a train/bus/walk to the other terminal and get on the AA plane. AA and BA seem to be really good about interlining stuff. Just make sure you have both boarding passes and your bags and tagged all the way to America
ROLL TIDE!!!
 
ac789
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:24 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 pm

Make sure you take the airside transfer bus from T4 to T3 (follow signs for flight connections). That way you can avoid passing UK immigration/customs, though you do have to pass security again.

The pretty picture: http://www.britishairways.com/cms/gl...ain/150by120/lhr_int4_int3_cnx.gif
 
DFW13L
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 7:16 pm

If it helps, I flew a while back on BA/AA via LGW and this is how it worked.

My route..BA from Lyon (LYS) to LGW then AA from LGW to DFW to SHV.

In LYS, I chcked my bags and got boarding passes for all three flights (even the American Eagle Saab DFW-SHV). At LGW it was smooth. This was before they were in the same terminal at LGW, so I took the bus between terminals, so that I never had to clear immigration or security in LGW.

This was a year after I had tried the same thing on Delta/Air France (Skyteam) VCE-CDG-ATL-SHV and it was a disaster. I won't go into details, because that doesn't help your question. But from the Delta/Air France incident compared to the BA/AA (Oneworld) trip one year later, I have not flown Delta any more and have let my miles expire, while I remain an American AAdvantage gold.
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
vv701
Posts: 5780
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:54 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 7:49 pm

Quoting BA (Reply 1):
Quoting RJpieces (Thread starter):
And finally what terminals would both flights be on at LHR?

BA - Terminal 4

No. T1. T4 services (most) BA long haul flights and their flights to AMS and CDG. Otherwise BA domestic and European flights are served from T1 with a small number of longhaul destinations served from T3 and, I believe, T1.
 
vsflyer747400
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:34 pm

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:13 pm

Quoting VV701 (Reply 5):
No. T1. T4 services (most) BA long haul flights and their flights to AMS and CDG. Otherwise BA domestic and European flights are served from T1 with a small number of longhaul destinations served from T3 and, I believe, T1.

BA's Switzerland flights now operate into T4, as do services for BRU as well as the aforementioned AMS and CDG.
Being on: (in no order) VS BA AA EK CX MH DL EI BD KL HV NW RC LH AF DA TG QF US FR LX AC SK AZ PG SQ UA PA
 
Skidmarque
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:47 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:33 pm

Correct, I flew LHR Geneva return last week, it was Terminal 4 both times.
DUCK !
 
JGPH1A
Posts: 15080
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 4:36 pm

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:08 pm

Quoting BA (Reply 1):
Since AA and BA are both oneworld partners, yes, they should.

They will check you through HOWEVER, AA don't accept boarding passes issued by other airlines, they will re-issue them at LHR - same seat and everything, but they have to capture your passport data etc as they cannot get this from the through-check message from BA, and the US authorities require the info to be sent when the plane departs. There is an AA transit desk at T3 as you arrive off the bus from T1 (I think so), you will need to check there. There will be a very small sign saying that interline pax connecting to AA must report to the transit desk. If you don't, they'll do it at the gate, but they get annoyed.

Bags should be OK, although LHR transfers are notoriously bad, and the standard minimum connect time may not be enough if the airport is busy.
Young and beautiful and thin and gorgeous AND BANNED ! Cya at airspaceonline.com, losers
 
svenvdm
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:23 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:57 am

Is there also an airside bus from T1 to T3? I will be connecting from a BA flight from FRA at T1 to an AA flight to MIA at T3. That means I don't have to pass customs? I heard something about passing security. Why would this be the case if I'm airside anyway?
 
LH423
Posts: 5868
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 1999 6:27 am

RE: Connecting From BA To AA At LHR

Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:54 am

http://www.heathrowairport.com/porta...f1ae522010VgnVCM100000147e120a____

That should give you info on how to do the transfer. AA will be able to give you the boarding pass unless there's something wrong with your ticket (i.e. the computer not recognizing your e-tkt or something like that).

LH423
« On ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux » Antoine de Saint-Exupéry