United777
Topic Author
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed May 19, 1999 8:04 am

A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:52 am

Can the Airbus A340-600 operate flights in any Indian airport. I THINK I read somewhere in this forum a few months back that the airports in India including DEL and BOM didn't have wide enough taxiway's to support the A346. Is this true?
 
blrBird
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:39 am

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:33 am

I am not sure about BOM & DEL, looks like LH pulled out their intended service to BLR using 346 from this winter due to runway issues. They are planning on using 747 on this route.
from star dust....
 
Windowseater
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:22 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:15 pm

Quoting BlrBird (Reply 1):
I am not sure about BOM & DEL, looks like LH pulled out their intended service to BLR using 346 from this winter due to runway issues. They are planning on using 747 on this route.

Damn !!!

Would have been some treat to watch the A346 land here.....But then, what runway issues would have been there ??

Also, in terms of wingspan, I guess the 747 is greater than that of the 346. I guess it's the capacity factor.....winter rush !!
'To invent an airplane is nothing. To build one is something. To fly is everything.' - Otto Lilienthal
 
deaphen
Posts: 1090
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:57 am

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:39 pm

hey i dont think thats is competely true, i remember reading a trip report by someone who was surprised to find a A346 on VS while flying from LHR to BOM. So i think it doesnt have issues. I may be wrong about DEL but i am pretty sure about reading this trip report to BOM on a A346.
I want every single airport and airplane in India to be on A.net!
 
cricket
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:23 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:43 pm

VS has used the A346 to BOM, but I believe the parking bays at most Indian airports aren't long enough for the A346 and there was some problem with taxiway clearances too and when VS did fly in the A346 special clearances had to be taken, and I think LH at BLR faced the same problem. DEL can handle a A346 but doesn't see any service.
A300B2/B4/6R, A313, A319/320/321, A333, A343, A388, 737-2/3/4/7/8/9, 747-3/4, 772/2E/2L/3, E170/190, F70, CR2/7, 146-3,
 
karan69
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:57 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:21 pm

Quoting Cricket (Reply 4):
DEL can handle a A346 but doesn't see any service

DEL also faces issues on the taxiway, but they are a lot better and more capable of handling the A346 than atleast BOM


Karan
 
Gr8Circle
Posts: 2378
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:44 am

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:34 pm

If I'm not mistaken, the 346 is just a few feet longer than a 744.....why should there be any problems in that case....just wondering....?
 
cricket
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:23 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:51 pm

Quoting Karan69 (Reply 5):
DEL also faces issues on the taxiway, but they are a lot better and more capable of handling the A346 than atleast BOM

I think the two new taxiways will be capable of handling the plane - there were some loading issues with the A346.
A300B2/B4/6R, A313, A319/320/321, A333, A343, A388, 737-2/3/4/7/8/9, 747-3/4, 772/2E/2L/3, E170/190, F70, CR2/7, 146-3,
 
Nimish
Posts: 2890
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:46 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:26 am

Quoting BlrBird (Reply 1):
I am not sure about BOM & DEL, looks like LH pulled out their intended service to BLR using 346 from this winter due to runway issues. They are planning on using 747 on this route.

Wow - that's really sad, since these would have been the new configuration on the 346. the 747 might still (shudder) have the old J product!

That being said, in terms of capacity, a 747 is an even bigger upgrade for BLR that the 346, so that's good news overall.

I just checked, the GDS has been updated to show a 744 on the BLR-FRA route this winter (was showing as a 346 just a few days ago).

Now coming back to the topic, a 346 is both x-long and x-wide, and I was surprised when they initially announced that LH would operate the 346 to BLR. I've flown the 346 LHR-DEL once (TR available at VS - DEL-LHR-DEL - 343+346 Pics! (by Nimish Nov 18 2005 in Trip Reports) ).

I've heard that the 346 is not "easy" to operate in BOM, but DEL seemed OK.
Latest Trip Report - GoAir BLR-BOM-BLR
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:57 pm

Heard that the 1st VS flight was an A346.
The Problem is not the Runway but rather the existing Bay markings,which due to Wingspan & length create difficulty for the A346.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
Gr8Circle
Posts: 2378
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:44 am

RE: A346 In India?

Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:40 pm

Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 9):
The Problem is not the Runway but rather the existing Bay markings,which due to Wingspan & length create difficulty for the A346.
regds
MEL

I can understand length, but wingspan? Is it really more than a 744? And do the few extra feet of length make such a difference....?

From what I recall of BOM airport, there is plenty of space at the Int'l terminal, to increase the bay markings so that a 346 can be accomodated in certain bays.....so why isn't that being done....?
 
cricket
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:23 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:04 pm

Quoting Gr8Circle (Reply 10):
From what I recall of BOM airport, there is plenty of space at the Int'l terminal, to increase the bay markings so that a 346 can be accomodated in certain bays.....so why isn't that being done....?

The issue was also about the aircraft's loading, plus it isn't so much about 'parking space' but what happens when the plane pushes back, the A346 was deemed too long to be pushed back with aircraft parked in bays beside and behind it. But that said, several airlines SQ (and also TG and EK) in particular have been using the 777-300 into BOM and DEL which isn't that much shorter, so I think pavement loading on taxiways might have been a problem.
Lengths
Airbus A340-600 - 75.3m
Boeing 747-400 - 70.67m
Boeing 777-300 - 73.86m
A300B2/B4/6R, A313, A319/320/321, A333, A343, A388, 737-2/3/4/7/8/9, 747-3/4, 772/2E/2L/3, E170/190, F70, CR2/7, 146-3,
 
karan69
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:57 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:29 am

Quoting Gr8Circle (Reply 10):
rom what I recall of BOM airport, there is plenty of space at the Int'l terminal, to increase the bay markings so that a 346 can be accomodated in certain bays.....so why isn't that being done....?

In addition to what Cricket said above, also it does not just depend upon adjusting parking bays but also which terminal they fly into, and hence the appropriate gates.

Karan
 
karan69
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:57 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:29 am

Quoting Gr8Circle (Reply 10):
rom what I recall of BOM airport, there is plenty of space at the Int'l terminal, to increase the bay markings so that a 346 can be accomodated in certain bays.....so why isn't that being done....?

In addition to what Cricket said above, also it does not just depend upon adjusting parking bays but also which terminal they fly into, and hence the appropriate gates.

Karan
 
DIJKKIJK
Posts: 1782
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 11:03 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:35 am

Quoting BlrBird (Reply 1):
LH pulled out their intended service to BLR using 346 from this winter due to runway issues. They are planning on using 747 on this route.

LH flying A346s to BLR? Since when?
Never argue with idiots. They will bring you down to their level, and beat you with experience.
 
Nimish
Posts: 2890
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:46 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:41 am

Quoting DIJKKIJK (Reply 14):
LH flying A346s to BLR? Since when?

No - they don't fly 346 to BLR. However, LH had announced that they'd start with the 346 to BLR this winter schedule (the announcement came about 2 months ago). Further discussions with the airport authorities have led them to scrap the *plan* to launch the 346 this winter, and move to a 744 instead. That being said, even a 744 is a pain to operate in BLR (There was only one 744 capable stand - which was Stand 6 on Apron 1, but when used with a 747, 1-2 stands around it could not be used). I don't know if the HAL authorities (who own/run the airport) have done anything to ease the situation with a 747, hopefully LH has the needed approvals in place. Or we're back to the 343  Sad
Latest Trip Report - GoAir BLR-BOM-BLR
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:33 pm

Quoting Gr8Circle (Reply 10):
From what I recall of BOM airport, there is plenty of space at the Int'l terminal, to increase the bay markings so that a 346 can be accomodated in certain bays.....so why isn't that being done

Bay Marking needs to be done Properly.By erasing the old ones & Painting the New ones.At BOM The old marks are Painted over black after scraping the Area but during rains & Taxi light Reflections lead to a lot of confusing.

Also All bays are not sized equally at BOM,for adjusting more space.

Bottomline can be done....Def but too slow.

regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
cricket
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:23 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:51 pm

Quoting Nimish (Reply 15):
That being said, even a 744 is a pain to operate in BLR (There was only one 744 capable stand - which was Stand 6 on Apron 1, but when used with a 747, 1-2 stands around it could not be used). I don't know if the HAL authorities (who own/run the airport) have done anything to ease the situation with a 747, hopefully LH has the needed approvals in place. Or we're back to the 343 Sad

Not much longer.. hold on, the new airport is almost ready as long as that crazy CM of the state doesn't want to cripple that also....
Talking of BLR i'm headed there this Sunday.. traffic mayhem here I come!
A300B2/B4/6R, A313, A319/320/321, A333, A343, A388, 737-2/3/4/7/8/9, 747-3/4, 772/2E/2L/3, E170/190, F70, CR2/7, 146-3,
 
Nimish
Posts: 2890
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:46 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:31 am

Quoting Cricket (Reply 17):
Talking of BLR i'm headed there this Sunday.. traffic mayhem here I come!

Would have been nice to meet up, but unfortunately I'm away this week.
Latest Trip Report - GoAir BLR-BOM-BLR
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: A346 In India?

Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:24 am

Quoting Cricket (Reply 17):
Talking of BLR i'm headed there this Sunday.. traffic mayhem here I come

What Operator.
Remember the TR.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AVLAirlineFreq, ba319-131, Bing [Bot], cat3appr50, FergYVR, GCT64, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], IPFreely, KCHS2147, moo, N353SK, teahan, tjh8402 and 344 guests