DFW13L
Topic Author
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:20 am

Hey all..question about ORD, as I can't remember.

I'm planning to nonrev on AA to ORD then connect to UA. I'm wondering if I can walk inside the secure area between the AA and UA terminals (Terminal 3 to 1--all flights domestic). I will only have 90 minutes and it would save lots of time to be able to just walk it. Can anyone help me out here?

If not, I'll have to check in at the ticket counter, and when I check in using an offline pass I get the SSSS on the boarding pass, so that will cut into my 90 minute connection.

I'm planning to make a daytrip on the 747-400 ORD-SFO-ORD. I'm starting and ending in DFW on AA, so it will be a long day, but worth it. I want to catch the 747-400 domestic before it's gone again. It seems to only fly domestic during the summer.
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
USPIT10L
Posts: 1866
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:24 am

RE: ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:28 am

Quoting DFW13L (Thread starter):
I'm planning to nonrev on AA to ORD then connect to UA. I'm wondering if I can walk inside the secure area between the AA and UA terminals (Terminal 3 to 1--all flights domestic). I will only have 90 minutes and it would save lots of time to be able to just walk it. Can anyone help me out here?

Yes you can. But 90 minutes may be cutting it close. What station do you work at? You might be able to get your boarding passes before you leave your home station.
It's a Great Day for Hockey!
 
LFutia
Posts: 3155
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 11:04 am

RE: ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:30 am

yes you can definitely go between Terminals 1,2 and 3 without having to go through security again. People who fly United Express must check in at Terminal 1 but their flight departs out of Terminal 2. If they arrive, they arrive in Terminal 2 but their bags are claimed at Terminal 1.

Complicated? no. A pain in the ass? yes.

Leo
Leo/ORD -- Groetjes uit de VS! -- Heeft u laatst nog met KLM gevlogen?
 
DFW13L
Topic Author
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:37 am

Quoting USPIT10L (Reply 1):
Yes you can. But 90 minutes may be cutting it close. What station do you work at? You might be able to get your boarding passes before you leave your home station.

I work at the SOC in Dallas, so not actually at the station. I'll be on the 0615 departure DFW to ORD arriving at 0825 for the 0955 744 to SFO.

I would catch UA to ORD, but the 6am flight is ShuttleAmerica and it looks like they don't have a pass exchange with AA when it's on UA Express codeshare flights-though they do on US* and DL* flights.
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
ckfred
Posts: 4694
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 12:50 pm

RE: ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:45 am

With a 6:15 departure to ORD, you should get into ORD on time, barring thunderstorms early in the day, which is does happen, but isn't likely.

If you happen to arrive at the end of H or K or anywhere on L, be prepared for a hike.
 
DFW13L
Topic Author
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: ORD Terminal Layout Question

Sun Aug 27, 2006 3:32 am

Quoting Ckfred (Reply 4):
If you happen to arrive at the end of H or K or anywhere on L, be prepared for a hike.

Yes, I'm aware. I think I have walked it before, but it has been several years.


Thanks for your help!
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: An767, Asiaflyer, BobbyPSP, Google [Bot], Humberside, KarelXWB, LCKip, ManuCH, ojas, PanzerPowner, Qantas16, smokeybandit, Tewks, UltraAmps, whisperjet727, WIederling, Yahoo [Bot] and 205 guests