arunswami

Late Night Intl Ops To/from India

Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:10 am

Hello everyone, this is my first time as a member on Airliners.net. I've been browsing the forums etc for more than a year. I have to say, during this period, I've learnt a lot about aviation and for this I have to thank everyone who has participated.
I've been wanting to ask this question for a long time, so here goes.

Why do most Intl operations arrive/depart between 11 PM and 6 AM LT. this makes it extremely inconvenient for passengers (incl. myself!!)
Is it because of better connections from point of origin or airline hubs, better aircraft utilization etc?
I would love to be able to land and takeoff from India during some sane hour rather than 2 AM.
Thanks

aa61hvy

RE: Late Night Intl Ops To/from India

Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:14 am

Quoting Arunswami (Thread starter):
s it because of better connections from point of origin or airline hubs, better aircraft utilization etc?

I know, at least to Europe, it makes sense as the planes all get back to their origins in the morning. Freeing up the planes for the remainder of the day.
Go big or go home

LAXintl

Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:15 am

Ultimately airline schedules are built outwards from a carriers hub to offer maximum connectivity. Add in issues such as curfews (at most European airports), such late night flying to places like India become quite a normal practice to make best use of aircraft assets.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California

RobertS975

Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:24 am

Aircraft leaving India in the small hours of the morning arrive in Europe more or less at dawn and allow onward connections from the European hubs to other European destinations as well as North and South America.

Skyguy

Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:29 am

Quoting RobertS975 (Reply 3):