4xRuv
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:05 pm

Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:05 am

Just watched business traveller on CNN (great show).
They showed BKK new Suvarnabhumi, with 5 gates fitted to the A380, that have, get this: 3 jetbridges.
Has anyone seen another airport with 3 jetbridges for one aircraft? Are such terminals planned?
 
IberiaA319
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 5:40 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:15 am

There's at least one gate in Singapore, Gate E5, according to this picture:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Andrew Hunt - AirTeamImages



.
Adding:

Frankfurt will also have gates with three jetways for the A380, one of them for the upper deck:

http://a380.lufthansa.com/en/html/logistik/boarding/index.php

[Edited 2006-09-11 00:33:25]
 
Cubsrule
Posts: 11421
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:13 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:30 pm

Is this a new thing? It sure looks like there are triples down by the Concordes in the following pic:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Joe Pries - ATR Team

I can't decide whether I miss the tulip or the bowling shoe more
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 8005
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:55 pm

I believe one of the first triple-jet bridge gates installed was at FRA, where it was used to get compatibility with the A380-800 earlier this year.

I expect SFO to start modifying the gates at the end of Concourses A and G soon so they also have triple jet bridge configuration. They'll probably do it first at Concourse G, since Singapore Airlines and Lufthansa will likely be the first airlines to fly the A388 to SFO in revenue service.  Smile
 
PresRDC
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 1999 5:00 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Yes, the old JFK IAB did have triple jetways.

That said, I never once saw the third jetway (that would connect with a door behind the wing) being used. If anyone has a picture of one in use, I would pay real money for it.

Also, I think AMS has some triple jetways, or at least jetways capable of connecting with a door aft of the wing.
 
JRadier
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:36 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:12 pm

Quoting PresRDC (Reply 4):

Also, I think AMS has some triple jetways, or at least jetways capable of connecting with a door aft of the wing.

No tripple jetways, but the double (with 1 over the wing) are being used every day.
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and ther
 
rjm717
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon May 08, 2000 4:40 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:40 pm

SYD has one gate completed so far with three bridges (Gate 57) and another (Gate 24) due for completion by mid November. By late 2007 there should be four gates equipped with 3 bridges and a total of 6 (Gates 8, 9, 10, 24, 57 & 61) are planned by late 2008.
R
 
User avatar
EK413
Posts: 4328
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:11 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:48 pm

RayChuang

I believe one of the first triple-jet bridge gates installed was at FRA, where it was used to get compatibility with the A380-800 earlier this year.

I expect SFO to start modifying the gates at the end of Concourses A and G soon so they also have triple jet bridge configuration. They'll probably do it first at Concourse G, since Singapore Airlines and Lufthansa will likely be the first airlines to fly the A388 to SFO in revenue service.


Qantas ring a bell Big grin

EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!
 
DAL767400ER
Posts: 5084
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:47 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:55 pm

Quoting RayChuang (Reply 3):
I believe one of the first triple-jet bridge gates installed was at FRA, where it was used to get compatibility with the A380-800 earlier this year.

Correct, and more gates with triple jetways will follow, though I'm not sure of the exact number, but they will be found at Terminals 1B, 1C, 2D, 2E, and sometime in the future also at Terminal 3 when that opens.
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:29 am

Are 3 jetways for the A380 usable for the 747? Although it probably wouldn't be worthwhile using it.
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 8005
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:50 am

Quoting Sv2008 (Reply 9):
Are 3 jetways for the A380 usable for the 747? Although it probably wouldn't be worthwhile using it.

Given that spacing for the jet bridges to connect to the main deck of the A380 is the same as that on the 747-400, yes, these new gates an accommodate the 747-400 and possibly 777-300ER relatively easily.  Smile
 
andrew
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 1999 9:58 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:06 am

By the time the first SQ A380 at SIN, Changi will have 11 gates with triple jetbridges at T1 and T2. And When T3 opens, that will ad 8 more gates to bring it to a total of 19 A380-ready gates.

http://www.airport-technology.com/projects/changi/
 
jfk777
Posts: 5840
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:23 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:10 am

The third bridge for the A380 would be for the upper deck. Upper deck for the 744 would be of little use since only 26 people sit in the upper deck BIZ class.
 
ZRH
Posts: 4371
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 1999 11:32 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:16 am

All gates at Dock E at Zurich Airport already have two air-bridges. Two of them are prepared for the A 380. As I know, they could add there a third bridge if and when we would have a scheduled A 380 service (two for the main deck one for the upper).
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:19 am

Quoting Jfk777 (Reply 12):
The third bridge for the A380 would be for the upper deck. Upper deck for the 744 would be of little use since only 26 people sit in the upper deck BIZ class.

Yeah I thought it wouldn't be worth it, but was just curious if it was possible.

It's possible an airline could use it just to make the business passengers feel special  Smile
 
NWADC9
Posts: 3938
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:33 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:42 am

I thought the upper deck of the 747 is an emergency door only, and is always armed?
Flying an aeroplane with only a single propeller to keep you in the air. Can you imagine that? -Capt. Picard
 
4xRuv
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:43 am

Quoting Jfk777 (Reply 12):
The third bridge for the A380 would be for the upper deck. Upper deck for the 744 would be of little use since only 26 people sit in the upper deck BIZ class.

Is it feasible? looking at the odd shape of the u/d door, i'm not sure they are fit for boarding:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Dan Brownlee



[Edited 2006-09-11 18:45:24]
 
ryanairCRL
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:18 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:50 am

how about DXB ?? with EK ordering so many A380, they'll need lots of triple jetbridges.
http://flyingtom.myphotoalbum.com
 
4xRuv
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:10 am

So only SIN,FRA,BKK,SYD ?
what about LHR? HKG? CDG? JFK(beside the one gate we saw)?
 
siromega
Posts: 564
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:57 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:29 am

Yea the upper deck of a 747 - you cant board through that door, and even if you could its not really worth it in terms of time saved.
 
DAL767400ER
Posts: 5084
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:47 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:37 am

Quoting 4xRuv (Reply 18):
So only SIN,FRA,BKK,SYD ?what about LHR? HKG? CDG? JFK(beside the one gate we saw)?

Well, MUC is having 2 "sort of triple jetway gates" at Terminal 2, in that if there's an A380 at the gate, it will be boarde by the two jetways at it's own gate, as well as a third jetway from the adjacent gate to the right if memory serves me correctly.
 
twa727
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:15 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:50 am

Quoting Cubsrule (Reply 2):
It sure looks like there are triples down by the Concordes in the following pic:

Aww ... did you have to reference a picture with not one but two Concordes in service? Makes me sad.  Sad
 
GQfluffy
Posts: 3072
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:25 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:22 am

Quoting Sv2008 (Reply 9):
Are 3 jetways for the A380 usable for the 747? Although it probably wouldn't be worthwhile using it.

You can't use it. Just doesn't work. It was designed as an emergency exit only.
This isn't where I parked my car...
 
brettbrett21
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:08 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:09 am

Does anyone know why all the doors on the El Al 744 are open? Just airing the plane out maybe??




brett
i'm so excited i wish i could wet my pants!
 
4xRuv
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:41 am

Quoting Brettbrett21 (Reply 23):
Does anyone know why all the doors on the El Al 744 are open? Just airing the plane out maybe??

3R isn't opened, but I don't know the reason
 
JRadier
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:36 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:05 am

Quoting 4xRuv (Reply 24):
3R isn't opened, but I don't know the reason

I believe 3R (like the upperdeck doors) are armed all the time and can only be disarmed by a mechanic (and I believe the slide is not in the door)
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and ther
 
4xRuv
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:05 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:10 am

but the upperdeck doors are opened,
and i'm pretty sure 3R isn't armed all the time.
 
NewYorkCityBoi
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:33 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:06 am

Quoting JRadier (Reply 25):
I believe 3R (like the upperdeck doors) are armed all the time and can only be disarmed by a mechanic (and I believe the slide is not in the door)

If you open the door (any 747 door) from outside, the slide will not pop up. But if you open from the inside, the slide wil automatically pop out. If you open the upper deck door from outside (just like this LY picture, to freshen up the air inside the cabin), the slide box will still attach to the aircraft, so people couldnt walk through. So I believe that upper deck door is use for emergency exit only. So the jet bridge to 747 upper deck is impossible.

Quoting JRadier (Reply 5):
No tripple jetways, but the double (with 1 over the wing) are being used every day.

Yeah! I have been through those rear jet-bridge to the 4L door many times at AMS airport. It's very good idea for flowing passengers in/out of 747 instead of all the passenger walking to the front of the aircraft. However I never seen they use it with 777 or MD-11.

By the way, I never seen them use the 3rd jet-bridge at the old JFK terminal4. I only saw them use the 2 front ones but left the rear one unused. Has anybody seen they use them all?
 
User avatar
EK413
Posts: 4328
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:11 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:37 pm

Brettbrett21

Does anyone know why all the doors on the El Al 744 are open? Just airing the plane out maybe??


Usually after operating a long sector OR when having a long layover time at a port the engineers usually open up all the doors to help circulate air...

EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!
 
Leezyjet
Posts: 3541
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:26 am

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:32 pm

Quoting NewYorkCityBoi (Reply 27):
If you open the door (any 747 door) from outside, the slide will not pop up. But if you open from the inside, the slide wil automatically pop out.

Not if the door is in manual mode it won't. And if the opening from the outside bit was completely true, then there would be no reason to perform checks on the girt bar after cracking the door, and also spending half a day learning how to operate it !!.

Quoting JRadier (Reply 25):
I believe 3R (like the upperdeck doors) are armed all the time and can only be disarmed by a mechanic (and I believe the slide is not in the door)

3R isn't armed all the time, neither is the Upper Deck door (at least at my airline). They are selected from manual to automatic just like the other doors on a 747 and the slide is in the door at the 3 door.

The reason why the 3 door is rarely opened on the ground is that when the a/c is being fuelled and the wings start to droop this causes the fuselage to flex slightly. If the 3 door is open, it can near on impossible to close it again.

 Smile
"She Rolls, 45 knots, 90, 135, nose comes up to 20 degrees, she's airborne - She flies, Concorde Flies"
 
VHVXB
Posts: 5309
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:54 pm

RE: Triple Jetbridges!

Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:40 pm

Quoting EK413 (Reply 7):
Qantas ring a bell

I never QF planned A380 service to SFO I thought it was only LAX in the US

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 717atOGG, a380787, adamh8297, alggag, AVLAirlineFreq, codc10, flyabr, Google Adsense [Bot], Hamlet69, ILNFlyer, Indy, IPFreely, jbs2886, Makalino, mjdemain, nabla, Spacepope, StTim, SuperSix2, toneal, Zaf and 312 guests