Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:47 am

T5 at LHR will open on 28 Mar 2008.
On this date BA will move the shorthaul operation in from T1 and T4 except for the B757 fleet (which will stay in T1 and operate to Spain/Italy.)
Also on the date the Miami flights will move from T3 to T5.
In April 08 BA will move the longhaul operation from T4 to T5 except for the Australian flights which will stay in T4. BMED flights will also move to T5.
In June 08 the B757 fleet will move from T1 to T3.
In October 08 the Australia flights will move from T4 to T3 and BMED will move from T5 to T3.
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:44 am

Why is the 757 fleet moving separately?
 
cloud4000
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:38 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:57 am

I thought Terminal 5 would house all BA and One World flights?
Boston, USA
 
Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:58 am

Because it is moving to T3 not T5.
I am sure it is waiting for someone else to move from T3 to T1 first.
There are a lot of airlines moving that summer.
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:27 am

Quoting Tristarsteve (Reply 3):
Because it is moving to T3 not T5

D'oh! So it is. Sorry!

OK, I've re-thought the question: apart from being comprised of 757s, how is that fleet different from the rest, i.e. why are they moving to Terminal 3? Sorry, it's probably a very basic question but I just don't know what routes the 757s operate these days.
 
JGPH1A
Posts: 15080
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 4:36 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:34 am

Makes sense to keep the Australia flights in T3, as there's no room for QF in T5. The JSA means that BA and QF treat each other's flights pretty much as their own, and it would make the codeshare virtually unmanageable if they were in different terminals.

Don't understand why the 757 fleet stays at T3 though - is there any particular practicality behind it ?
Young and beautiful and thin and gorgeous AND BANNED ! Cya at airspaceonline.com, losers
 
commavia
Posts: 9628
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:30 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:55 am

With T3 becoming the new oneworld terminal, housing all the airlines except BA, isn't the terminal going to be getting a facelift? I remember hearing about it, and dear lord does that terminal need it.
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:07 am

Quoting JGPH1A (Reply 5):
Don't understand why the 757 fleet stays at T3 though - is there any particular practicality behind it ?

So there's only one narrowbody shorthaul fleet at T5 - i.e. - A319/320/321 series aircraft. It's for training and ground handling commonality reasons. It's more effective to reduce the variety of aircraft types in a terminal. So T5 will basically see 744, 772, 763 and A319/20/21 aircraft types. Possibly expanding to 773/748/787 and maybe A380 in the future.
 
by188b
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:46 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:58 am

So where will the shorthaul BA767's Be based? T3 or T5? or are BA moving all 767's to longhaul flying?
next flights : BD LHR-TXL J, FR SXF-STN Y, SN BRU-LHR Y, MA LHR-BUD Y, BA BUD-LHR J, BA LCY-SNN-JFK J, BA JFK-LHR J, BA
 
MRURUN
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:17 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:16 am

Quoting TristarSteve (Thread starter):
BMED flights will also move to T5.



Quoting TristarSteve (Thread starter):
BMED will move from T5 to T3.

Why are KJ moving so much?
 
thowman
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:51 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:26 am

The 757 fleet will be in T3 to operate to Spain and Italy, as stated above.

At least, in the case of Spain, there is no room for IB in T5 (as with QF) and so all one world flights to Spain will be operated by IB & BA from T3.

At least the current situation where the codeshare flights go from different terminals will become a thing of the past. It will be much, much easier than the present arrangement.
 
vv701
Posts: 5773
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:54 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:34 am

Although I do not dispute TristarSteve's timetable for operations out of T5 I believe that BA start to takre over the new terminal in just a year moving in their first staff in September 2007.

One of the interesting questions is why use the 752 fleet on flights to Spain and Italy? I guess that the size of the fleet - 13 aircraft - was an important determinant as was the code share flights operated by BA and IB to Spain. But as Spain in particular is a popular LCC destination it is interesting that BA will be devoting one of the larger aircraft in its shorthaul fleet to this and the Italian market. I also wonder whether this move will leave BA short of capacity on other European and domestic routes. However I guess that BA will be taking delivery of the oustanding part of its 321 order about the time of the T5 opening. These aircraft along with additional new 320s that will start joing the fleet in November next year will replace the old 320 fleet originally ordered by BCal.
 
kaitak744
Posts: 2084
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:42 am

Well, TristarSteve forgot to mention that once T5C is finished (in like 2010), ALL BA flights will work their way into T5.
 
Carpethead
Posts: 2563
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:15 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:17 pm

Why isn't the new T5 open all at once? Are there some gates that are not going to be ready at the opening?
It would seem having a staged move would just confuse travelers during the long transition period.
It's not like BA's ops are moving to a new airport.
 
N1120A
Posts: 26467
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:40 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:22 pm

Quoting Cloud4000 (Reply 2):
I thought Terminal 5 would house all BA and One World flights?

That was never the plan. The original plan was to move all of BA and QF to T5 and dedicate T3 to OneWorld.
Mangeons les French fries, mais surtout pratiquons avec fierte le French kiss
 
kaitak744
Posts: 2084
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:05 pm

Quoting Carpethead (Reply 13):
Why isn't the new T5 open all at once? Are there some gates that are not going to be ready at the opening?
It would seem having a staged move would just confuse travelers during the long transition period.
It's not like BA's ops are moving to a new airport.

I guess BAA doesn't have enough money to build it all at once. The gates along the main check-in area and the first satellite consourse will open in 2008. BA will move in, and then a couple years later, the second satelite will be finished.
 
tonforty
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 5:57 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:36 pm

So are BA planning on taking the 757 off domestic routes such as GLA before then, and just using them for Spain and Italy?
 
Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:58 pm

Quoting Tonforty (Reply 16):
So are BA planning on taking the 757 off domestic routes such as GLA before then, and just using them for Spain and Italy?

As far as I know the B757 will ONLY operate to Spain and Italy from start of Summer season 2008.
What happens when these routes move into T5 is unknown to me.

By the way until T5C opens, there will be a lot of off pier movements. Up to 30% has been mentioned. So lots of work for the bus drivers!
 
8herveg
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:01 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:57 pm

Could someone please tell me how passengers will transfer from T3 - T5 (and vise versa). I know they are building an underground system for baggage between the two terminals, but will passengers still have to use a bus?
 
Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:21 pm

Quoting 8herveg (Reply 18):
but will passengers still have to use a bus

A road tunnel has been built to connect T3 with all the T5 satellites. So I presume a bus service will run through this airside tunnel.
 
thowman
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:51 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:57 pm

Quoting Tonforty (Reply 16):
So are BA planning on taking the 757 off domestic routes such as GLA before then, and just using them for Spain and Italy?

I think you'll see more use of the 321s on domestics.
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:00 am

Quoting Thowman (Reply 20):

I think you'll see more use of the 321s on domestics.

BA's A321's look fantastic.. thumbsup 


MyAviation.net photo:
Click here for bigger photo!
Photo © Jacobin777



Quoting TristarSteve (Reply 19):
A road tunnel has been built to connect T3 with all the T5 satellites. So I presume a bus service will run through this airside tunnel.

this is a joke...I'm an AA/OneWorld Flyer and this transferring between terminals seems worse than what it is right now...I'm not so sure if I'm looking forward to it.....
"Up the Irons!"
 
Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:59 am

Quoting Jacobin777 (Reply 21):
this transferring between terminals seems worse than what it is right now...I'm not so sure if I'm looking forward to it.....

No its not worse. You use a bus now to go from T4 to T1 and its a long way. The bus from T3 to T5 will be through a short tunnel. If you are landside the Heathrow Express train will connect and the London Underground.
A people mover train will connect the three terminals of T5 together. The first train was delivered this week. The bus must go through a tunnel as there are four taxiways between the two terminals.
Remember that LHR, being the busiest International airport in the world is also one of the smallest in terms of area. There just isn't room for a better solution.
 
G-CIVP
Posts: 1406
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 6:38 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:46 am

Mmm. I thought the BA B757 fleet was retired by 2008. I really don't buy this version of events!
 
sam1987
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:27 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:50 am

Quoting VV701 (Reply 11):
why use the 752 fleet on flights to Spain and Italy?

Because they are the right size for the demand on the Spanish and Italian routes. It makes it easier if they dedicate two countries in Terminal 3 (for the passengers), and easier if they concentrate one aircraft type to one terminal (for logistical reasons).

Quoting N1120A (Reply 14):
The original plan was to move all of BA and QF to T5 and dedicate T3 to OneWorld.

True, but it turns out Terminal 5 won't have the capacity. I think that works well, because Terminal 5 will be purely BA.

Quoting TristarSteve (Reply 17):
As far as I know the B757 will ONLY operate to Spain and Italy from start of Summer season 2008.

True; the start of the summer 2008 season being when the first major changes will take place.
Next flights: LGW-LBA-LGW, LHR-SIN-SYD, SYD-BKK-LHR, LGW-GRO, GRO-CIA, CIA-MAD, MAD-LGW
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:53 am

Quoting Kaitak744 (Reply 15):
I guess BAA doesn't have enough money to build it all at once. The gates along the main check-in area and the first satellite consourse will open in 2008. BA will move in, and then a couple years later, the second satelite will be finished.

Money is not an issue for BAA. The issue was that the land for T5C was owned by Thames Water and was part of the sewage works on the T5 site. BAA took possession of the land for T5C much later than the remainder of the site. This is the reason for the phased construction.
 
sam1987
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:27 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:59 am

So just to confirm what has been said above... the following will apply from October 2008:

Terminal 3

BA flights to Spain and Italy (operated by 757s).
BA and QF flights to SYD, MEL, BKK and SIN.
BA flights operated by KJ.
All other oneworld members.

Terminal 5

All BA long haul flights, except Australian and KJ destinations.
All BA short haul destinations, except Spain and Italy.

Is this all correct?
Next flights: LGW-LBA-LGW, LHR-SIN-SYD, SYD-BKK-LHR, LGW-GRO, GRO-CIA, CIA-MAD, MAD-LGW
 
Someone83
Posts: 2899
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:47 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:07 am

Wher would Star Alliance member go?
 
Someone83
Posts: 2899
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:47 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:10 am

Where would Star Alliance members go? As most of them are today situated at T3 except LH (T2), LX (T2), BD (T1) would there be alot of airliner moving.
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:23 am

Again, this is the plan:

T1 - Star Alliance
T2 - Demolished
T3 - OneWorld and Virgin, BA Australia/Italy/Spain ops.
T4 - SkyTeam and non-alligned carriers
T5 - BA
 
Humberside
Posts: 3223
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:44 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:24 am

Quoting Someone83 (Reply 28):
Where would Star Alliance members go? As most of them are today situated at T3 except LH (T2), LX (T2), BD (T1) would there be alot of airliner moving.

T1/T2/Heathrow East wil eventually become the Star terminal
Visit the Air Humberside Website and Forum
 
lovinitflyboy
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:22 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:31 am

Quoting LHR777 (Reply 29):
Again, this is the plan:

T1 - Star Alliance
T2 - Demolished
T3 - OneWorld and Virgin, BA Australia/Italy/Spain ops.
T4 - SkyTeam and non-alligned carriers
T5 - BA

I remember reading in Skyport (LHR Newspaper) that Virgin was moving to T1 with Star Alliance. Would make more sense there with all there ties with BMI, SQ, ANA, and other stat members. In T3 they would have no codeshare partners left.
 
jfk777
Posts: 5816
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:23 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:39 am

I'm disapointed in BA getting T5 all for themselves(what else should we expect) and not letting other ONEWORLD airlines like AA, JL & Cathay share the new T5.
 
N1120A
Posts: 26467
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:40 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:44 am

Quoting Jfk777 (Reply 32):
I'm disapointed in BA getting T5 all for themselves(what else should we expect) and not letting other ONEWORLD airlines like AA, JL & Cathay share the new T5.

T5 isn't large enough to accomidate the other OneWorld carriers.
Mangeons les French fries, mais surtout pratiquons avec fierte le French kiss
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:58 am

Quoting TristarSteve (Reply 22):
No its not worse. You use a bus now to go from T4 to T1 and its a long way. The bus from T3 to T5 will be through a short tunnel. If you are landside the Heathrow Express train will connect and the London Underground.
A people mover train will connect the three terminals of T5 together. The first train was delivered this week. The bus must go through a tunnel as there are four taxiways between the two terminals.
Remember that LHR, being the busiest International airport in the world is also one of the smallest in terms of area. There just isn't room for a better solution.

Ok..thanks for the information... checkmark ..

That being said, I still dont' think its situated properly...BAA should allow BA/OneWorld connections to be as seamless as possible...this new setup doesn't solve the problem... no 

...and get those NIMBY's out of there.. gnasher 
"Up the Irons!"
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:03 am

Quoting Jacobin777 (Reply 34):
That being said, I still dont' think its situated properly...BAA should allow BA/OneWorld connections to be as seamless as possible...this new setup doesn't solve the problem...

So, given the physical restraints of the Heathrow site, where would you locate T5? It's in the best location for T3-T5 connections. Much better than the current T1/2/3 to T4 connections.

It's going to be as 'seamless as possible'

Of course, in an ideal world, BAA would raze LHR to the ground and start again, but that's not really a viable option at the current location.
 
MRURUN
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:17 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:12 am

Quoting VV701 (Reply 11):

Indeed, this crossed my mind as well. 75's are not used SOLELY to Italy/Spain (what about off season LCA or even BUD or the occassional ATH?) I'm sure there are many other routes that they've appeared on (LIS comes to mind, as does VIE). SO a wet Wednesday mid-morning in November is going to see a half empty 757 off to a chilly LIN, while the (e.g) annual Neurologists conference in LIS is left with a few a320/a319's?
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:19 am

Quoting LHR777 (Reply 35):

So, given the physical restraints of the Heathrow site, where would you locate T5? It's in the best location for T3-T5 connections. Much better than the current T1/2/3 to T4 connections.

I would have liked to see more OneWorld Carriers at T5...especially AA, as it is one of the larger OneWorld operators @ LHR....
"Up the Irons!"
 
kaitak744
Posts: 2084
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:03 am

Quoting Lovinitflyboy (Reply 31):
Quoting LHR777 (Reply 29):
Again, this is the plan:

T1 - Star Alliance
T2 - Demolished
T3 - OneWorld and Virgin, BA Australia/Italy/Spain ops.
T4 - SkyTeam and non-alligned carriers
T5 - BA

I remember reading in Skyport (LHR Newspaper) that Virgin was moving to T1 with Star Alliance. Would make more sense there with all there ties with BMI, SQ, ANA, and other stat members. In T3 they would have no codeshare partners left.

Yes, Virgin will move to T1 once Heathrow East is completed. For now, Virgin and Star can't fit in T1. There are only 12? heavy gates.
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:33 pm

Quoting Kaitak744 (Reply 38):
Yes, Virgin will move to T1 once Heathrow East is completed. For now, Virgin and Star can't fit in T1. There are only 12? heavy gates.

Unfortunately, Heathrow East wont be available until at least March 2012. So VS will be using T3 until then.

Also, T1 wont exist, T1 and T2 will be combined into Heathrow East. So, VS will move to Heathrow East. Confused yet...?

Quote:
From baa.com:
We are proposing to build a new terminal called Heathrow East which would represent an important step towards safeguarding Heathrow’s status as one of the world’s great airports. It will mean replacing Terminals 1 and 2 with a brand new, environmentally-aware, terminal that will provide world class facilities for passengers.
 
bastew
Posts: 740
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:21 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:42 pm

Quoting TristarSteve (Thread starter):
T5 at LHR will open on 28 Mar 2008.
On this date BA will move the shorthaul operation in from T1 and T4 except for the B757 fleet (which will stay in T1 and operate to Spain/Italy.)
Also on the date the Miami flights will move from T3 to T5.
In April 08 BA will move the longhaul operation from T4 to T5 except for the Australian flights which will stay in T4. BMED flights will also move to T5.
In June 08 the B757 fleet will move from T1 to T3.
In October 08 the Australia flights will move from T4 to T3 and BMED will move from T5 to T3.

Hey tristar thanks for the info!

Where did you see this information? As far as we had been aware within BA the whole operation was moving on one cutover date.
 
777236ER
Posts: 12213
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2001 7:10 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 10:07 pm

...or we could build a new airport in the Thames Estuary and phase out Heathrow all together.
Your bone's got a little machine
 
Humberside
Posts: 3223
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:44 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sat Sep 23, 2006 10:18 pm

So LHR will have a T5 but only 4 terminals (Heathrow East, T3, T4, T5)?
Visit the Air Humberside Website and Forum
 
8herveg
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:01 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:33 am

A bit off subject, but when and why did BA stop operating to Bilbao?
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:53 am

Quoting 777236ER (Reply 41):
.or we could build a new airport in the Thames Estuary and phase out Heathrow all together.

All the environmentalists would go bonkers.....and would be probably a bit too expensive....
"Up the Irons!"
 
User avatar
Vasu
Posts: 2939
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:34 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:57 am

Quoting 777236ER (Reply 41):
...or we could build a new airport in the Thames Estuary and phase out Heathrow all together.

I always said Cliffe Airport would've been the best thing ever  smile 
 
N1120A
Posts: 26467
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:40 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:12 am

Quoting Jacobin777 (Reply 37):
I would have liked to see more OneWorld Carriers at T5...especially AA, as it is one of the larger OneWorld operators @ LHR....

Which is exactly the reason they couldn't use T5

Quoting 777236ER (Reply 41):
...or we could build a new airport in the Thames Estuary and phase out Heathrow all together.



Quoting Jacobin777 (Reply 44):
All the environmentalists would go bonkers.....

With good reason. Estuaries are some of the most bio-diverse areas in existance.

Quoting Humberside (Reply 42):
So LHR will have a T5 but only 4 terminals (Heathrow East, T3, T4, T5)?

PHX doesn't have a T1
Mangeons les French fries, mais surtout pratiquons avec fierte le French kiss
 
kaitak744
Posts: 2084
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:13 am

Quoting LHR777 (Reply 39):
Unfortunately, Heathrow East wont be available until at least March 2012. So VS will be using T3 until then.

Also, T1 wont exist, T1 and T2 will be combined into Heathrow East. So, VS will move to Heathrow East. Confused yet...?

The project is called Heathrow East. When it is finished, it will have a terminal number. Either 1 or 2 (likely 1).
 
vv701
Posts: 5773
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:54 am

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:26 am

Quoting G-CIVP (Reply 23):
I thought the BA B757 fleet was retired by 2008. I really don't buy this version of events!

You can check it out in the BA press release dated 9 June. This includes a statement that their 757 fleet will serve Italy and Spain from T3 starting in summer 2008. You will find this press release at:
http://www.britishairways.com/travel/bapress/public/en_gb
This takes you to the BA Press Office. There you need to select '2006' under 'Press Information'. Then select 'Page 4'. Scroll down to 'Item 38' titled 'Terminal 5'. Then scroll down to the sub-heading 'Terminal 3'.

There is a lot of other information with regards to BA and T5 in what is an unusually long Press Release (at least for BA).
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: BA Move To T5 At LHR To Be Staged.

Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:21 pm

Quoting Kaitak744 (Reply 47):
When it is finished, it will have a terminal number. Either 1 or 2 (likely 1).

What's your source for that? My wife's a manager at BAA @ LHR and says she's not heard of that. (She's been wrong before though!)

Who is online