jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:57 am

At first, please don't flame me - I know that there is no A-340 with only 2 engines in flyable condition.

Now to the story.
A friend told me he has seen a two engined Emirates Airbus with A 340-300 written on the nose at MUC. and he is absolutely sure about this. I don't thrust him so the only possibility would be a painting failure on one of the A-330's. Anyone has seen this or heard about?

Thanks for not posting coments like "There is no 340 with two engines" or "It's the new less fuel burn version"

Georg
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17115
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:59 am

"There is no 340 with two engines"

"It's the new less fuel burn version"

Ok now that I've done that.  Wink

There are two possbilities:
- The paint is wrong.
- Your friend is wrong.

Interestingly, the original name of the 340 was 330 and the 330 was 340. But Airbus quickly figured out that would be confusing.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
KL808
Posts: 1534
Joined: Thu May 20, 1999 3:49 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:01 am

Since the A340 and A330 have many things in common, it could have been that Emirates maintainance installed an A340 nose on an A330, which probably is just fine.

Drew
AMS-LAX-MNL
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:04 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 1):
There are two possbilities:



Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 1):
- Your friend is wrong.

I guess too, but you never know.

Quoting KL808 (Reply 2):
it could have been that Emirates maintainance installed an A340 nose on an A330, which probably is just fine.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Ton de Haan



Would be a new cockpit section.

Georg

[Edited 2006-10-11 23:08:40]
 
KL808
Posts: 1534
Joined: Thu May 20, 1999 3:49 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:26 am

Quoting Jorge1812 (Reply 3):
Would be a new cockpit section

I meant the nose cone.

I thought it was painted on the nose cone itself, not as shown on your picture.

Drew
AMS-LAX-MNL
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:35 am

Quoting KL808 (Reply 4):

I what you meant that's why I showed the pic. but wasn't the a/c type painted with big bold letters in the past?

Georg

EDIT:
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Alex F.

also not the nose cone but bigger.

[Edited 2006-10-11 23:37:11]
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4654
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:19 am

I know of an A340 with 2 engines - it's called an A330........

Sorry, just couldn't resist!!!  Big grin
 
Jpax
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:01 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:29 am

An A340 with only two engines is a 'flightless bird'... it can be nicknamed 'The Dodo' Big grin

I believe it would have a pretty difficult time getting airborne on a typical runway with only two engines.  Wink
 
American777
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:55 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:44 am

Quoting Jorge1812 (Thread starter):
he has seen a two engined Emirates Airbus with A 340-300 written on the nose at MUC

The aircraft your friend saw must have been in maintenance and LH must have had been doing an engine change to the aircraft.

While the engines were being changed, he probably saw that it only had two engines and he probably didn't even know that the aircraft was in maintenance.

Other than that your friend just tried to give you something to worry about. I bet he is laughing at ya now where ever he is at for what he told you, which was just simply a joke.

Regards,

JOE.  airplane 
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:29 am

Quoting American777 (Reply 8):

Other than that your friend just tried to give you something to worry about. I bet he is laughing at ya now where ever he is at for what he told you, which was just simply a joke.

Doubt that, he's not that intelligent to do such jokes  Wink I think, on a bad note, he really believes his 2-engined 340 Sad

Quoting American777 (Reply 8):
The aircraft your friend saw must have been in maintenance and LH must have had been doing an engine change to the aircraft.

Another option which came to my mind, have to ask him if the plane was flying or "taxiing".

Georg
 
PHKLM
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:28 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:39 am

Guys I'm not supposed to tell but this is the super secret A370 that is offered to Emirates as compensation for the 380 delay. It sure looks like a 340 minus 2 engines but I can assure you it is a radical improvement over any current design. As a matter of fact it will beat the performance of the 787, 350XXLWBNGV2-Adv.
Please don't tell anyone this plane still has to go thru flight-testing and is planned to enter service in 2006, ehh, 2008, well, 2009, make that 2020 - if all goes well. Big grin

 duck 
 
gh123
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:09 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:43 am

Don't worry mate! They're just bullies behind 4" glasses.

Like some of you above said - sorry jus couldn't resist it!!  Big grin  fight   silly 
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:38 am

Well, almost 6 hours on Anet turned out nothing like "There is an A-330 with A-340 written on the nose flying around for weeks" turned out I guess I should take his statement there where I took the statement form the same guy about the Canon 100-400L available with twist zoom too. The Canon thing I never believed but there are small chances that the paint shop did a mistake with the decals for the EK 330.

Georg
 
dkny
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 6:00 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:46 pm

Or maybee he meant 2 engines on one wing  Wink
 
AlexPorter
Posts: 1655
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:10 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Quoting Jpax (Reply 7):
believe it would have a pretty difficult time getting airborne on a typical runway with only two engines.

Maybe if it's a one-hour ferry flight, from a 16000' runway, at sea level, and it's very, very cold but dry so de-ice is turned off, and there's a 25 knot headwind on takeoff, and full thrust is used, then it could probably fly. Not legally, of course.
Last Flight: SCX701 MSP-PHX B738 8Jan2008
 
User avatar
SAS A340
Posts: 716
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2000 5:59 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:57 pm

He should have check the landing gear.... 340 has a small one betwen the two maingear....
It's not what u do,it's how u do it!
 
User avatar
Fly-K
Posts: 2994
Joined: Thu May 04, 2000 4:26 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:03 pm

Quoting Jorge1812 (Reply 5):
but wasn't the a/c type painted with big bold letters in the past?

I believe only the two-class versions have the big bold letters on the nose, the three-class version has smaller letters.
Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been...
 
Johnny
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:38 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:46 pm

@Jpax
@AlexPorter

It is hard to believe, i know, but all A340-versions are certified with two engines out...
Same can be said for the B747, which has a slightly better thrust/weight ratio.

 Smile
 
legoguy
Posts: 2971
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:59 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:57 pm

Quoting Johnny (Reply 17):
but all A340-versions are certified with two engines out...

Well if the a340-300 can fly with two engines out, if the two engines were actually removed, a good amount of weight is removed, meaning lighter aircraft.... 

[Edited 2006-10-12 12:58:28]
Can you say 'Beer Can' without sounding like a Jamaican saying 'Bacon'?
 
Johnny
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:38 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:01 pm

@Legoguy

Yes, that is right.Even further reduced to zero engines would increase the Performance further more...  Wink

Time to build airplanes with the material which is part of your username - easy repairs, shrinks, stretches, additional or less engines, etc...

 Smile
 
strasserb
Posts: 1497
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 7:46 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:07 pm

Didn't your friend look funny with ...

Quoting Jorge1812 (Thread starter):
... A 340-300 written on the nose

?
Still, even in the most arid desert is an airport somewhere ...
 
Boeing777/747
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 6:07 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:13 pm

No you are wrong you might have seen an Emirates A330 with propellors or a strecthed 777 or an A340 with six engines and a V-tail...


Modified Airliner Photos:
Click here for bigger photo!
Design © Ediney
Template © Lotsch Andreas



Modified Airliner Photos:
Click here for bigger photo!
Design © Joe Perez
Template © Martin Aves



Modified Airliner Photos:
Click here for bigger photo!
Design © Oliver Baumberger
Template © Oliver Baumberger

 
legoguy
Posts: 2971
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:59 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:41 pm

Quoting Johnny (Reply 19):
Time to build airplanes with the material which is part of your username - easy repairs, shrinks, stretches, additional or less engines, etc...

I will stick to what I do best  Silly That exactly how I do it. A lego a330-300 is just the a340-300 minus it's outer engines, and the inner engines are a little bit shorter.
Can you say 'Beer Can' without sounding like a Jamaican saying 'Bacon'?
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:36 am

Summarizing the posts above he told rubbish - exactly what I thought but I wanted to know if there is really no 340 flying around with wrong a/c type designations.

Georg
 
aeroman444
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:27 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:48 am

An A340 barely has enough power to get off the ground and to 28,000 ft  Smile with 4 engines. With two it would be the fastest greyhound bus in existence.  Smile  Smile
 
PlaneHunter
Posts: 6512
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:17 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:04 am

My neighbor once tried to tell me he flew on a "B747-400"...when I asked for the airline he answered "Hapag Lloyd". Well, then I told him it was a B737-400...  Wink


PH
Nothing's worse than flying the same reg twice!
 
jorge1812
Posts: 2911
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:11 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:04 am

Quoting PlaneHunter (Reply 25):
My neighbor once tried to tell me he flew on a "B747-400"...when I asked for the airline he answered "Hapag Lloyd". Well, then I told him it was a B737-400...

Check out http://www.flugstatistik.de/ you'll sure find the HF 744  Wink

Georg
 
Ferret
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:40 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:28 am

Quoting Boeing777/747 (Reply 21):
No you are wrong you might have seen an Emirates A330 with propellors or a strecthed 777 or an A340 with six engines and a V-tail...

That's some funny stuff. That 777 would be 'tail-striking' all the time!  rotfl 
Murphy lives here.
 
Springbok295
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:21 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:28 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 1):
There is no 340 with two engines

The A330 has an identical wing and even hardpoints within the structure where the outboard engines on the A340 would go. In theory an A330 can be converted to A340 without to much structure changes..... in theory!!
Springbok 295, the flight that never made it home, 28 November 1987, may they rest in peace.
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17115
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:22 am

Quoting Springbok295 (Reply 28):
Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 1):
There is no 340 with two engines

The A330 has an identical wing and even hardpoints within the structure where the outboard engines on the A340 would go. In theory an A330 can be converted to A340 without to much structure changes..... in theory!!

Agreed.

Still, the 330 wing is not quite identical. It is stronger (I believe it has an extra mini spar inboard) since the outboard engines on the 340 provide bending relief.

The 340 also has the extra gear leg.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
787engineer
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:08 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:36 am

Quoting Legoguy (Reply 18):
Well if the a340-300 can fly with two engines out, if the two engines were actually removed, a good amount of weight is removed, meaning lighter aircraft....

Then if one engine fails on rotation, you'd have a pretty big mess on your hands  Wink. There's a reason the A340 has 4 engines.

Quoting American777 (Reply 8):
The aircraft your friend saw must have been in maintenance and LH must have had been doing an engine change to the aircraft.

I think this is the most likely possibility. The aircraft was undergoing maintenance and had 2 engines removed, one from each side to keep the plane balanced. BTW the LCF is supposed to have a couple of engines "off" in the factory right now. . . a two engined LCF, now that's a sight to see  Wink.
 
Tom_EDDF
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 8:47 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:39 am

I bet your friend just mixed it up. And the RR Trent on the A330-34x - while much bigger - looks damn similar to the CFM56, both featuring an exhaust mixer.
 
a380heavy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 3:01 am

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:40 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 29):
Quoting Springbok295 (Reply 28):
Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 1):
There is no 340 with two engines

The A330 has an identical wing and even hardpoints within the structure where the outboard engines on the A340 would go. In theory an A330 can be converted to A340 without to much structure changes..... in theory!!

Agreed.

Still, the 330 wing is not quite identical. It is stronger (I believe it has an extra mini spar inboard) since the outboard engines on the 340 provide bending relief.

The 340 also has the extra gear leg.

Not to mention that the A330 instruments are all set up for just 2 engines - Ok so you could re-program the software so that the CRT displays would be taken care of but what about throttles, extinguisher controls etc.

Anyway why would you want to convert a sprightly twin into a lumbering quad (A340-500 and A340-600 excluded) Big grin

I once saw a Virgin A340 go so far down the runway at LHR before it took off, I thought the pilot had decided to drive to the destination!!!!  Smile

A380Heavy
Flown in:732,733,734,738,742,752,763,772,F27,DC9,MD-11,A300,A332,ATR72,DHC-6,Bell206,C172,Auster,PA-28
 
User avatar
BreninTW
Posts: 1550
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:31 pm

RE: Emirates A-340 With Only Two Engines?

Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:13 pm

Quoting A380Heavy (Reply 32):
I once saw a Virgin A340 go so far down the runway at LHR before it took off, I thought the pilot had decided to drive to the destination

I've had that on a CX 343 leaving JNB in the middle of summer -- I think we used about all of the 4.5 km of JNB's runway, plus some before we got off the ground, we then had to stop in SIN to top up the fuel tanks, because they couldn't get enough onboard in JNB (pilot told us this before we departed) -- that takeoff run seemed to take forever!