User avatar
Coal
Topic Author
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:14 am

Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:42 pm

Hello there,

I'm not too familiar with lounge access privileges on BA, so here is the scenario and the question: I'll be flying AA biz on the MIA-LHR sector and BA Club World on the LHR-SIN sector. Aside from lounge access to the Admiral's Club at MIA (which I'm not necessarily looking forward to), what lounge access priviledges will I get with BA at LHR? Will I have access to a lounge with a shower to freshen up? What about in Singapore?

Thanks!

Coal

[Edited 2006-10-26 16:44:09]
Nxt Flts: MI RGN-SIN | SQ SIN-RGN-SIN | CX SIN-HKG-PVG | SQ PVG-SIN
 
elmothehobo
Posts: 967
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:10 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:43 am

You can use the BA Terrace Lounge at Heathrow. The new Admirals club in Miami isn't half bad, go ahead and use it. You might be able to use the BA lounge in Miami if you present you LHR-SIN ticket, though you should double check that.
 
User avatar
Coal
Topic Author
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:14 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:28 am

Quoting Elmothehobo (Reply 1):
The new Admirals club in Miami isn't half bad

Is it in concourse D? Do they have Wi-Fi?

Also, will I be able to take a shower at the Terraces Lounge in LHR?

Thanks!!

Coal
Nxt Flts: MI RGN-SIN | SQ SIN-RGN-SIN | CX SIN-HKG-PVG | SQ PVG-SIN
 
JACK02116
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 11:53 pm

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:01 am

There are 2 BA Lounges at LHR Terminal 4 for Business class. I would use the Gate one Lounge as it is much larger than the one opposite Gate 10. Gate One Lounge is recently refurbished and serves hot food free of charge. Both lounges have shower facilities and Molton Brown Spas where you can get massages etc, again free of charge.
 
slvrblt
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 11:19 pm

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:48 am

Quoting Coal (Reply 2):
Is it in concourse D? Do they have Wi-Fi?

There are two Admirals Clubs in MIA, both new. One is in concourse D,the other is in concourse A. The one in A is a bit smaller but newer although D is not even a year old yet. The one in D is quite large. Showers are available and wifi is too.

The Terraces Lounge in MIA is nice but very small.
..everything works out in the end.
 
fbgdavidson
Posts: 3563
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:25 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:27 am

In short your options are:

Departing MIA: Both AA Admirals Clubs & BA Terraces
Arriving LHR: AA Arrivals Lounge in Terminal 3.
Departing LHR: Gate 1 Terraces Lounge in Terminal 4, Terraces in the Lounge Pavilion (across from Gate 10) & Molton Brown Spa in the Lounge Pavilion.

Quoting Jack02116 (Reply 3):
Both lounges have shower facilities and Molton Brown Spas where you can get massages etc, again free of charge.

Not quite. Only the Lounge Pavilion over from Gate 10 has a Molton Brown Spa. Techincally there are no showers in the Terraces across from Gate 10, they are in the Molton Brown Spa on the ground floor beside the First Lounge.

Quoting Elmothehobo (Reply 1):
You might be able to use the BA lounge in Miami if you present you LHR-SIN ticket

As the OP is travelling business class on a oneworld airline BA will grant him/her access. For the sake of completeness this only counts for international itineraries. Flying AA domestic FC would not grant access to the Terraces unless the passenger held OW Sapphire/Emerald status with an airline except AA.
"My first job was selling doors, door to door, that's a tough job innit" - Bill Bailey
 
Feroze
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:05 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:43 am

Quoting Fbgdavidson (Reply 5):
Arriving LHR: AA Arrivals Lounge in Terminal 3.

Wouldn't one have to clear Immigration/Customs for the Arrivals lounge, because as I remember it is landside at T3?
 
fbgdavidson
Posts: 3563
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:25 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:58 am

Quoting Feroze (Reply 6):
Wouldn't one have to clear Immigration/Customs for the Arrivals lounge, because as I remember it is landside at T3?

True, although I did opt for a complete list of eligible lounges rather than 'common sense'. There is a fair gap between the MIA flights arriving and the SIN flights departing. About 12hrs or so!

If I were in the OP's shoes I'd use the AA Arrivals lounge for a shower, then go to London and come back. I think myself and many would go potty trying to kill 12hrs at LHR, even with the option of the BA lounges.
"My first job was selling doors, door to door, that's a tough job innit" - Bill Bailey
 
Feroze
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:05 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:12 am

I hadn't looked at the scheduling. 12hrs in London would drive me potty, and I live in the city. There's no helping some people!
 
User avatar
Coal
Topic Author
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:14 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:49 pm

Quoting Fbgdavidson (Reply 5):
In short your options are:

Thanks, Fraser, for the comprehensive list

Quoting Fbgdavidson (Reply 5):
As the OP is travelling business class on a oneworld airline BA will grant him/her access. For the sake of completeness this only counts for international itineraries. Flying AA domestic FC would not grant access to the Terraces unless the passenger held OW Sapphire/Emerald status with an airline except AA.

And since the Terraces lounge is in concourse A and my flight will probably depart from D, I think I'll give the Admiral's club a chance, especially since it's been recently re-done

Quoting Feroze (Reply 6):
Wouldn't one have to clear Immigration/Customs for the Arrivals lounge, because as I remember it is landside at T3?

Yes, but as mentioned, I do have a 12hr layover. My idea is to arrive, clear customs, take a shower, and hop on the Heathrow Express for lunch with a friend. Then, ideally, on the way back I could stop over at the Molton Brown.

Thanks a lot for the info. One question that was raised today by a friend, thoguh: After the events (or lack thereof) of August 10th, will I have to clear customs in the UK as in the US, despite my connection? Or will my bags be checked through to SIN w/o having to get them checked by the customs agents?

Thanks again.

Coal
Nxt Flts: MI RGN-SIN | SQ SIN-RGN-SIN | CX SIN-HKG-PVG | SQ PVG-SIN
 
Feroze
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:05 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:24 pm

Your luggage will be tagged through to the destination and you will not have to clear your luggage through UK Customs. The rules regarding this have not changed as a result of the August drama. Ensure that the through-tagging is done at MIA. Just check nearer the time of travel for the current hand-luggage restrictions. There's a section about this on the BA website.

PS. Don't have lunch on the Heathrow Express....!   

[Edited 2006-10-27 07:27:55]
 
User avatar
Coal
Topic Author
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:14 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:44 pm

Quoting Feroze (Reply 10):
Your luggage will be tagged through to the destination and you will not have to clear your luggage through UK Customs. The rules regarding this have not changed as a result of the August drama. Ensure that the through-tagging is done at MIA. Just check nearer the time of travel for the current hand-luggage restrictions. There's a section about this on the BA website.

Ok, good. Thanks for the info. Can I take my laptop and other electronics in my hand luggage?

Quoting Feroze (Reply 10):
PS. Don't have lunch on the Heathrow Express....!

 rotfl 

Coal
Nxt Flts: MI RGN-SIN | SQ SIN-RGN-SIN | CX SIN-HKG-PVG | SQ PVG-SIN
 
GOTbound
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:17 pm

Expanding the queestion a bit:
If I fly AA Business out of ORD to BRU will I be able to use the BA lounge at ORD?

rgs.GOTbound
 
Feroze
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:05 am

RE: Flying AA And BA In Biz Class: Lounge Access?

Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:35 pm

Quoting Coal (Reply 11):
Ok, good. Thanks for the info. Can I take my laptop and other electronics in my hand luggage?

Yes you can. Laptops must be removed from hand luggage and screened individually.