GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:19 pm

My itinerary on AA , travel day is a thursday (booked as one segment as JFK-FLL):
JFK-ORD arrive 4:30 PM
ORD-FLL depart 5:15 PM

Is this enough connection time, and what happens if I miss my connection (besides the fact that I still will be left in ORD), will AA take care of re booking me?

rgs.GOTbound
 
764
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 6:34 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sat Oct 28, 2006 8:17 pm

IF your flight is on time, it should be OK. If not, then good luck! And yes, as long as you have one ticket from JFK-FLL AA will rebook you on the next possible AA flight. If you missed the connection due to a flight delay that was caused by AA, then they will usually also pay for accomodation if necessary.

If you have two separate tickets (back to back), then they sometimes choose to be difficult, but usually will be cooperative in the end.
 
N31029
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:23 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:13 pm

Quoting GOTbound (Thread starter):
Is this enough connection time

Hi GOTbound.

ORD is my home airport. I fly both United and American.

From what you have described as your planned itinerary, you will be fine as long as your inbound flight is on-time.

AA has a reasonable gate arrangement at ORD. Depending on where you arrive - and depart - you may have a brisk walk, however. Use the "facilities" only after you have reached your new gate area and assessed the available amount of time you have to board.

Gate agents tend to close the doors promptly at ORD so be aware of the clock.

If you do arrive late, begin a fast-paced walk towards the nearest monitors and check your departure information. Often if inbound flights are delayed outbound flights will be as well. This is a pattern that is repeated often at ORD.

Under normal circumstances your connection will be successful but tight. Hope that the weather is good. That's ORD's most significant challenge. Weather delays, in virtually every season of the year, are common.

Have an enjoyable, but hopefully brief, stay in Chicago!  Smile

Blessings, N31029
John 3:16
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:24 pm

Quoting N31029 (Reply 2):
AA has a reasonable gate arrangement at ORD. Depending on where you arrive - and depart - you may have a brisk walk, however. Use the "facilities" only after you have reached your new gate area and assessed the available amount of time you have to board.

ORD used to be my hometown Airport for 30 years, and is only 2nd now to SJC...I agree....45 minutes should be ok as long as the departing flight out of JFK isn't delayed...

However, terminal-3 can be bad if the plane parks at say H20 gate and one has to go to the L-Terminal..then it gets to be a bit of a long walk...I had that happend to me a few months ago when I flew SJC-ORD-LHR....IB's A346 was @ ORD that day and so the 777-200ER which I flew on had to parked in the L-Terminal (IB-"OneWorld" gate)...



cheers..
"Up the Irons!"
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:17 am

Thanks for your reply,

I will arrive on a American Eagle flight, would that be anything to take into considiration, i.e remote stand/terminal (I'm not familiar with ORD, only connected there once before).

Another option is to spend the night at tteh Hilton at ORD and take the first flight in the morning to FLL.

Also, most important will my checked bagae make the connection..? lol

rgs.GOTbound
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7798
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:40 am

I don't even see how you can do that on AA.com. What are your flight numbers...??
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
N31029
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:23 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:44 am

Hi GOTbound.

This link should help:

ORD.jhtml" target=_blank>http://www.aa.com/content/aboutUs/wh...WeFly/terminals/terminal_ORD.jhtml

You can see from the map that the G Concourse is dedicated to Eagle flights.
Your longest trek would be from G21 to L9. This is still quite comfortable if you keep walking at a brisk pace, don't stop, and, so long as your flight from JFK is not too late in arriving. If you arrive on-time at ORD you won't have to hurry. You are perhaps 10-15 comfortable minutes away (and 7-10 brisk minutes!) But remember the doors close on-time at ORD so your target should be to arrive at the gate 15 minutes prior to departure time.

As Jacobin777 noted, there are times when the unexpected can occur, however, your planning can only take into account so many contingencies.
Stay positive and enjoy your trip!

Blessings, N31029

ps - if you do encounter a layover in Chicago, spring for the cab fare and take a jaunt over to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria in Elk Grove Village. Classic Chicago-style deep dish pizza that will make your troubles disappear.  Smile
John 3:16
 
ChiGB1973
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 6:39 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 2:26 am

Just from a curiosity stand point, why are you going through ORD to FLL from JFK?

Granted, I like flying and connections generally do not bother me, but why not non-stop?

M
 
Cubsrule
Posts: 11516
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:13 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:35 am

One thing to keep in mind is that if it's a bad w/x day, the whole operation will be messed up and the AA employees will be aware of this. If your flight from JFK goes m/x, you're probably going to misconnect, but that would happen at any hub. But if it's just one of those days, you'll probably be fine.
I can't decide whether I miss the tulip or the bowling shoe more
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 6:22 am

Reason I dont want to change airport in New York, I arrive @ JFK from BRU.
 
User avatar
RedTailDTW
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:08 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:31 am

You should be ok, i had only 10 minutes to get from L6 to G17 and i made it. As long as your plane isnt delayed 30 minutes or more you should be fine.
Airlines Flown: AA, CO, HP, MQ, NW, RP, UA, US, WN, YX / Aircraft Flown: 737-200/300/700/800, 757-200/300, 777-200, A319/A320/A321, DC-9-30/50, DC-10-40, ERJ 140/145, E170, MD80/83/90
 
legacytravel
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 2:05 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:10 am

ORD can be a pain in the A** with delays especially in the late afternoon and early evening. 45 minutes while a short turn around you should be able to make it. I know UA has bus that will cross the tarmac and get to another terminal rather quickly. I do not know if AA has this or not.
I would be more worried that the luggage does not make it. LOL
Have a great trip and drop a trip report when you get back.
Regards,
Mark in MKE
I love the smell of Jet fuel in the Morning
 
LOT767-300ER
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:34 am

Quoting N31029 (Reply 6):
ps - if you do encounter a layover in Chicago, spring for the cab fare and take a jaunt over to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria in Elk Grove Village. Classic Chicago-style deep dish pizza that will make your troubles disappear.

Lou Malnatis sucks, awful bread and those huge tomatos. Real Chicago pizza is Giordano's not that crap that comes out of EGV/Schaumburg (Where I live  Silly )
 
BowflexBrennan
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:31 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:42 am

More than enough; if your on time. I flew YYZ-ORD-MCO back in March of 2005, and I had a half hour connection block. Well our plane came in late, so we had 10 minutes to get off our plane, and to the other plane (which just so happened to be at the other end of the airport). We had to run, actually sprint to get there, and it didn't help that we had no clue where we were going, and everybody we asked kept giving us different directions.
 
BatonOps
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:00 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:47 am

I had a 55 minute connection last weekend on UA at ORD. Flew MDT-ORD-PHX. Came into F and had to run to the Ted gates in B. I had plenty of time...but the weather was good and it was first thing in the morning.

ORD can be a nightmare if the weather is bad.
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7798
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:56 am

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 9):
Reason I dont want to change airport in New York, I arrive @ JFK from BRU.

So save time and fly JFK to MIA and drive the 20 minutes over to FLL
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7798
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:48 am

I do not see a 515p, departure from ORD to FLL... What is the flight number..??

I would still run JFK - MIA and drive the short distance
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 6:46 pm

>EMBQA
AA 4133 Depart JFK 2:45 pm. Arrive ORD 4:30 pm
AA 1498 Depart ORD 5:15 pm. Arrive FLL 9:20 pm

Saving time, well it's all about getting most possible flights out of the time, right?

GOTbound
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7798
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:05 pm

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 17):
Saving time

AA 1498 is not listed, so it must be a new flight they are adding. Anyway.. Saving Time.. yes...!! So why not fly JFK to MIA and save time and money and just drive the short distance.
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
PER744
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 11:38 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:27 am

If you have checked bags, definitely not. AA assured me repeatedly one time that a 42 minute connection was enough when I flew IND-ORD-YUL. They were both Eagle flights and the gates were next to each other.

I walked off one flight and straight onto another with them closing the door behind me, my luggage arrived in YUL 6 hour later.
 
stlgph
Posts: 9058
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:19 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:35 am

yeah, i'm doing a 38 minute connection in Atlanta this week.

good luck to me....
if assumptions could fly, airliners.net would be the world's busiest airport
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:29 pm

EMBQA,

Money and or time (as mentioned earlier) is not the issue, as much flying as possible is! But if I brake down the money:
GOT-BRU-JFK-MIA, FLL-ORD-BRU-GOT 751$ (incl. tax) + 60$ for a rental car.
GOT-JFK-ORD-FLL, FLL-ORD-BRU-GOT 758$ (incl. tax)

You are right about svaing time (about 3-4 hours) but since it's lesiure trip I'm not in a hurry.

I might follow your advice and go for the MIA option or take the direct BRU-ORD flight, only because I might not want the hassle whith delay bagage (last time it took NW 4 days to deliver my bags). Insurance would cover any bagage delays, but it might not be worth the hassle.

rgs.GOTbound
 
aeroc
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:05 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:13 pm

I Love you people that book 30-45min connection times then worry about it after you already paid for it......well you get what you deserve! If ORD is have a typical day you will easily miss you connection, but if ORD is running ontime then maybe you have a shot.........GOODLUCK!
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:41 pm

AEroc,

I love your know it all attitude! Did I write anything about that the ticket was all ready paid for? You should know (by looking at your profile) that all tickets don't have to be paid for at the time you make your reservation... this ticket don't. Also changes are permitted after the tickets it's paid for.

Reason I asked was because I would like to have the option to change flight connection(s) IF this was to tight (even that AA says it's enough connection time) Why would I ask if I couldn't change my flights?

Who knows, I might even end up going through DFW or STL... Love they joy of traveling on flexible tickets!

EK

[Edited 2006-10-30 09:49:14]
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7798
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:51 pm

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 21):
GOT-BRU-JFK-MIA, FLL-ORD-BRU-GOT 751$ (incl. tax) + 60$ for a rental car.

That routing will run you more money because your not departing from your arrival city. Also, you have not really said when your flying... but you want to avoid ORD anytime between Nov-March due to winter storms, even on a warm summer day it can be a nightmare. JFK runs a close second to avoid at anytime just through shear volume. I did some digging and you can go BRU-LHR-MIA..! That might be a better option.

[Edited 2006-10-30 15:01:53]
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:02 pm

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 21):
EMBQA,

Money and or time (as mentioned earlier) is not the issue, as much flying as possible is! But if I brake down the money:
GOT-BRU-JFK-MIA, FLL-ORD-BRU-GOT 751$ (incl. tax) + 60$ for a rental car.
GOT-JFK-ORD-FLL, FLL-ORD-BRU-GOT 758$ (incl. tax)

You are right about svaing time (about 3-4 hours) but since it's lesiure trip I'm not in a hurry.

I might follow your advice and go for the MIA option or take the direct BRU-ORD flight, only because I might not want the hassle whith delay bagage (last time it took NW 4 days to deliver my bags). Insurance would cover any bagage delays, but it might not be worth the hassle.

Remember, if its all on one ticket (one PNR) and you miss the plane, AA is liable for it...but if you purchase two tickets and miss the plane then you are responsible...make sure you take that into consideration....

Cheers.
"Up the Irons!"
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:30 am

EMBQA,

Actually, if I subtract the cost for ground transportation, arriving at MIA instead of FLL will be cheaper by a few $.

Going GOT-BRU-JFK-MIA, leaves only 1 h for connection in BRU (I've done it before, but you have to run and pray for no inbound delay and/or short lines at security). But it might better than 45 connection in ORD.

I will be flying in February, so I might take you up on your words and avoid ORD (by own experience of ORD in winter time as well). The thing I was most interested in, was if this connection was doable, even though the AA ticket agent in Sweden said it would be no problem at all...

Going via LHR is not an option since no One World carrier flies GOT-LHR (anymore), GOT-BRU is the only option (besides going backward through HEL). I would prefer the BA LHR-MIA, MIA-LHR flight if that was an option.

One reason to the ORD route is that since I'm on vacation and time is not a issue, I would try to fly as many flights as possible. That's why I consider going ORD-DFW-FLL and arrive only about 1h later (will only cost only 20$ more).

Jacobin777,

It's all on one PNR, but I don't know AA's policy regarding weather delays, but since it's on one PNR that shouldn't be a problem.

EK
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 1:31 am

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 26):

It's all on one PNR, but I don't know AA's policy regarding weather delays, but since it's on one PNR that shouldn't be a problem.

You shouldn't have a problem, but I think its best to give AA a call..that would probably be the most prudent thing to do...

Cheers.... Smile
"Up the Irons!"
 
aeroc
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:05 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 1:59 am

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 23):
I love your know it all attitude! Did I write anything about that the ticket was all ready paid for? You should know (by looking at your profile) that all tickets don't have to be paid for at the time you make your reservation... this ticket don't. Also changes are permitted after the tickets it's paid for.

GOTbound,

Sorry I didn't mean to be off the deep end on that one. It was a rotten day at work and I guess I just to some of the frustration out on this topic and you. I apologize! Not trying to steer you away from ORD, but if you have the option to fly through another city at about the same fare I would take it. ORD has not been the best of cities lately, and who knows what it might be like the day of you intended travel. Not saying that other cities do not have problems, but ORD is close to the top when it comes to delays. Again sorry about my last post...no hard feelings I hope.........
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:11 am

AEroc,

No hard feelings, aplogize accepted. I guess we all have our days now and then. I did get a share out of ORD delays last February, when I was re-routed through there (long story...).

As I mentioned earlier I was just intrested to see if it was actually doable, since AA in Sweden told that "45 min ORD is more then enough for domestic travel" but I had my doubts, that's why askedd. Since I'm booked in one PNR I guess it's up to AA to get me to FLL...

EK
 
aeroc
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:05 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:04 am

Yes, on a normal day in ORD 45mins is plenty of time to connect even if you have to go from the G to the H or K concourses. Are the flights your booked on connecting thru ORD in the morning or the afternoon? The reason I ask is that if its the afternoon there may not be anymore departures to back you up on and you may have to stay the night in ORD. If the WX is forcasted to be bad before you leave the origin city maybe they could reroute you thru another city on another carrier if needs be. Just watch the weather channel or something before heading to the airport.....
 
ETStar
Posts: 1850
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:25 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 11:48 am

Quoting GOTbound (Thread starter):
My itinerary on AA , travel day is a thursday (booked as one segment as JFK-FLL):
JFK-ORD arrive 4:30 PM
ORD-FLL depart 5:15 PM

Is this enough connection time, and what happens if I miss my connection (besides the fact that I still will be left in ORD), will AA take care of re booking me?

rgs.GOTbound


I did a 37 minute connection last week. Had it not been for my onward flight being cancelled, I would have made it to the gate 20 minutes before departure, this after going from Concourse C to B in T1.

Doable. Try to be nice at checkin and ask for a better seat due to your tight connection.
 
GOTbound
Topic Author
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:06 am

RE: 45 Min Enough Connection Time At ORD?

Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:49 pm

AEroc,

Quoting GOTbound (Reply 17):
AA 4133 Depart JFK 2:45 pm. Arrive ORD 4:30 pm
AA 1498 Depart ORD 5:15 pm. Arrive FLL 9:20 pm

I guess I arrive and depart in the middle of rush hour...
You got a point about last flight leaving ORD for FLL. I will have that in mind.

EK