JAGflyer
Topic Author
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:05 am

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/ACA90

All the flights seem to be between 2-3.5 hours? This can't be right can it?
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
EWRCabincrew
Posts: 4306
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:37 am

RE: YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:08 am

It looks to me as if the duration is the time it took to fly the yellow line path. That particular route would be about 2 hours 46 minutes. Not the entire flight.
That's my humble opinion.
You can't cure stupid
 
JAGflyer
Topic Author
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:19 am

Why does the tracking stop?
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
EWRCabincrew
Posts: 4306
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:37 am

RE: YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:23 am

I know that happens a lot. Maybe something to do with leaving North American (i.e. US or Canadian) airspace or a glitch in the software. I can only assume.
You can't cure stupid
 
LHR777
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:14 pm

RE: YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:54 am

It's a North-American product and the radar-coverage doesn't extend to overseas or 'foreign' radar. Hence the line just disappears. It's the same for transatlantic flights.
 
utapao
Posts: 546
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 10:19 pm

RE: YYZ-GRU In 3 Hours?

Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:20 am

Quoting JAGflyer (Reply 2):
Why does the tracking stop?

In red right below the map: "At least part of this flight occurs outside of FlightAware's service area. Information on this page may be unreliable."

Check out any flights to Mexico, for instance. They stop right around the border. Flights from Texas to SA stop about 1/3 of the way over the Gulf of Mexico.
Sawasdee khrab!