david31998

NW+Delta: End Of The Memphis Hub

Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:49 am

It seems like a NW-Delta merger will threaten the Memphis hub. Memphis has served NW well, but in the event of a merger, it is too near Atlanta to continue to operate as it does now. If NW pulls the Memphis hub, it will present a good opportunity for Southwest to expand its market in that region. Do others see it playing out that way?

falstaff

RE: NW+Delta: End Of The Memphis Hub

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:04 am

I could see that happening. MEM is the smallest of the hubs and ATL is reasonably close by. It could turn into a focus city like IND. I could see WN or another LCC moving in there. I am no expert, but I can see that or something similar happening.
My mug slaketh over on Falstaff N503

drerx7

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:05 am

I'm sure you'd see WN move into MEM in a big way--or even JetBlue.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised

luv2fly

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:06 am

Not only that with CVG being somewhat close to DTW! It would be safe to assume that CVG would be affected as well.
You can cut the irony with a knife

drerx7

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:09 am

Quoting Luv2fly (Reply 3):
Not only that with CVG being somewhat close to DTW! It would be safe to assume that CVG would be affected as well.

But CVG makes money for DL so it would probably be retained.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised

srbmod

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:16 am

In the few years prior to the Northwest/Republic merger, Republic had pretty much pulled down its' hub @ ATL (Holdover from the Southern days) and concentrated on their MEM hub (Also an former Southern hub) because of Delta's and Eastern's near stranglehold @ ATL (Southern/Republic was always the little runt to those two @ ATL).

If a DL/NW tie-up were to happen, MEM would probably see its' role as a hub reduced to flights to the remaining hubs post-merger and perhaps a handful of other cities.