emseeeye
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:50 am

CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:31 am

Ok... I have had a question brewing for some time and now I've finally gotten around to post it so here it goes:

Back in May 2004 my wife and I took a trip to Hawaii on Continental. The plane ride to and from was great however on the trip out (according the map) we never flew over the border into Mexico. Once over the Pacific Ocean we went directly over the Channel Islands and then turned South West towards HNL. Apparently avoiding Mexican airpace. On the way back we went directly over Mexico on a strait shot to IAH.

The flight out was on a Tuesday leaving IAH about 2:00 PM and the flight back was a redeye.  faint 

I know this is probably a stupid question but I've been itching to ask it but what is usually required in order to fly over Mexican airspace and why the different flight paths?
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:49 am

One of the basic premises of flight planning is to either avoid or maximise the effects of upper level winds depending on if one is travelling with or against them.

As far as flying over Mexico, nothing too odd whatsoever cutting across Mexico or Canada airspace for US air carriers, with only the requirement being the filing of an ATC flight plan with the appropriate ATC enroute facility.

While routings over Mexico might not be as frequent, its a standard occurrence where domestic US flights traverse Canada - particularly those headed to/from the Northeast region often routing via into Canada around the Great Lakes region besides those obvious flights headed to Alaska and back.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
mpdpilot
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:44 am

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:18 am

Quoting Laxintl (Reply 1):
with only the requirement being the filing of an ATC flight plan with the appropriate ATC enroute facility.

does the flight have to file twice then or does the US facility transfer the info if the plan goes through mexico or canada?
One mile of highway gets you one mile, one mile of runway gets you anywhere.
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:48 am

Quoting MPDPilot (Reply 2):
does the flight have to file twice then or does the US facility transfer the info if the plan goes through mexico or canada?

An international formatted ICAO flight plan is filled once, and copied to the respective ATC centers along the way.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
as739x
Posts: 4996
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 7:23 am

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:27 am

Even though not landings in Mexico though, if I recall they do have to pay a tax using Mexican airspace. But the cost of fuel saving on the return leg may or could easily offset this. But I have to agree this may have been more due to upper level winds at the time.

ASLAX
"Some pilots avoid storm cells and some play connect the dots!"
 
citationjet
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 2:26 am

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:39 am

It looks like CO Flt #1 bypassed Mexico today:

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/COA1

CO Flt 73 had an interesting routing off the coast of southern Calif:

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/COA73

.
Boeing Flown: 701,702,703;717;720;721,722;731,732,733,734,735,737,738,739;741,742,743,744,747SP;752,753;762,763;772,773.
 
FoxBravo
Posts: 2769
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 1:34 pm

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:52 am

Quoting CitationJet (Reply 5):

CO Flt 73 had an interesting routing off the coast of southern Calif:

That is interesting. Looks like it deviated around some weather--on the FlightAware map, you can still see that same weather, which has now moved to the east a bit.
Common sense is not so common. -Voltaire
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: CO IAH To HNL Mexico Fly Over Question

Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:05 am

If you look at the Hawaii-IAH returns they clearly operated via Mexico eventough the full radar track is not supplied for the Mexican portion.

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/COA2
http://flightaware.com/live/flight/COA72

Quoting AS739X (Reply 4):
if I recall they do have to pay a tax using Mexican airspace

Correct, Mexico as most countries charges overflight fees.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California

Who is online