DeC

Two Men Survive Plane Belly Landing (VIDEO)

Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:55 am

A twin-engine plane made a belly landing at Arlington Municipal Airport, Texas, late today after apparently having landing gear problems. Both men on board quickly slipped out of the plane. (...)

More, along with the video, at:

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=4819d4f73d
DEC

as739x

RE: Two Men Survive Plane Belly Landing (VIDEO)

Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:19 am

Excellent landing and great piloting.

ASLAX
"Some pilots avoid storm cells and some play connect the dots!"

DeC

Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:22 am

Indeed. Did you see the firemen shaking hands with them after they exit the plane?  Wink
DEC

stillageek

Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:24 am

I am a Instrument pilot working on my Commercial at GKY. The flight school that owns the plane is one of the more "questionable" schools at the airport. This is not their first gear up landing. The planes have had engine failures in the pattern and are known for leaving the gear down while doing pattern work. Not that it's a bad thing, but it's odd. As though they don't have faith in the plane? I train in a Piper Seminole and while doing pattern work we went thru full checklist. My wife called me yesterday and told me about this incident. I rushed to the airport to watch. He did an awesome job. As a footnote it was the students first time in the plane. Notice at the end he forgot an item that is on my checklist which is to shut off the power after landing.

[Edited 2007-01-21 01:25:27]

DeC

Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:27 am

Ah, really? Awesome work. So this is why he rushed back to the plane just as he got out of it..! Isn't that too dangerous though? I generally noticed that everyone remained very close to the aircraft just after the belly one, wasn't there a risk of late-ignited fire or something?
DEC

Blackbird1331

Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:04 am