edelag
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:35 am

Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:34 am

I was flying an AA A300 on FS and a question came to mind. Why aren't there any pictures of any AA A300 on DFW? From my many trips to DFW I have never seen or remember to have seen one there. Is it because they are only sent to the Caribbean and places around there?

Any answers would help. After all isn't DFW AA's main hub?
It's not just the destination, it's the journey.
 
Avianca
Posts: 5273
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:38 am

well I would say the capacity would be to big for the routes that the A300 could be used. (Northern LatinAmrica)
Colombia es el Mundo Y el Mundo es Colombia
 
MCOflyer
Posts: 7071
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:39 am

Caribbean runs demand the cargo space. I could a SJU run warranting that a/c.

MCOflyer
Never be afraid to stand up for who you are.
 
commavia
Posts: 9744
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:30 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:44 am

Quoting Edelag (Thread starter):
Why aren't there any pictures of any AA A300 on DFW?

AA hasn't really ever flown the A300 into DFW in regular scheduled service. In fact, to my knowledge, AA has never scheduled the A300 through DFW. I know they used to fly them to ORD, from SJU and possibly other places, when they used to have a SJU FA base, but that was long, long ago. Today, as others have said, the higher cargo capacity means they stay on the east coast, doing runs to and from the Caribbean and Latin America out of JFK and MIA.

Quoting Edelag (Thread starter):
After all isn't DFW AA's main hub?

Yes, D/FW is AA's largest hub by far and home base, but doesn't see every aircraft type in the AA fleet. D/FW doesn't get the the A300, 767-200 either.
 
edelag
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:35 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:57 am

Thanks for the info.
It's not just the destination, it's the journey.
 
akizidy214
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:10 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:01 pm

I could see an A300 being used on a SJU-DFW run when the those 19 757's go away.
DCA
 
AlitaliaMD11
Posts: 3704
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:19 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:06 pm

The A300 has really always been and is currently the backbone and main aircraft for their vast Latin American operation. As mentioned the cargo space and the seating for 267 is a good capacity for such routes especially from cities like Chicago, New York, and Miami where many natives from the Latin American countries make up a majority of the passengers on most flights.

The 757-200 is better suited for flights to Latin America from cities like Philadelphia and Dallas where the demand is not as high.

As far as I know the A300 has never really operated domestic flights between US cities.

[Edited 2007-02-22 04:07:41]
No Vueling No Party
 
DBCooper
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:19 pm

The A300 operates in domestic service on flights from MIA to the North.

For a time the A-300 operated to LAX (to/from MIA) and LAS (to/from ORD).

It has been seen at DFW, but only due to MIA-LAX diversions due to medical emergencies or in-flight mechanical issues. It has never been scheduled to operate there.

At one time, when AA was short of transatlantic equipment, the A-300 could also be seen on LHR-BOS/JFK and CDG-BOS. The a/c was configured in 3-classes for this service.

I have flown on AA's A-300s several times over the years, including LHR-BOS, JFK-MIA, MIA-SJU, SJU-STT, STT-STX-MIA and ORD-MIA. I do not like flying on it due to it's generally run-down interiors and poor maintenance reliability. After my last flight on it, part of a YUL-JFK-MIA-GIG trip, I decided to avoid it at all costs in the future.


- DBC
 
adh214
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 1999 6:07 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:27 pm

Each aircraft in the fleet requires hundreds of spare parts to be kept in inventory. To minimize this inventory it is best to limit the number of aircraft types that visit any given airport. For example, I don't think the MD 80 visits Miami and that is also a large AA hub. ( I could be wrong and I am sure someone will correct me if I am)

I over heard (sorry no source) that when AA stopped sending the A300 to LAX they eliminated over a million dollars of spare A300 parts from their parts inventory at LAX.

Andrew
 
PanAm747
Posts: 4713
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:46 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:52 pm

Quote:
Each aircraft in the fleet requires hundreds of spare parts to be kept in inventory. To minimize this inventory it is best to limit the number of aircraft types that visit any given airport. For example, I don't think the MD 80 visits Miami and that is also a large AA hub. ( I could be wrong and I am sure someone will correct me if I am)

You are correct - AA has isolated most types to certain hubs. It works for them as they have McDonnell Douglas, Boeing, and Airbus types in their fleet. Less cross-over, less need for spare parts.

As for the A300, it was ordered specifically for Caribbean and Latin American services because of its cargo hold. Someone will need to help me out with the specific pallet type, but the A300 can carry two of these side-by-side in the hold. The 767 is a few inches too narrow to do this.

The amount of cargo being carried to the Caribbean and several points in Latin America is voluminous - and the A300 can handle it all. And if I remember correctly, the 787 is wide enough to hold the two side-by-side pallets - I would assume that Boeing made sure that was one of the first things it designed the 787 for.
Pan Am:The World's Most Experienced Airline - P(oor) S(ailor's) A(irline): San Diego's Hometown Airline-Catch Our Smile!
 
AlitaliaMD11
Posts: 3704
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:19 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:56 pm

Quoting DBCooper (Reply 7):
The A300 operates in domestic service on flights from MIA to the North.

I'm actually flying MIA-JFK in March on an A300, can't believe I forgot about that as a domestic service!
No Vueling No Party
 
Avianca
Posts: 5273
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:58 pm

Quoting PanAm747 (Reply 9):
Someone will need to help me out with the specific pallet type, but the A300 can carry two of these side-by-side in the hold. The 767 is a few inches too narrow to do this.

corret, the pallets are loaded to the lenght in the 767 and on the Airbusses on the wide... Only the LD-2 container can be loaded side by side in the 767
Colombia es el Mundo Y el Mundo es Colombia
 
brons2
Posts: 2462
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 1:02 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 pm

Hopefully some time soon we'll be seeing a 787-3 or 787-8 order to replace these 34 oddballs.
Firings, if well done, are good for employee morale.
 
dartland
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:09 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:42 pm

Like said above, AA separates its fleet by hub in order to make maintenance easier. For example, no MD-80 service into MIA despite having 300 of them. All A300 flights are through JFK, SJU, or MIA.
 
HPLASOps
Posts: 1767
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:13 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:45 pm

How many A300s are in the AA fleet and how many Latin American destinations do they use them on?
"Just because I know how to get off a freeway doesn't mean I know how to get back on!" - Retard Joe
 
N276AASTT
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 6:19 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:14 pm

I'm AA ramper at DFW. With respect to the SJU runs with the 757, they normally go out packed to the rim with passengers n baggage (I try to avoid 'em). But very little by way of cargo. I think that if the cargo volume from the DFW area was big enough to warrant an A300, they'd send one or two a day. But as of now, the big cargo shipments are handled through MIA. I have worked @ DFW for 10 years and I have only "heard" of one instance where an A300 made a stop @ DFW. I don't remember the circumstances though.
Dejale Caer tu el Peso! YOMO
 
airplaneboy
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:59 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:32 pm

I recall flying on an AA A300 back in the early 90s from LAX to DFW. I do not know if it was a regularly scheduled service, or a sub.

Cheers
 
DFW13L
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:42 pm

AA sends no A300s west of the East Coast. No MD80s to JFK or MIA. No 738s to ORD. So I bet you're wondering what they fly between MIA and ORD, if you cannot include MD80s or 738s? 757s.

I also remember way back when there were some "white" A300s occasionally seen at DFW right after they were first delivered. Maybe for a short time they flew out of DFW, but I don't know for sure.

762s are not scheduled to fly to DFW, but they are somewhat frequent visitors when 763s break down in LAX. I saw one here at DFW not that long ago. As I matter of fact, I flew on a 762 a year ago LAX-DFW. It was a fiasco at the gate getting the seats all redone, and they used the biz-class section as first class, so there were some people grumbling that some ended up with a "better" first class seat than some others.
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
Cactus742
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:18 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:06 am

Quoting PanAm747 (Reply 9):
As for the A300, it was ordered specifically for Caribbean and Latin American services because of its cargo hold.

Didn't American get their A300s from Eastern?
Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive.
 
MCOflyer
Posts: 7071
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:11 am

Quoting Cactus742 (Reply 18):

Didn't American get their A300s from Eastern?

No EA never operated the A300-605R. AA ordered a new batch from Airbus directly.

MCOflyer
Never be afraid to stand up for who you are.
 
MGASJO
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:37 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:55 am

Quoting HPLASOps (Reply 14):
How many A300s are in the AA fleet and how many Latin American destinations do they use them on?

There are 34 A300s in AA's fleet.
They are used in GUA, MGA, SJO, BOG, LIM, SDQ, STI, PAP, SJU, GYE, CCS
C208B
 
floridaflyboy
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 3:26 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:09 am

Quoting DFW13L (Reply 17):
AA sends no A300s west of the East Coast. No MD80s to JFK or MIA. No 738s to ORD. So I bet you're wondering what they fly between MIA and ORD, if you cannot include MD80s or 738s? 757s.

Yep. The 757 is one of them that is seen at every single hub in the system (including STL).
Good goes around!
 
LAXdude1023
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:16 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:12 am

Not that DFW is missing anything. I hate flying the A300's.
It is what it is...
 
L1011
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 8:02 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:40 am

I recently flew from MCO-MIA and back in A300 aircraft, and I liked them very much. The interiors seemed new and fresh, except for the old bulkhead treatments. The seats had the new seat covers and were very comfortable. They were spotlessly clean. And I was surprised that on such a short sector, the flights were packed in both directions.

Bob Bradley
Richmond, VA
Fly Eastern's Golden Falcon DC-7B
 
AlitaliaMD11
Posts: 3704
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:19 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:44 am

Quoting L1011 (Reply 23):
I recently flew from MCO-MIA and back in A300 aircraft, and I liked them very much. The interiors seemed new and fresh, except for the old bulkhead treatments. The seats had the new seat covers and were very comfortable. They were spotlessly clean. And I was surprised that on such a short sector, the flights were packed in both directions.

Must have flown on a recently refurbished aircraft.
No Vueling No Party
 
HPAEAA
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 7:24 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:11 am

Quoting Adh214 (Reply 8):
Each aircraft in the fleet requires hundreds of spare parts to be kept in inventory. To minimize this inventory it is best to limit the number of aircraft types that visit any given airport. For example, I don't think the MD 80 visits Miami and that is also a large AA hub. ( I could be wrong and I am sure someone will correct me if I am)

I over heard (sorry no source) that when AA stopped sending the A300 to LAX they eliminated over a million dollars of spare A300 parts from their parts inventory at LAX.

 checkmark   checkmark 
Correct.... i.e... DFW doesn't see the A300, ORD doesn't see the 738, a300, JFK doesn't see the md80 738, LGA doesn't see the 767, 777, a300, BOS doesn't see the a300, stl doesn't see the 767, 777, a300, mia doesn't see the md80, 767??

anyways.. you get the point... fleet simplification enabled AA to save on the Parts inventory and also on the crew base costs.... because the replaced certain fleet typed with others they were able to make the crews that they had in reserves more flexible... (even the FA's since they don't train them on every fleet type)...
Why do I fly???
 
CodyKDiamond
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:28 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:12 am

I do remember seeing AA 762s and A300s at DFW within the last year. They were scheduled departures and not emergencies.
 
MAH4546
Posts: 24560
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 1:44 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:18 am

Quoting HPAEAA (Reply 25):
mia doesn't see the md80, 767??

MIA doesn't see the S80, that's it. They see both 767s, -300s and -200s.
a.
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:23 am

Quoting CodyKDiamond (Reply 26):
A300s

definately didn't see the A300 at DFW. They have never been scheduled to DFW--and definately not within the last year. If you saw an AA762 then it was a sub. Oh and to the other poster--MIA does see the 767---in fact one or two of those ORD-MIA runs is on 763.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
MCOflyer
Posts: 7071
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:59 am

ORD used to see or still sees 738's.

MCOflyer
Never be afraid to stand up for who you are.
 
MDorBust
Posts: 4914
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:10 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:07 pm

Quoting CodyKDiamond (Reply 26):
I do remember seeing AA 762s

If you are seeing regular 762s at DFW they are probably coming out of mx at AFW. Every 767 I've seen leave AFW has made a short hop over to DFW.
"I KICKED BURNING TERRORIST SO HARD IN BALLS THAT I TORE A TENDON" - Alex McIlveen
 
VC10DC10
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 9:56 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:17 pm

When did AA cease serving MIA with the MD-80??? I flew MSP-MIA and MIA-MSP in 2004 on MD-80s in 2004.
 
JDAirCEO
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:58 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:39 pm

Each AA airport has specific aircraft that fly through there with some aircraft being region specific or concentrated to a specific airport. While AA doesnt have many versions of the aircraft it operates, some do have specific routes.
Examples:
ORD is mainly S80 for domestic flights.
MIA is mainly 738 for domestic flights.
DFW is S80 and 738.
762 aircraft is mainly for transcon but do operate to MIA and NAS.
In general, AA tries to keep aircraft on specific routes into specific hubs, subs do happen, but a flight would cancel before you see an A300 operate JFK-DFW rather than the usual 757.
It may seem logical to operate an A300 on DFW-LAS where every flight is full, but AA had rather operate many flights at capacity rather than dump capacity on a route then drop fares to fill the aircraft.
An MD-80 is great... in first class
 
commavia
Posts: 9744
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:30 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:57 pm

Quoting MCOflyer (Reply 29):
ORD used to see or still sees 738's.

ORD hasn't seen 737s since, if I remember correctly, mid-2004. At that time, ORD was consolidated on all MD80/757 for shorthaul and domestic, while MIA got all 737s and lost its MD80 flights.

Quoting MDorBust (Reply 30):
If you are seeing regular 762s at DFW they are probably coming out of mx at AFW. Every 767 I've seen leave AFW has made a short hop over to DFW.

AA no longer uses 767-200s on regularly scheduled flights out of DFW, but they used to. I remember back around 1998-1999 when they used to route one DFW-BOS-DFW to support the short-lived BOS-LGW flights.

Quoting VC10DC10 (Reply 31):
When did AA cease serving MIA with the MD-80?

Again, if I remember correctly, sometime in mid-2004. It was at the same time as they pulled all the 737 flying from O'Hare.
 
N1120A
Posts: 26467
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:40 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:18 pm

Quoting AlitaliaMD11 (Reply 6):

As far as I know the A300 has never really operated domestic flights between US cities.

LAX-JFK is one. Also, AA's SJU ops are definately US domestic.

Quoting Commavia (Reply 33):
ORD hasn't seen 737s since, if I remember correctly, mid-2004. At that time, ORD was consolidated on all MD80/757 for shorthaul and domestic, while MIA got all 737s and lost its MD80 flights.

Didn't they also pull the 738s out of BOS?
Mangeons les French fries, mais surtout pratiquons avec fierte le French kiss
 
MAH4546
Posts: 24560
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 1:44 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:25 pm

Quoting AlitaliaMD11 (Reply 6):
As mentioned the cargo space and the seating for 267 is a good capacity for such routes especially from cities like Chicago, New York, and Miami where many natives from the Latin American countries make up a majority of the passengers on most flights.

Actually, American Airlines does not fly from Chicago anywhere in Latin America, outside of Mexico.
a.
 
boeing767mech
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 5:03 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:21 pm

We say a A300 in Boston a couple of months ago taking the place of a 757 trip, We all ran out and started doing a voodoo dance to make sure it left(just kidding), it came and left with out a single write up. As for 737s I haven't seen a 737 in Boston for over 1 1/2 years.

David
Never under-estimate the predictably of stupidty
 
PSU.DTW.SCE
Posts: 6108
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 11:45 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:59 pm

You may have caught an A300 in DFW, since the A300's go to TUL for heavy maintenance, and it could have possibly been a diversion from TUL due to weather. Its not completely out of the question, but it would be an extremely rare circumstance, and the aircraft would not have been in revenue service.

762's do show up from time to time in DFW, either due to a sub in from LAX and/or mx ferrry from AFW where 767 & 777 heavy maintenance is performed.
 
NW727251ADV
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 5:55 pm

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:08 am

Quoting Cactus742 (Reply 18):
Didn't American get their A300s from Eastern?

Incorrect!

Eastern operated early build A300B2-200s I believe (I may be wrong on the variant).

Continental acquired most (if not all) of Eastern's A300s at which time were in such a state of deterioration due to EA not properly maintaining the aircraft, that all were disposed of in relatively short time.

AA operates A300-600Rs as already stated.
NWA   N O R T H W E S T A I R L I N E S
 
AAR90
Posts: 3140
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2000 11:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:12 am

Quoting Edelag (Thread starter):
Why aren't there any pictures of any AA A300 on DFW?

Why? = $$$$$$$$$$$

Quoting MCOflyer (Reply 29):
ORD used to see or still sees 738's.

"Used to" is correct.

Quoting N1120A (Reply 34):
Didn't they also pull the 738s out of BOS?

Yep, Jan'06 was last month. The Simplification Plan pulled 738s from ORD and SFO crew bases, MD80s from MIA, and 777s from SFO pilot crew base. "Round-2" saw 738s pulled from BOS. Simplification Phase-II is about how ground crews are scheduled (sorry, I don't know the specifics). All in the name of saving $$$.... hundreds of millions of $$$$.
*NO CARRIER* -- A Naval Aviator's worst nightmare!
 
jfk777
Posts: 5841
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:23 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:27 am

The first 25 A300-600R were ordered as "walk-away" leases the first 10 years of the lease back in 1988. There original intended purpose was the Caribean, primarily from JFK and San Juan, since Miami was still an Eastern opertaion in 1988. It was when EAL went CH 11 and AA purchased the Miami ops that they became such a quantity in Miami. DID Crandall know the future would include Miami, if any one did only Bob Crandall would know and isn't telling. Though Miami to Main land Latin America does see A300, many more go to San Juan and the islands. 757 are the main airplane to Latin Cities given the two and three daily frequencies now common to most capitols.
 
EXAAUADL
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:00 am

Quoting Dartland (Reply 13):
For example, no MD-80 service into MIA despite having 300 of them.

Correct if I am wrong, but isnt there no 738 service in ORD?
 
elmothehobo
Posts: 967
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:10 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:07 am

Quoting AlitaliaMD11 (Reply 6):
As far as I know the A300 has never really operated domestic flights between US cities.

American currently operates A300s on Miami-New York JFK and Miami-Orlando, until a few years ago they also served Miami-Newark and Miami-Boston, as well as the aforementioned Miami-Los Angeles, Miami-Chicago, Chicago-Los Angeles.

But for the most part no, and by domestic we mean the 50 states, not Puerto Rico and other territories.

Quoting Adh214 (Reply 8):
Each aircraft in the fleet requires hundreds of spare parts to be kept in inventory. To minimize this inventory it is best to limit the number of aircraft types that visit any given airport. For example, I don't think the MD 80 visits Miami and that is also a large AA hub.

Exactly, though when American launched the new JFK-Long Beach service they considered operating A300s on the route to compete with JetBlue on price. The A300 would have had a very competitive CASM.

Quoting Cactus742 (Reply 18):
Didn't American get their A300s from Eastern?

Nope, ordered in the mid 1980s, and all delivered new to American.

Quoting MCOflyer (Reply 29):
ORD used to see or still sees 738's.

Not since Spring 2005.

Quoting VC10DC10 (Reply 31):
When did AA cease serving MIA with the MD-80??? I flew MSP-MIA and MIA-MSP in 2004 on MD-80s in 2004.

Spring 2005. ORD's 737-800s were swapped with MIA's MD-80s.

Quoting Commavia (Reply 33):
ORD hasn't seen 737s since, if I remember correctly, mid-2004. At that time, ORD was consolidated on all MD80/757 for shorthaul and domestic, while MIA got all 737s and lost its MD80 flights.

As I said, Spring 2005, though this was planned in late 2004. Makes a lot of sense and really simplified operations.
 
PSU.DTW.SCE
Posts: 6108
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 11:45 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:49 am

Originally the 738's were deployed in 1999 out of ORD to primarily operate routes to the West Coast and as a competitive response to United. They then went on to be deployed to MIA & to operate some of the transcons from BOS/IAD/JFK.

The rationale for moving the MD-80's was for simplification and also since the MD-80's couldn't fly routes "south" of MIA, limiting operational flexibility since they couldn't fly to the Carribean/Central America. The 738's were much more versitle for routes out of MIA & DFW, and weren't really necessary out of ORD range/performance wise since the MD-80 can easily make the West Coast and there are no over water routes.
 
KevinSmith
Posts: 626
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:08 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:48 am

The one and only time I got on one was from ORD to Miami. The a/c I flew on had just arrived from Milan. This was years back mind you.
Learning to fly, but I ain't got wings.
 
VEEREF
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:55 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:15 pm

Been on plenty of MD-80's into MIA.
Airplanes are cool. Aviation sucks.
 
AAR90
Posts: 3140
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2000 11:51 am

RE: Why No AA A300 On DFW?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:17 pm

Quoting EXAAUADL (Reply 41):
Correct if I am wrong, but isnt there no 738 service in ORD?

Stopped in 2005.

Quoting VEEREF (Reply 45):
Been on plenty of MD-80's into MIA.

Operative word is "been".... as in past tense. MD80s do NOT visit MIA anymore.
*NO CARRIER* -- A Naval Aviator's worst nightmare!