707atDc8
Topic Author

Airlines With Foreign Born Flight & Cabin Crews

Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:24 am

Hi there, I'm new to Airliners.Net !!, so I'm thinking this question has probably been asked before !! but here goes ..

Which airlines have the highest percentage of foreign born Flight and Cabin crews (not native to the airlines base country of operations) working for them ??, and is it as I suspect, only airlines with lot's of money !?!.. And that they tend to hire more English speaking Caucasian boys n girls than any other race ?!?!.. "Politically Incorrect" question I know, but it's an honest one.

gh123

RE: Airlines With Foreign Born Flight & Cabin Crews

Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:32 am

Emirates I think would be your No. 1 answer. They have, I believe the most international cabin and flight crew in the world and they are all based in Dubai.

1stfl94

Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:47 am

Most the Middle Eastern carriers, EK, EY,QR, SV and GF hire a wide variety of crews, not just Westerners but also a lot from India and SE Asia.

iclcy

Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:53 am

The Gulf based carriers, will indeed have the most non national employees.

With a little bit of research you will find the likes of EY, QR, EK hold recruitment days in Asia, Africa, South America, Australasia/Pacific, Europe, etc.

These airlines are restricted for male to female F/A ratio's. I remember reading somewhere that 70% had to be female - due to the fact that females in the Gulf nations are not allowed to work & the remaining 30% male recruits had to be home base heavy, though the fact that not many national males apply for f/a jobs mean they can recruit male f/a's from virtually any continent.

The Gulf based airlines also offer a tax free basic salary of around $24,000 a year plus living accom(shared). Which is very attractive to those that come from countries where that kind of wage is unobtainable to the general populace.

JDAirCEO

Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:30 am

Somewhat off topic, but still relative...