Braybuddy
Topic Author

Overhead Bins Creaking On Takeoff And Landing

Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:03 am

I've been flying for over 30 years, but only recently have noticed that on widebodies the overhead bins creak on takeoff and landing. Not surprising when you consider the stresses on the airframe, but have any other a.netters noticed this?

deltagator

RE: Overhead Bins Creaking On Takeoff And Landing

Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:20 am

Quoting Braybuddy (Thread starter):
have any other a.netters noticed this?

It was my favorite thing about the L-1011s when they were flying for Eastern and Delta. They creaked and moaned on takeoff like a $10 hooker and it was great.
"If you can't delight in the misery of others then you don't deserve to be a college football fan."

phelpsie87

Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:38 am

I have noticed the bins over the middle sections moving side to side, or up and down during takeoff/landing and turbulence. Doesn't surprise me when I hear the creaking though. Its like anything, a creak in the floor your car, or your body haha.

VHXLR8

Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:08 pm

The fun really starts when they actually OPEN on takeoff or landing (767s and 747s epsecially). You end up spending the rest of the takeoff roll and early stages of climb watching that bag just 'edging' closer and closer to the edge, and all you can do is hope it doesn't fall on that small child or elderly person's head.
Similarly, whilst it's always nice that a passenger makes the effort to get up and close it; it's not too great when they get up whilst the aircraft is literally touching down!

n229nw

Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:12 pm

on the 747-100 and -200 series especially the bins over the center seats used to shudder and moan on takeoff and landing (and during turbulence), I don't remember it happening much on newer aircraft,,,
All Glory to the Hypnotoad!

HAWK21M

Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:37 pm