MSYtristar
Topic Author

Has Anyone Loaded A Plane By Themselves?

Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:27 pm

I did it this morning. Let me tell you, not that fun. 80 bags and 33 boxes of cargo. At least the flight left on time, not sure how I pulled that one off. I am basically as exhausted and as frustrated as i've ever been.

So tell me....what are some of your horror stories from the ramp?

captaink

RE: Has Anyone Loaded A Plane By Themselves?

Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:32 pm

Quoting MSYtristar (Thread starter):
I did it this morning. Let me tell you, not that fun. 80 bags and 33 boxes of cargo. At least the flight left on time, not sure how I pulled that one off. I am basically as exhausted and as frustrated as i've ever been.

How and why did that happen?

I did load about 5 bags into a DHC8-300, does that count? Hey I get extra point cause i was a customer service agent who just liked to be all over the place, when I should have been on the ticket counter or at the gate. Big grin
There is something special about planes....

SAS-A321

Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:38 pm

I was working in Billund Airport in Denmark EKBI and one morning the SAS Dash 8-Q400 I just loaded had a low level of oxygen in the bottle for the pilots, so they changed to another Q400, which should leave an hour later. So all the luggage had to come out and into the other aircraft and they only left with 5-10 minutes delay. Beside that I also had to connect a heater as the aircraft was close to frozen.
It's Scandinavian

MSYtristar
Topic Author

Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:45 pm

Quoting Captaink (Reply 1):
How and why did that happen?

I'm wondering that myself. I'm not at liberty to post the circumstances on here, but shoot me an IM, and i'll be happy to share more info.

DABZF

Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:47 pm

80 bags and 33 boxes of cargo.

...try to do that 5 times in 2 hours (both loading and unloading) with a 25knot wind throwing snow on your face in -30Celcius!  cold   cold   cold   cold   cold   cold