Impacto
Topic Author
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:31 pm

Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:50 am

I am aware of the fact that AA, UAL, and DL use their 777s on domestic routes especially to KLAX from their respective hubs. What about Continental? If not, why?
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13762
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:10 am

Not in recent months. Occasionally it will go on EWR-IAH once a day for repositioning, and once in a while it's actually scheduled for that route for a week or two.

When the type was new, they flew them domestically more, including IAH-LAX. Those were the days.
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
IAHFLYR
Posts: 3943
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:56 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:15 am

CO has and will from time to time put a B772 from IAH-EWR around 1045 A.M. and from EWR-IAH around 315 P.M., most of the year those flights are either a B762 or B764.

Reasons they don't run the B772's much in the domestic U.S. routes, I would think is due to the lack of them and they're needed to support the longer international routes.

Keep in mind CO is taking delivery of only their 20th B772 on Tuesday, April 17th, yes tomorrow!
Any views shared are strictly my own and do not a represent those of any former employer.
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:19 am

They flew them to MCO back in the late 1990's for route proving/crew training.
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
curticool
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:45 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:59 am

It Seems To Short Given The Large Quantity Of 738'S That CO Has
N102DA
 
cba
Posts: 4228
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2000 2:02 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:14 am

When they do, it is for repositioning or because the aircraft is going to be on the ground for long periods of time waiting for another intl. flight. Same strategy applies for the 764 and 762, which is why you'll see them on IAH-EWR runs.
 
phoenixflyer
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:12 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:38 am

When looking for flights back home from EWR to PHX i noticed the T7 is being used for a least a few days on the EWR to IAH route in mid August. Usually that route is 738.
 
tbear815
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 12:14 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:40 am

Where is CO's principal maintenance base for the T7's?
 
tsnamm
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 3:28 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:45 am

CO's T7 is usually only run domestically anymore as part of a one stop IAH/EWR/somewhere in Europe...there's not enough revenue to use T7's for anything but long haul Intl...
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Rout

Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:54 am

Quoting Tbear815 (Reply 7):
Where is CO's principal maintenance base for the T7's

Well more 777s run out of EWR. Here at IAH we have em to EZE (certain frequencies), CDG, and LGW. Occasionally the 777 will run a swap to EWR or as a continuation to/from EZE when its on that run (EWR-IAH-EZE-IAH-EWR). I personally have flown them IAH-LAX-IAH and IAH-EWR-IAH. Remember they also flew IAH-HNL as CO1/2 for the longest time (I think the aircraft switched down to 764 @ HNL for the continuation to GUM--not sure if the 777 continued all the way there-don't think so though).
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
User avatar
sammyk
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 1999 11:31 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:55 am

A few months ago I had a 777 on a EWR-IAH flight. The flight was later headed to Argentina.
 
LAXspotter
Posts: 3227
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:16 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:57 am

Quoting Drerx7 (Reply 9):
Well more 777s run out of EWR. Here at IAH we have em to EZE (certain frequencies), CDG, and LGW. Occasionally the 777 will run a swap to EWR or as a continuation to/from EZE when its on that run (EWR-IAH-EZE-IAH-EWR). I personally have flown them IAH-LAX-IAH and IAH-EWR-IAH. Remember they also flew IAH-HNL as CO1/2 for the longest time (I think the aircraft switched down to 764 @ HNL for the continuation to GUM--not sure if the 777 continued all the way there-don't think so though).

You missed IAH-NRT, but recently atleast as of this year, i dont recall CO domestic T7 flights.
"Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel" Samuel Johnson
 
User avatar
iahcsr
Posts: 3606
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 1999 2:59 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:33 am

Quoting Tbear815 (Reply 7):
Where is CO's principal maintenance base for the T7's?

A and B Checks done at EWR and IAH. C and D are done at HKG.
Working very hard to Fly Right....
 
tercer
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:55 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:01 am

Quoting Impacto (Thread starter):
I am aware of the fact that AA, UAL, and DL use their 777s on domestic routes especially to KLAX from their respective hubs. What about Continental? If not, why?

The longer a 777 is in the air the more money it makes so scheduling it on domestic legs, while being able to move more people, will loose money since the airplane is designed to fly for more than 15 hours.
It's politically sensitive, but it's going to happen.
 
c0ex
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 9:54 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:14 am

Looks like it isnt flying to the IAH-EWR leg anytime soon. There is currently 762, 752, and mix of 737's flying that route now.
theRightchoice
 
User avatar
STT757
Posts: 13200
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 1:14 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:58 am

CO needs to keep their widebodies flying International Long Haul flights, to support domestic capacity CO needs to acquire additional 757-300s.

Starting with the four remaining 757-300s at ATA, and some additional 757-300s flying for European charters or Akira.
Eastern Air lines flt # 701, EWR-MCO Boeing 757
 
centrair
Posts: 2845
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:44 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:09 pm

So the majority of CO's T7s are rotated through international destinations like NW does with their 747s and A330s?
Yes...I am not a KIX fan. Let's Japanese Aviation!
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:51 pm

Quoting Centrair (Reply 16):
So the majority of CO's T7s are rotated through international destinations like NW does with their 747s and A330s?

All of them are flying internationally. IF you see a domestic 777 it'll be on the IAH-EWR run.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13762
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:19 pm

Quoting Phoenixflyer (Reply 6):
on the EWR to IAH route in mid August. Usually that route is 738.

No, it's an every plane but 777 route, usually. They fly 757s and 762s on the route as well as 737s, and sometimes ERJs!!

Quoting C0ex (Reply 14):
Looks like it isnt flying to the IAH-EWR leg anytime soon. There is currently 762, 752, and mix of 737's flying that route now.

That's standard. The 777 can be subbed in (to reposition after maintenance, when a 762 goes tech, or a 777 has gone tech and is sitting idle after being fixed, etc..)

And as noted about, there are occasions where they do schedule the 777 on the route in advance, but it's not at all regular.
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
nwa757boy
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:10 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:26 pm

Quoting Ikramerica (Reply 18):
No, it's an every plane but 777 route, usually. They fly 757s and 762s on the route as well as 737s, and sometimes ERJs!!



I've NEVER seen the ERJ between IAH-EWR. I thought there was a clause somewhere in the CAL ALPA that states only CAL planes and pilots can fly between hubs.


The only time I've been on a 777 was a deadhead from IAH to EWR...
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:34 pm

Quoting NWA757boy (Reply 19):
I've NEVER seen the ERJ between IAH-EWR. I thought there was a clause somewhere in the CAL ALPA that states only CAL planes and pilots can fly between hubs.

There is that clause; however, there are some flights that are through flights with stops in intermediate cities (they don't come up for sale but I believe they do if you are redeeming OnePass rewards online) so IAH-XXX-EWR for example with the same plane.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
EWRCabincrew
Posts: 4306
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:37 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:25 pm

Quoting NWA757boy (Reply 19):
I thought there was a clause somewhere in the CAL ALPA that states only CAL planes and pilots can fly between hubs.

They don't go non-stop, but they do go EWR-IAH through secondary cities like RIC, IND, STL and the like.
You can't cure stupid
 
centrair
Posts: 2845
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:44 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:31 pm

Quoting Drerx7 (Reply 17):
All of them are flying internationally. IF you see a domestic 777 it'll be on the IAH-EWR run.

I will clarify.

NW rotates all their widebodies at the outerstation and then at the hubs in the US. NO Domestic Widebodies (except MSP-HNL)

IE: A333 flies DTW-AMS-BOS-AMS-MSP

Could say CO fly EWR-Foreign Airport-IAH-Foreign Airport-EWR to rotate their T7s?
Yes...I am not a KIX fan. Let's Japanese Aviation!
 
EWRCabincrew
Posts: 4306
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:37 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:44 pm

Quoting Centrair (Reply 22):
Could say CO fly EWR-Foreign Airport-IAH-Foreign Airport-EWR to rotate their T7s?

Our T7 cities commonly served from EWR and IAH are NRT, LGW and CDG. The T7s are sometimes rotated out there, too. EWR-CDG-IAH or IAH-NRT-EWR and so on.
You can't cure stupid
 
cba
Posts: 4228
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2000 2:02 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:55 pm

Quoting EWRCabincrew (Reply 21):
They don't go non-stop, but they do go EWR-IAH through secondary cities like RIC, IND, STL and the like.

 checkmark 

If you plug in a ticket for IAH-EWR on CO and scroll to the bottom, sometimes you'll see these options. I've seen IAH-RIC-EWR among others as potential itineraries, however they usually come up as more expensive when compared to the multiple obvious n/s flights.
 
User avatar
iahcsr
Posts: 3606
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 1999 2:59 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:05 pm

Quoting EWRCabincrew (Reply 23):
EWR-CDG-IAH or IAH-NRT-EWR and so on.

Normal/Standard routings are EWR-NRT/LGW-IAH (and reverse of course). Arrival/Departure times don't allow for this though CDG.
Working very hard to Fly Right....
 
STJ
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:16 am

Quoting Centrair (Reply 22):
NW rotates all their widebodies at the outerstation and then at the hubs in the US. NO Domestic Widebodies (except MSP-HNL)

NW will ocassionally run a repo of a 330 between DTW and MSP but never has pax although I did see a Non-Rev on one of them once.
 
nwa757boy
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:10 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:29 am

I am aware of the through flights, but I was talking nonstop between IAH-EWR, sorry i wasnt specific.
 
airplanenut
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2001 8:46 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Rout

Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:29 am

If I recall correctly, quite a while back, the Tokyo run was actually BOS-EWR-NRT-EWR-BOS, which let you take a 777 on a <200 mile flight.
Why yes, in fact, I am a rocket scientist...
 
MEACEDAR
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:57 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:34 am

I flew EWR-IAH on a CO 777. This was about 6-7 months back.
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:57 am

Quoting Airplanenut (Reply 28):
If I recall correctly, quite a while back, the Tokyo run was actually BOS-EWR-NRT-EWR-BOS, which let you take a 777 on a <200 mile flight.

The 777 wasn't used on EWR-BOS but the flight number may have continued on to NRT.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13762
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:02 am

Quoting MEACEDAR (Reply 29):
I flew EWR-IAH on a CO 777. This was about 6-7 months back.

It happens. It's just not regularly scheduled like the 762 is.
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
N1120A
Posts: 26467
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:40 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:03 am

Quoting Tercer (Reply 13):
will loose money since the airplane is designed to fly for more than 15 hours.

Um, the 772ER's average flight length is significantly shorter than 15 hours and it makes money on plenty of shorter routes.
Mangeons les French fries, mais surtout pratiquons avec fierte le French kiss
 
Norcal773
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:19 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:03 am

Back in 2002, I flew CO's 777 IAH-EWR but I believe the flight was continuing on to FRA and a lot of pax never got off the plane at EWR. That was my first T7 flight so I was quite excited.
If you're going through hell, keep going
 
User avatar
airportugal310
Posts: 3217
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:49 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:29 am

Quoting Drerx7 (Reply 30):
The 777 wasn't used on EWR-BOS but the flight number may have continued on to NRT.

I wanna say that this was Continental 1180....but I could be wrong
I sell airplanes and airplane accessories
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:43 am

Quoting AirPortugal310 (Reply 34):
I wanna say that this was Continental 1180....but I could be wrong

The 777 definitely wasn't used on the BOS-EWR leg.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
usairways85
Posts: 3548
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 11:59 am

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:51 am

I've seen a CO 772 in MCO, in fact it was petermax. However that was 3 years ago. With more international expansion since then i would suspect as many people have that the 772's mainly fly international
 
tercer
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:55 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:56 pm

Quoting N1120A (Reply 32):
Um, the 772ER's average flight length is significantly shorter than 15 hours and it makes money on plenty of shorter routes.

Um, ok so how about you back that statement up with some data showing that airlines utilizing the 777 on domestic flights turn a profit on the on those routes.
It's politically sensitive, but it's going to happen.
 
Norcal773
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:19 pm

RE: Do Continental Use Their 777s On Domestic Routes?

Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:21 pm

Quoting Tercer (Reply 37):
Um, ok so how about you back that statement up with some data showing that airlines utilizing the 777 on domestic flights turn a profit on the on those routes.

He never said anythign about domestic fligths making profit! He said shorter than your 15 hours which doesn't mean domestic. As a matter of fact, not too many routes a 772ER is operated for more than 15 hours as you claimed. Name 5 routes that a 772ER flies for more than 15 hours. Even better, how about you back your first statement up first before asking N1120A to back his up!
If you're going through hell, keep going

Who is online