8herveg
Topic Author
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:01 am

Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:36 pm

I know I am probably compleltly wrong in asking this, but did Air Canada ever fly to London Stansted?

A few years ago, I swear my friend said he flew to Calgary from Stansted with Air Canada.

Could anyone confirm this please?
 
LHRGregSE4
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 10:55 pm

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Tue May 01, 2007 12:30 am

It must have been Zoom. I remember they flew from Stansted to Calgary and Vancouver.
 
FLYACYYZ
Posts: 1820
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:13 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Tue May 01, 2007 1:04 am

There has never been planned service into STN. Perhaps because of an operational or weather diversion, this may have been the case. There were YYZ/LGW charters way back on the 747-200 during the 80's for one season.
Above and Beyond
 
User avatar
yowza
Posts: 4281
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:01 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Tue May 01, 2007 2:40 am

I flew YOW-STN once. This however was due to a diversion as AC pilots went on strike at midnight while my plane was airborne. The shuttle bus AC provided us with from STN to LHR arrived late and so I missed my onward flight to DXB. Special conditions aside I am unaware of any regular flights from Canada to STN by AC.

YOWza
 
BA84
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:36 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Tue May 01, 2007 3:06 am

Quoting LHRGregSE4 (Reply 1):
It must have been Zoom. I remember they flew from Stansted to Calgary and Vancouver.

It would have been Canada 3000.
 
Humberside
Posts: 3223
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:44 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Tue May 01, 2007 5:51 am

Zoom have flown STN-Canada in the past
Visit the Air Humberside Website and Forum
 
BA84
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:36 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Wed May 02, 2007 3:25 am

Quoting Humberside (Reply 5):
Zoom have flown STN-Canada in the past

I disagree. He thought he was on Air Canada.
He certainly would have remembered the name Zoom, and the blue plane.
Canada 3000 has Canada in the name.
 
8herveg
Topic Author
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:01 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Wed May 02, 2007 4:20 am

I remember now that he said that once they had taken off from London, they had to return because the plane was too small. Perhaps they couldnt return to Heathrow because of slots, so returned to Stansted and picked up a larger plane (even though it might not have been an Air Canada one)
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: Did Air Canada Ever Fly To Stansted?

Wed May 02, 2007 4:58 am

Quoting 8herveg (Reply 7):
I remember now that he said that once they had taken off from London, they had to return because the plane was too small. Perhaps they couldnt return to Heathrow because of slots, so returned to Stansted and picked up a larger plane (even though it might not have been an Air Canada one)

That still does not make much sense... AC would of gone to Glasgow or Manchester (where they have operations) before Stansted (where they do not). Also, plane was too small? How did it get to Heathrow then in the first place? If there was a fuel issue post departure, again they probably would of diverted to MAN, GLA, SNN, PIK, KEF or most likely YQX, YYT or YHZ before STN.

Only thing i can think of is a terror alert/ hijacking attempt, as STN is the diversion point set up for such eventualities, or at least used to be? (Ariana 727 back in what, 2000? went to STN as i recall). That would explain the replacement aircraft as well.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.