Airplanelover
Topic Author
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2001 9:04 am

Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 11:41 am

Hey, I havent posted in forever..

I'm traveling by myself for the first time, haven't flown in awhile. I was wondering how easy it is to connect through IAH on Continental. Is there any way you could find out what gates your flights would be at? How is Continental layed out at IAH?

Anyways if it helps here are my flight numbers..

PIT - IAH (June 1st)
Continental Airlines Flight 1876

IAH - ABQ (June 1st)
Continental Airlines Flight 740

ABQ - IAH (June 5th)
Continental Airlines Flight 1474

IAH - PIT (june 5th)
Continental Airlines Flight 1449

I guess the main thing that worries me is I only have a 31 minute layover returning through Houston.. How is Continental through Houston? Anyone care to share any experiences...

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated...
 
corey07850
Posts: 2335
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:33 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 11:56 am

You can get the gate numbers off the CO website the day before or the morning of (if you have time) through the flight status section on their homepage. It will also print out on your boarding pass when you check in. Keep in mind this does change frequently so verifiy it when you get off in IAH.

As for connecting in IAH, I've always found it simple to get around, but everything seems to be spread out so it could be a decent walk to get to your gate. 30 minutes may be cutting it pretty close if you were coming from EWR or other airports that generally have delays, but you should probably be ok as long as you don't mess around and everything is on time. Check the airport diagram in the CO magazine to plan your route to the next gate so you know where to go.
 
lincoln
Posts: 3133
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:22 pm

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 11:56 am

I'm sure one of the many IAH CO-faithful on here will set me straight, but my experience with CO connections at IAH has been exclusively in terminals 'C' and 'E' -- and invariably, whichever terminal I arrive in is not the one that my connection is departing out of.

I've also found that the gate assignments have a tendency to change -- at least with my connecting flights -- any time it looks like I'll have a nearby connection (that is, one that doesn't require a terminal change), the gate assignment changes  Sad

If you only have 31 minute connection be prepared to haul ass and take-no-prisoners. Don't be afraid of using the carts either -- I had one of the drivers demand that I get on last time I rolled through with a tight connection (first and only time I've done it) and it reduced the stress dramatically.

There's also suposedly a train of some kind, but I've never (had time to) find it.
CO Is My Airline of Choice || Baggage Claim is an airline's last chance to disappoint a customer || Next flts in profile
 
pdxcof9
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:27 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 11:58 am

Unless you take a delay, you should be fine. Both flights depart and arrive in the same terminal.
Flown:733,4,7,8,752,763,TU3,CRJ,7,EM2,ER3,4,318,19,346,M80,90 Worked:CRJ,7,9,EM2,ER4,733,5,7,8,9,752,3,318,9
 
MCOflyer
Posts: 7071
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:51 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 12:12 pm

I connected a year ago and its a pretty.layout. The people are nice and if you miss your flight asked to get rebooked.

Hunter
Never be afraid to stand up for who you are.
 
User avatar
iahcsr
Posts: 3631
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 1999 2:59 pm

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 12:29 pm

Quoting Pdxcof9 (Reply 3):
Both flights depart and arrive in the same terminal.

This is true in the sense that C/E ... and D too.. are essentially one big interconnected structure. But there is still a long walk to get from one end to the other. The terminalink train is really only of help between E and C14-26, otherwise walking is faster.
Oh, BTW, NW just moved over to Term A.. B is now all CoEx (Both ExpressJet and the Other One)
Working very hard to Fly Right....
 
LAXdude1023
Posts: 4460
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:16 pm

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 12:29 pm

Connecting at IAH is a breeze. I imagine that all of your flights will arrive and leave from Terminal C (maybe one from E, but thats mostly international). Terminal E is very nice as well, if you have a longer layover you can step over there and get some food or something.
It is what it is...
 
TSS
Posts: 2485
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:52 pm

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 12:37 pm

Quoting Lincoln (Reply 2):
If you only have 31 minute connection be prepared to haul ass and take-no-prisoners. Don't be afraid of using the carts either

Agreed 100%.
Able to kill active threads stone dead with a single post!
 
co777er
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:56 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 2:11 pm

If your going to be close on your connection b/c of a delay, talk with one of the Red Coat Representatives who will assist you if your plane is still at the gate. Your chances are much greater that they will hold the plane if the Rep alerts the gate crew that you are mins away.

If you have a descent layover because of a delay in IAH, go to the Terminal E food court. There is a Pappasitos, Ruby's (by Term. E security), and maybe even a Pappadeaux's.
 
ABQ747
Posts: 646
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:22 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 2:32 pm

Quoting Airplanelover (Thread starter):
ABQ - IAH (June 5th)
Continental Airlines Flight 1474

I will be on Flight 1474 on Monday, May 21st.  Smile
The reason New Mexico is so windy is because Texas sucks and Arizona blows.
 
BN727flyr
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:06 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 6:46 pm

As others have said, a 31 minute connection may be tight... but it's very do-able if you are not delayed inbound from ABQ on the 5th. I much prefer connecting on CO via IAH than, say, AA at DFW... and I've made plenty of connections through both facilities... but in my experience, things simply seem to flow a bit more smoothly through IAH on CO than they do through DFW on AA.

Enjoy your stay in ABQ and let us know how you did when you get back to PIT.
 
bnatraveler
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 10:10 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 9:18 pm

Connecting at IAH is indeed a breeze *UNLESS* you are connecting from an inbound flight that arrives at the dreaded B84. In that case, you'll have to wait for the ghetto bus to come to your hardstand and take you in to the bus terminal called B84. Often times, you wait and wait at the plane for some reason.
 
xjet
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:09 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 10:54 pm

You shouldn't have a problem. Looking at the flight numbers.....they are all mainline flights. So you won't have to get on a train to get to terminal B. You should only have to worry about C/E. There are a lot of domestic flights in E, but you will probably be in terminal C. In that case, it won't be a problem at all.
 
IAHFLYR
Posts: 3943
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:56 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Sun May 20, 2007 11:35 pm

All good information and true......but Lincoln is certainly correct with respect to the gates......you think you're right near the connecting gate only to find out instead you're on the other side of the airport, so DON'T bet on the gate printed on your boarding pass you printed at home, check it.

It would be very good for you to go here http://www.continental.com/web/en-US...ntent/travel/airport/maps/iah.aspx learn the layout of the airport, look at the above ground train from E to C as an alternative to hoofing it if your inbound gate is say in the E12-E24 area and you are leaving from C21 as an example....that train station is a really quick walk and dumps you off right on the north side of Terminal C.

Another thing to keep in mind, connection or not, CO is very good at wanting to get out of town on time so you'll find they are shutting the aircraft door and ready to go sometimes 10 minutes early.......so get to the gate quickly....they'll know your inbound flight is on the ground and will most likely the agent will be ready for you to get onboard if the flight is on schedule.

Enjoy your trip, let us know how it works out.  Smile
Any views shared are strictly my own and do not a represent those of any former employer.
 
AA737-823
Posts: 4905
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 11:10 am

RE: Connecting At IAH On Continental

Mon May 21, 2007 10:07 am

Dude,
rip out the airport terminal guide in the Continental magazine on your first flight. Take it with you, hold it in your hand, look at the boards, establish your connecting gates, and walk quickly. I did a 31-minute connection at IAH for Thanksgiving, and made it fine. And that was at Thanksgiving!