albird87
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:15 am

Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:38 pm

Hey folks
Been having a look at some of the major airlines around the world and most of the top airlines seem to have a premier economy. Now i know American Airlines is a pretty big airline with 46 (and 7 more on order) 777s. The 777 is getting an upgrade with the new biz class being installed and also the flagship first class suite being installed on all the 777s now so the 777 is the flagship of AA. I was wondering tho if AA could make there first small cabin of Y into a Y+ by putting there domestic first class seat (same seats as the one in the 738s) in a 2-3-2 (or maybe 2-4-2) into that cabin to try and add another level of comfort in their flagship.
It would work well i think as there domestic first class product is very comfortable and a good product. It could use the same food/beverage service of Y (but i think that would bring it down as its pretty terrible at the moment) and same flight attendants also.

This might also be good for say FF who are travelling in the back and if they were Explt or plt and there were free seats in Y+ at boarding then they would get a comp. upgrade. Also AA customers could then if they wanted also use AA's upgrade stickers to upgrade to this class (rather than the normal 25,000 miles to upgrade to biz- a bit of a bother when some of us travel AA and cant use them so having 79 upgrade stickers only available on domestic flights!!) and enjoy another level of comfort on the flagships.
Most of AAs 777s fly into LHR which has BA, VA and UA all having a Y+ product so this wouldnt be a bad idea for AA to try and match the service levels. I think it would also work on all their 777s routes and also it doesnt need much reasearch and development of a seat as they already have the seats in there domestic flights!

Your reviews please!!
Cheers
 
User avatar
Stitch
Posts: 23198
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:26 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:46 pm

Could they have it? Yes.

Would they have it? No.

For a number of years, AA had what they called MRTC - "More Room Throughout Coach" - where they removed one to two rows of seats and expanded legroom from 31" to 33-34". However, AA found they could not extract any fare premium and ended up actually losing revenue on each flight because they had one to two rows of seats less to sell. So after a few years, they ended the program, returned the rows, and shrunk the pitch.
 
UAL777UK
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:16 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:50 pm

Well all I can say is that Y+ has proven a massive success with those who use it on UA, but of course its not a separate cabin and you are not afforded a different service than that which is offered in Y. UA estimate that they will make an extra $100m this year on passengers upgrading to Y+ at the airport who want that extra legroom on a long haul flight. BA and VS however have a totally different cabin.
IMHO, you will never see AA do similar on any of the above, They offered "More Room In Coach" a few years ago , then ditched it almost immediately thereafter, sighting the fact they wanted extra revenue from more seats in the cabin.A mistake if you aske me, they should have gone a similar route to UA.
 
albird87
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:15 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:57 pm

Quoting Stitch (Reply 1):
For a number of years, AA had what they called MRTC - "More Room Throughout Coach" - where they removed one to two rows of seats and expanded legroom from 31" to 33-34". However, AA found they could not extract any fare premium and ended up actually losing revenue on each flight because they had one to two rows of seats less to sell. So after a few years, they ended the program, returned the rows, and shrunk the pitch.

Yeah but this was the same seat ann i dont think the price actually changed at all!! Also this was happening around the time of 9/11 and so when this happened, people didnt fly as much so AA needed the extra seats again to try and make money without adding a huge costs to there prices..
What im talking about is different and will be designed to be priced at a different level just like BA and VA seats
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:02 pm

...also, another problem with MRTC was it was for the entire Y-section of the plane.....adding 2-3 rows only might not be bad....
"Up the Irons!"
 
jfk777
Posts: 5861
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:23 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 7:21 am

Y+ raises another issue, Does AA need 16 First seats in their Suite 777's ? If Air France can do with 8 First seats on their 773ER AA could do with 8 too. I just wonder how many passengers pay for AA First or upgrade? IF AA did that they could add more BIZ to the 777 and a 2-4-2 Y+ of two or three rows.
 
User avatar
Stitch
Posts: 23198
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:26 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:38 am

Quoting Albird87 (Reply 3):
What im talking about is different and will be designed to be priced at a different level just like BA and VA seats

Understood. However, I do not think AA could cater to that group of people enough to make the investment worth it, to be honest. Folks who buy a top Economy fare on a US domestic carrier do so because they have to - they either need the flexibility to change/refund those fares offer or they're buying at the last moment and are taking whoever is convenient.

But I could very well be wrong.  Smile
 
jacobin777
Posts: 12262
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:29 pm

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:42 am

Quoting Stitch (Reply 6):

Understood. However, I do not think AA could cater to that group of people enough to make the investment worth it, to be honest. Folks who buy a top Economy fare on a US domestic carrier do so because they have to - they either need the flexibility to change/refund those fares offer or they're buying at the last moment and are taking whoever is convenient.

But I could very well be wrong.  Smile

I certainly think they can "test" it on a few "key" routes such as JFK-LHR and ORD-DEL....
"Up the Irons!"
 
UAL747
Posts: 6725
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 1999 5:42 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:49 am

Not to mention that AA has one of the lowest capacity 772ER's out there. So I don't see them adding another "class" of service anytime soon.

The AA 777 actually holds less passengers than its A300's, just to give you an idea. The 777 holds 224-245 pax, the A300 holds 267 pax.

UAL
"Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy. Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy.....Okay, fine, we'll just turn 190 and Visual Our Way
 
ConcordeBoy
Posts: 16852
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2001 8:04 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:53 am

Quoting UAL777UK (Reply 2):
then ditched it almost immediately thereafter,

..actually, they held on to it for about three years.
DL goes through liveries and US between bankruptcies faster than that  Wink
Faire du ciel le plus bel endroit de la terre c'est impossible sans Concorde!
 
dl767captain
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:51 am

RE: Could AA Have 4 Classes On 777?

Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:19 am

I like the ideas of Y+, I personally can not always afford nor do i want to pay that much more for a business class seat, but something the price between Y and business class would be really nice, doesn't have to be a different type of service but definately a different seat (that is the only problem i have with UA's Y+) but that might take too many seats away from the coach cabin, maybe if the plane was a little bigger like a 773 it could be more profitable, but i would really like for US airlines to add Y+

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: afterburner, AirAotearoa, BooDog, catdaddy63, CONTACREW, Dasa, dfwjim1, Google Adsense [Bot], GSPSPOT, KTPAFlyer, MAH4546, MarcoPoloWorld, MaverickM11, MrBretz, n757kw, PVD757, sunking737, UA444 and 200 guests