RAFVC10
Topic Author
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:48 pm

Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 10:57 pm

Dear colleagues,

My thoughts were that the Airbus A310 fleet were stored in Otopeni since 2004.

What's my surprise when my wife told me this morning that RO (I must to fly to BUH on August due to a job trip and from there to London) will fly on August this route with Airbus A310!!!!

Are there more schedules to operate this aircraft? What to expect about this aircraft? What about interiors?

Awaiting your comments.

Regards.

Gerard
El dia que los gilipollas vuelen, no podremos ver la luz del sol!
 
cornish
Posts: 7651
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:05 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:05 pm

Flew with RO last month - LHR-OTP. The A310 is not even listed in the fleet in the inflight magazine any more. I couldn't even see it at OTP. Are you sure it isn't a typo and its an A318 you would be flying on??
Just when I thought I could see light at the end of the tunnel, it was some B*****d with a torch bringing me more work
 
User avatar
Vio
Posts: 1475
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:23 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:07 pm

I've also heard that Tarom will be re-introducing their A310s starting July 22 2007, and they will be used on the Londong and Tel Aviv routes.

Regards,

Vio
Superior decisions reduce the need for superior skills.
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:15 pm

Tarom has introduced, in their latest edition of the inflight magazine, the A310 as part of their active fleet.

The current date for the first flight has, apparently been set as July 24th 2007 for YR-LCA and sometime in August for YR-LCB.

The routes will be indeed Tel Aviv and London, as well as Madrid.
 
User avatar
OA260
Posts: 21027
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:18 pm

The first A310 for LHR will be RO 392 27th July .
 
cornish
Posts: 7651
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:05 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:20 pm

Quoting Dc9northwest (Reply 3):
Tarom has introduced, in their latest edition of the inflight magazine, the A310 as part of their active fleet.

ah well that has changed since June then. As i have to do a few more LHR-OTP flights soon, this is good news  Smile
the 737-300s i flew on were usually full the last few times, i must admit.
Just when I thought I could see light at the end of the tunnel, it was some B*****d with a torch bringing me more work
 
RAFVC10
Topic Author
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:48 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:29 pm

Quoting Cornish (Reply 1):
Are you sure it isn't a typo and its an A318 you would be flying on??

Hi Cornish,

Business Class seat map is configured as a wide-body (2-3-2). I doubt tht the 318 configuration will be the same as the indicated... Big grin Big grin

Quoting Dc9northwest (Reply 3):
The routes will be indeed Tel Aviv and London, as well as Madrid.

Hi Dc9northwest,

Madrid is not scheduled as 310 operations. Only scheduled as 737 destination.

Regards,

Gerard
El dia que los gilipollas vuelen, no podremos ver la luz del sol!
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:34 pm

Quoting RAFVC10 (Reply 6):
Madrid is not scheduled as 310 operations. Only scheduled as 737 destination.

True as of now. However, a more or less official statement... Or was it a statement from a RO official... (Romanian style) mentioned those three destinations for the A310's. Since they're not quite sure when they'll get the second A310 back, TAROM probably won't schedule it yet... Plus, they're infamous for last minute changes.
 
User avatar
Vasu
Posts: 2943
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:34 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

New livery on the A310?
 
RAFVC10
Topic Author
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:48 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:44 am

Quoting Dc9northwest (Reply 7):
Since they're not quite sure when they'll get the second A310 back, TAROM probably won't schedule it yet

Hi Dc9northwest,

From where will come back YR-LCA or YR-LCB? Is wet-leased?

Regards,

Gerard
El dia que los gilipollas vuelen, no podremos ver la luz del sol!
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:01 am

Both recently had their D-checks in Toulouse... But they're not returning at the same time.
 
eyflyer88
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:48 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:40 pm

A little off topic but why did RO pull their JFK service?
There is no sport equal to that which aviators enjoy while being carried through the air on great white wings. - Wilbur
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:07 pm

Quoting EYFlyer88 (Reply 11):
A little off topic but why did RO pull their JFK service?

The A310's had problems in making a non-stop journey to JFK if fully-loaded... And RO decided a scheduled refueling stop was better than an "emergency" landing due to fuel shortage. The stop in Timisoara or Satu Mare or any other city (such as LUX) made the flight not any more convenient than transferring in an European city... Plus, the A310 is not really the most fuel-efficient of planes; even a 100% LF might not ensure a profit. Indeed, they were losing money; the 310's D-checks would've put them in bankruptcy (well... see AZ).

(even more off-topic: the expensive Empire State Building office didn't help RO... Money.  Yeah sure)
 
User avatar
viasa
Posts: 1430
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:29 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:22 am

Why they have de-registrated the both aircrafts?

636 A310-325(ET) F-WQAV Stored at Bordeaux (BOD) [former YR-LCA]
644 A310-325(ET) F-WQAX Stored at Bordeaux (BOD) [former YR-LCB]

So I'm not sure if they really would be back in service soon.
 
connector4you
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 10:27 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:26 am

Accordingly to Amadeus's time table, Tarom's daily flight between Bucharest Otopeni and London Heathrow will be operated with an Airbus 310-324 during the month of August 2007.

Bucharest to London

Flight 1 Wednesday, August 01, 2007

Departure: 09:55 Bucharest, Romania - Otopeni International
Arrival: 11:30 London, United Kingdom - Heathrow, terminal 2
Airline: Tarom RO391 e
Aircraft: Airbus Industrie A310


London to Bucharest

Flight 1 Friday, August 31, 2007

Departure: 12:30 London, United Kingdom - Heathrow, terminal 2
Arrival: 17:50 Bucharest, Romania - Otopeni International
Airline: Tarom RO392 e
Aircraft: Airbus Industrie A310

Quoting Viasa (Reply 13):
Why they have de-registrated the both aircrafts?

636 A310-325(ET) F-WQAV Stored at Bordeaux (BOD) [former YR-LCA]
644 A310-325(ET) F-WQAX Stored at Bordeaux (BOD) [former YR-LCB]

Since both aircraft were stored for more than three years at OTP, Tarom were reluctant to take the risk of flying them for "D CHECKS" under own registration. I assume that a compromise between Airbus and Tarom has been reached where Airbus specialists were sent down to Bucharest to monitor aircraft parameters prior to flying them under manufacturer registration to Tulouse.

Quoting RAFVC10 (Thread starter):
What about interiors?

Few years back I flown both A310 aircraft on a return JFK-TSR. The entertainment system in Y is no different from your average transatlantic wide-body aircraft, including the "classy" big screen + small monitors to the back of the bus. Not a word in the media about aircraft refurbishment along with the D check. What is to be noted here is the late deployment of the A310 aircraft on LHR route, planned initially on early July.
 
An225
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 6:37 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:17 pm

Hi guys,
I have booked yesterday a flight TLV-OTP on September 9th and return on the 27th, both opt with A310. When I got to the seat selection I got a very strange cabin layout. Apperantly, in the Economy Restricted section you have a 3-aisle cross-section: AB-C-DEF-GH. This is the case from row 4 to 22.

Do you think that this is a mistake? or maybe such a cabin layout is valid?

Thanks,

An225
 
User avatar
viasa
Posts: 1430
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:29 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:15 pm

Here is the first picture of the A310 back in service. Now also in the new colors of Tarom:

http://www.skyliner-aviation.de/photos/01yrlca.jpg
 
PanHAM
Posts: 8533
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 6:44 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:17 pm

Quoting Connector4you (Reply 14):
operated with an Airbus 310-324 during the month of August 2007

They must have started earlier, I have seen a Tarom A310 at LHR yesterday July 31.
powered by Eierlikör
 
Zander
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 7:16 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:10 pm

Great news about the re-introduction of A310 if you ask me. I hope to get some shots of those great birds soon, I didn't have the luck last time Tarom operated them. Hope they stay in the fleet for a while now then...
 
USADreamliner
Posts: 1211
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:33 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:04 am

From Skyliner:

"Tarom has returned the first of two A310-300s after a major overhaul back to service with aircraft wearing now the revised livery known from the A318. "



http://www.skyliner-aviation.de/viewphoto.main?LC=nav2&picid=3972
 
TUGMASTER
Posts: 795
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:29 pm

Morning all,

Indeed Tarom have an A310 back in service,

last week, twice saw LCA taxing past, looks like she has had the full works done,....absolutley beautiful.


rgds

T
 
StevenG
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:19 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:19 am

Have the A310's been stored all the time since the fatal crash near OTP back in 1995 ?

I recall another bizarre incident with a RO A310. I think it was in that same year when the aircraft suddenly dropped out of the sky during final approach. Just like a leaf falling from a tree.
Only at the very last moment the crew managed to regain control. Must have been near CDG or ORY.
Does anyone know what cause that incident?
 
A342
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:05 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:35 am

Quoting An225 (Reply 15):
When I got to the seat selection I got a very strange cabin layout. Apperantly, in the Economy Restricted section you have a 3-aisle cross-section: AB-C-DEF-GH. This is the case from row 4 to 22.

Do you think that this is a mistake? or maybe such a cabin layout is valid?

Should be a mistake.
Exceptions confirm the rule.
 
EHRD
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:47 pm

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:43 am

Quoting StevenG (Reply 21):
I recall another bizarre incident with a RO A310. I think it was in that same year when the aircraft suddenly dropped out of the sky during final approach. Just like a leaf falling from a tree.
Only at the very last moment the crew managed to regain control. Must have been near CDG or ORY.
Does anyone know what cause that incident?

I remember that. This was caught on camera, I saw that on tv. I believe I still have that somewhere on an old VHS tape. Here you can read more about it: http://ufcna.com/DOS2tarom24101994.html
 
BAW076
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 7:14 am

RE: Tarom Airbus A310

Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:12 am

Quoting PanHAM (Reply 17):
They must have started earlier, I have seen a Tarom A310 at LHR yesterday July 31.

I was at LHR on Saturday 28th July, and I was next to 27R where arrivals were, and it came in. I didn't even know that RO had any A310's, so it was a nice surprise!
N754AN (x2), G-CPEL, G-MIDE, G-BPEC, G-BZHC, EI-DCH, LN-KKN, G-VIIW, G-BNLT, G-DBCA, G-MEDE, G-DBCE, G-MIDP.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alski, AT, AT72, Bing [Bot], DC1979, flyingclrs727, GBerg, jambrain, Jetty, LAX772LR, LeCoqFrancais, MAH4546, Norlander, res77W, SamoNYC, SESGDL, StTim, trex8, TWA772LR, wingman, zmiko and 357 guests