dtwclipper
Posts: 6668
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:17 am

NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:39 am

The last two times I have connected at CDG it has been pretty nasty.

Call me a gluten for punishment, but I'm doing again in January '08 (DTW-CDG-VIE, MUC-AMS-MEM-DTW) on WorldPerk Award tks in WBC.


Have there been any improvements for transfer pax? Does/will NW still park at a hardstand or do they have gates now?
Compare New York Air, the Airline that works for your Business
 
jouy31
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 4:59 pm

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:20 am

Difficult to say, at this stage, whether NW will have a gate in January 2008 as the new satellite, S3 is not fully opened yet, but will be by then, with another interim phase in October. Flights to VIE will be unchanged, leaving from 2D.
 
Jano
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:48 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:44 am

Quoting Dtwclipper (Thread starter):
Have there been any improvements for transfer pax? Does/will NW still park at a hardstand or do they have gates now?

I was flying VIE-CDG-DTW-TYS on July 10 2007. The NW50 flight departed from some kind of 2E remote terminal. I had to take a bus from 2E to this remote terminal. There was an AF business lounge there (no shower) and we were boarding the A330 from the gate (we were not bused).
The Widget Air Line :)
 
dtwclipper
Posts: 6668
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:17 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:45 am

Quoting Jouy31 (Reply 1):
Difficult to say, at this stage, whether NW will have a gate in January 2008 as the new satellite, S3 is not fully opened yet, but will be by then, with another interim phase in October. Flights to VIE will be unchanged, leaving from 2D.

Thanks!
So, does this mean that regardless of where NW 50 arrives, we still have to exit one terminal and pass through security again?

Quoting Jano (Reply 2):
The NW50 flight departed from some kind of 2E remote terminal. I had to take a bus from 2E to this remote terminal. There was an AF business lounge there (no shower) and we were boarding the A330 from the gate (we were not bused).

I had to do that last year as well, I was kind of hoping that things had gotten better.
Compare New York Air, the Airline that works for your Business
 
Dtw757
Posts: 1270
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:05 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:27 am

I just flew CDG-DTW in WBC yesterday. We left from gate E72 in Terminal 2. When we arrived we also arrived at almost the same gate and not a remote stand. I'm not sure if it works that way all the time.

I want to add that we also used the Air France lounge near the gate and it was awesome! I'm sort of thinking that it was rather new though I can't be certain. There was some media there filming and interviewing passengers. Also we filled out a questionaire about what we thought of the lounge. There was everything we needed there including showers.

[Edited 2007-08-18 01:32:38]
721,2,732,3,4,5,G,8,9,741,2,3,4,752,3,762,3,4,772,3,788,D93,5,M80,D10,M11,L10,100,AB6,319,20,21,332,3,346,388,146,CR2,7,
 
teva
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2001 12:31 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:12 pm

Quoting Dtwclipper (Reply 3):
Thanks!
So, does this mean that regardless of where NW 50 arrives, we still have to exit one terminal and pass through security again?

CDG is your point of entry in the Schengen area. Basically, it is equivalent to your return flt, with MEM as the entry point in the US and then a domestic flt to DTW.
You have to clear customs first, then security for te domestic flt.
I just hope that with the new satellite fully operational, your CDG experiece will be nicer.

Teva
Ecoute les orgues, Elles jouent pour toi...C'est le requiem pour un con
 
dtwclipper
Posts: 6668
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:17 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:23 pm

Quoting Teva (Reply 5):
CDG is your point of entry in the Schengen area. Basically, it is equivalent to your return flt, with MEM as the entry point in the US and then a domestic flt to DTW.
You have to clear customs first, then security for te domestic flt.

Yes, I know that, but in other facilities in Europe, (AMS for one) one doesn't need to exit the sterile zone, and re-enter.

But that really wasn't the point of my question.

I just wanted to know if the NW/AF connections had gotten smoother by not having to do the "hard stand" parking.

I'm flip flopping on the issue though, cause it is really cool to board through those stairs and get a good look at the A/C on one hand, on the other, it's a pain to have to run through CDG just to make a skyteam to skyteam connection.


BTW....in February when I did this same trip, I wanted to snap a few shots at the bottom of the stairs to the plane, but security was "really against" that and told me no pictures. What's up with that/
Compare New York Air, the Airline that works for your Business
 
Dtw757
Posts: 1270
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:05 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sat Aug 18, 2007 11:49 pm

Quoting Dtwclipper (Reply 6):
BTW....in February when I did this same trip, I wanted to snap a few shots at the bottom of the stairs to the plane, but security was "really against" that and told me no pictures. What's up with that/

I had that exact same experience this week flying CDG-MXP. I was able to take a couple of pics before they said something but they told me to put the camera away. That seems silly to me that a passenger is not allowed to take a photo of the airplane they are about to travel on.
721,2,732,3,4,5,G,8,9,741,2,3,4,752,3,762,3,4,772,3,788,D93,5,M80,D10,M11,L10,100,AB6,319,20,21,332,3,346,388,146,CR2,7,
 
STJ
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:19 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:31 am

Quoting Dtwclipper (Reply 6):
Yes, I know that, but in other facilities in Europe, (AMS for one) one doesn't need to exit the sterile zone, and re-enter.

When I went through AMS in December (MSP-AMS-CDG) we had to go through customs then through security to get to the gate where my KLM flight was leaving out of.
 
bobnwa
Posts: 4471
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2000 12:10 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:35 am

Quoting STJ (Reply 8):
When I went through AMS in December (MSP-AMS-CDG) we had to go through customs then through security to get to the gate where my KLM flight was leaving out of.

You might have gone thru customs but not security in AMS.
 
STJ
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:19 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:45 am

Quoting Bobnwa (Reply 9):
You might have gone thru customs but not security in AMS.

I'm pretty sure it was security, metal detector and etc. I distincly remember them saying the bag for my liquids was to big and made me change it to the European standard plastic bag. This was after we went through customs.
 
mindscape
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 10:28 pm

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:03 pm

Quoting Bobnwa (Reply 9):
You might have gone thru customs but not security in AMS



Quoting STJ (Reply 10):
I'm pretty sure it was security, metal detector and etc. I distincly remember them saying the bag for my liquids was to big and made me change it to the European standard plastic bag. This was after we went through customs.

Yes you do have to go through it again. Security control has been reinforced. Now coming from an international flight and having a connecting flight to the Shengen area, you have to clear immigration control and security control again.
 
BHMNONREV
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:17 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:11 pm

Quoting Mindscape (Reply 11):
Quoting Bobnwa (Reply 9):
You might have gone thru customs but not security in AMS



Quoting STJ (Reply 10):
I'm pretty sure it was security, metal detector and etc. I distincly remember them saying the bag for my liquids was to big and made me change it to the European standard plastic bag. This was after we went through customs.

Yes you do have to go through it again. Security control has been reinforced. Now coming from an international flight and having a connecting flight to the Shengen area, you have to clear immigration control and security control again

Yes sir, you are correct. Any non-Schengen going to Schengen goes thru Passport Control then Security to get to the B and C gates, where all Schengen flights depart from. Any other flights will get security at the gate...
 
jouy31
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 4:59 pm

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:35 am

Quoting Dtwclipper (Reply 3):
So, does this mean that regardless of where NW 50 arrives, we still have to exit one terminal and pass through security again?

In CDG, as well as in several other European airports, such as FCO, VIE, ATH, you always clear security when boarding a flight, whether you are connecting from another flight or not.

And yes, regardless of the exact stand/gate used by NW50, you will need to clear immigration, go landside, walk toward 2D and clear security to enter the gates area in 2D.
 
bobnwa
Posts: 4471
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2000 12:10 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:46 am

Quoting Jouy31 (Reply 13):
And yes, regardless of the exact stand/gate used by NW50, you will need to clear immigration, go landside, walk toward 2D and clear security to enter the gates area in 2D.

Do you have to claim your luggage, clear customs and then re check it?
 
dtwclipper
Posts: 6668
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:17 am

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:14 am

Quoting BHMNONREV (Reply 12):
Yes sir, you are correct. Any non-Schengen going to Schengen goes thru Passport Control then Security to get to the B and C gates, where all Schengen flights depart from. Any other flights will get security at the gate...

Thanks, I hadn't realized that this had changed in AMS.

Quoting Bobnwa (Reply 14):
Do you have to claim your luggage, clear customs and then re check it?

No.
Compare New York Air, the Airline that works for your Business
 
jouy31
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 4:59 pm

RE: NW>AF @ CDG In Jan '08

Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:52 am

Quoting Bobnwa (Reply 14):
Do you have to claim your luggage, clear customs and then re check it?

No, you may be stopped for a check of your carry-ons, but this has not happened to me for at least the past six years  Wink