shane

Emirates Economy - Advance Seat Assignments

Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:04 am

Hello,

I'm posting this question for a friend who has tickets in Economy on Emirates LHR - DXB - DEL then back DEL - DXB - JFK. He plans to earn UA Mileage Plus miles for this trip. But when trying to get advance seat assignments, EK denied the request saying he must be a member of their mileage program to do so.

Here's my question: What if he signs up for the Emirates "Skywards" program, gets his seats assigned, then when checking in, he asks to have is frequent flyer number changed to the UA Mileage Plus account? In my experience, this wouldn't be a problem on most carriers, but I have no experience with EK.

Of course the concern is that they'll refuse and force him to get the Emirates miles which he'll never use...

What do you all think?

-S

OA260

RE: Emirates Economy - Advance Seat Assignments

Tue Sep 25, 2007 5:06 am

Quoting Shane (Thread starter):
What do you all think?

Well I would risk it . Once seat assignments were made they could call up the next day and get the FF number changed. Also at check in they could show the UA card and make sure it came out on the boarding cards. If not they could get them to re issue them with the correct number on .

I have never had any issues getting FF numbers changed when there has been another in the booking.

shane

Tue Sep 25, 2007 5:38 am

Quoting OA260 (Reply 1):
I have never had any issues getting FF numbers changed when there has been another in the booking.

That's been my experience as well, but apparently the Emirates agent on the phone was quite strict on this rule. I was hoping to hear from someone with direct experience with the airline...

Birdwatching

Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:21 am

When I flew FRA-DXB-JNB and back about a year ago, I could even change my seats online on a seat map - is this no longer possible? My tickets were not even purchased on the web site but on Orbitz.

Soren  santahat