stealth777
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:48 pm

A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:42 pm

Just wondering how many of the A380 airports have the triple jetways installed for the aircraft. SFO has one set installed currently and should have a total of 4 installed, 2 on the G side and 2 on the A side. Here is a picture I took when the aircraft was doing its ground testing at SFO (sorry about the poor non-airliners.net quality, sun was not in the ideal position for me). I may be wrong in this but I believe SFO is currently the only airport in the US with the triple jetway system.

-stealth

p.s. Let me know what you think of the picture. Thanks.




[Edited 2007-10-27 10:58:18]
 
PC12Fan
Posts: 1968
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:50 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:16 pm

I'm not sure of other airports, but here is another configuration.

http://www.tkaps.com/nextgenerationpic.htm
Just when I think you've said the stupidest thing ever, you keep talkin'!
 
mestrugo
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:07 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:02 pm

Let's just hope that the airport authorities have at least the common sense to make a line for every jetway instead of making a HUGE line and then sort people depending on their seat. It may sound silly, but I see it coming. :b
 
FlySSC
Posts: 5179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:38 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:23 pm

CDG has 6 parking stands designed for the A380 with a triple jetways at the brand new satellite S3, opened last June.
 
speedbird2263
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:07 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:48 pm

Quoting PC12Fan (Reply 1):

I find the first schematic interesting, Im not quite sure if that set up would be more efficient than the current M1,M2 & U2 arrangement though, it may very well offer the same level of efficiency for a somewhat more expensive design. If I remember correctly, JXB has planned to install at least triple Jet-bridges at all its A380 gates.

With the seemingly "unlimited" cash flow it'd would be nice to see them incorporate the quad-Jet bridge design. I saw it in an airport planning document relating to the A380, its basically the current triple design being used incorporating an over-wing bridge as well as in the schematic shown by PC12Fan .

[Edited 2007-10-27 14:49:59]
Straight'n Up 'N Fly Right Son ;)
 
flyboeingjets
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 1999 1:43 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:21 pm

Nice picture. I don't think any airports right now besides SFO in the US have triples. Only in the past few years have we even seen the return of duals at some of the newer US airport terminals.

Some of the old JFK IAB gates had triples, but the thing is, I don't think I ever saw a picture where all three jetways were being utilized. It was always just one or two in use. On a 747, it would have been the L1 L2 & L4 doors....L4 being accessed by an OTW bridge much like what AMS has.
 
7e72004
Posts: 3440
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:15 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:24 pm

That is a good picture. I used to think it was something to see two jetways used. On a side note, they should make Airplane III using the A380  Big grin
The next generation of aircraft is just around the corner!
 
User avatar
OA260
Posts: 20983
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:24 pm

Nice photo but it would be nice if the jetways were glass like in TLS . Those really are nice bridges.
 
7e72004
Posts: 3440
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:15 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:40 pm

Do the A380s have to have specialized baggage claim areas built? I cannot imagine standing in a "normal" claim in LAX or JFK, etc. with all of those people.
"
The next generation of aircraft is just around the corner!
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13730
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:52 pm

Quad would be ridiculous. Triple is overkill already. But 2 jetways are perfectly fine if they are designed so the second lifts higher and goes to the upper deck on the A380, or lowers to be the "2 door" jetway for single decker planes.

Certain airlines/airports will of course use the 3rd to segregate pax into a "premium boarding area" where they need not mingle with the rif-raf in Y.

But considering it doesn't take that long to board a 450 seat QF 743 from ONE jetway (since it has a wide door and two aisles, and boarding at 2L means many pax turn L), the need for 3 jetways for an A380 with 475 seats is greatly exaggerated, and I think over time you'll see airports install only 2 to save money, with the 2nd being of the type that can raise to the upper deck. Boarding will be via L2L and U1L.
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
Leezyjet
Posts: 3540
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:26 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:57 pm

That photo in the link is of the jetbridges on stand 342 at LHR T3 !!. I remember just after they came into service, I raised the one nearest the camera up as high as it would go. It was amusing seeing the look on the 747 Capt's face as he taxied onto stand and I was at the same height he was !!. They were so used to looking down onto the jetbridges that it had taken him by surprise !!.

All the A380 gates at LHR have the standard 2 jet bridges.

 Smile
"She Rolls, 45 knots, 90, 135, nose comes up to 20 degrees, she's airborne - She flies, Concorde Flies"
 
flexo
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:55 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:01 pm

Quoting Ikramerica (Reply 9):
Certain airlines/airports will of course use the 3rd to segregate pax into a "premium boarding area" where they need not mingle with the rif-raf in Y.

I think that is exactly what happened in the scenario pictured by the OP. The first jetbridge seems to serve that "premium passenger" purpose. For fast turnarounds jetbridges 101C and 101A are way too close together.
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13730
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:41 pm

Quoting Flexo (Reply 11):
I think that is exactly what happened in the scenario pictured by the OP. The first jetbridge seems to serve that "premium passenger" purpose.

I think it's planned in the new DXB airport that there will be a whole terminal floor devoted to the premium pax. Basically a giant lounge or set of lounges. The premium jetway would be attached to this floor directly, with the other two jetways attached to the main "rif raf" floor.

But for practical purposes, it's just not necassary to have 3. 2 is plenty. Many airports board 777s and A330/340s with 1 jetway. So if you think of the main deck of the A380 as 77W and the upper as an A340-200, 2 jetways should be plenty, right?
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
caspritz78
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:51 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:11 am

Don't forget if the jetbridges' layout is somehow smart that you can handle at least tow 737, 320 or similar at the gate. Remember that from CDG where two AF 737 used the same gate. Left jetbridge was to DUS (if I remember right) and right bridge was to FRA.
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 7982
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:19 am

I believe that SFO will probably get a second triple jetbridge gate (most likely on the Concourse G side) some time in 2008. They only need one for now given that it will service the Singapore Airlines A380's once they starting using the plane on the SQ 001/002 route (SIN to SFO via HKG).
 
User avatar
legacyins
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 1:11 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:30 am

Quoting Stealth777 (Thread starter):
p.s. Let me know what you think of the picture. Thanks.

Thanks for the picture. Gives a great perspective.
 
joffie
Posts: 814
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:45 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:11 am

I thought there was a picture at Sydney with tripple jetways. Is in the database somewhere.
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:09 am

What about overwing jetways at e.g. AMS? Could those be used for deboarding of A380s, if they were to come to AMS on a regular basis? Or can AMS's jetways only be used for 747s?
 
HSV
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 5:07 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:23 am

Quoting Mestrugo (Reply 2):
Let's just hope that the airport authorities have at least the common sense to make a line for every jetway instead of making a HUGE line and then sort people depending on their seat.

In Singapore for the first commercial flight there was only 1 queue... and then there was a sign where the jetways split to indicate whether that particular jetway led to the main deck or the upper deck.

Quoting 7E72004 (Reply 8):
Do the A380s have to have specialized baggage claim areas built?

On arrival into Sydney, bags for Suites, Business and priority passengers came out on carousel 4 while the bags for everyone else came out on carousel 3. So basically, nothing special has been built for the A380... they just use 2 carousels instead.
 
WingedMigrator
Posts: 1767
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:45 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:30 am

Cool pic.

Quoting Speedbird2263 (Reply 4):
I find the first schematic interesting, Im not quite sure if that set up would be more efficient than the current M1,M2 & U2 arrangement

The schematics are also interesting because they show the older configuration of the A380, when it was still supposed to have a door at the front of the upper deck. That door was deleted from the A388 to save weight, but will be featured on the A389 (if built).
 
laca773
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:10 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:20 am

Quoting Stealth777 (Thread starter):
p.s. Let me know what you think of the picture. Thanks.

Great photo, Stealth777. Will you be placing it in the data base here on A.net?

Does anyone know if the 388 gates @ LAX will be dual bridges or will they do it with three? It was hard for me to tell when I flew in last week from ORD as I just saw the steel frame.

LACA773
 
speedbird2263
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:07 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:03 am

Quoting WingedMigrator (Reply 19):

Good observation Wink It certainly didnt click to me that the schematic was showing more doors on the Upperdeck than there should be. I agree that that door would most definately be added on the A389 if and when its built. Although Ikramerica pointed out earlier that a quad jet-way system would be rather unnecessary, I'll admit that it would be quite something to see in operation, if i recall from the planning document I had read sometime ago, the configuration would most likely be M1L, M4L, U1L and U3L.
Straight'n Up 'N Fly Right Son ;)
 
GBan
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:10 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:20 am

Quoting 7E72004 (Reply 8):
Do the A380s have to have specialized baggage claim areas built? I cannot imagine standing in a "normal" claim in LAX or JFK, etc. with all of those people.



Quoting HSV (Reply 18):
On arrival into Sydney, bags for Suites, Business and priority passengers came out on carousel 4 while the bags for everyone else came out on carousel 3. So basically, nothing special has been built for the A380... they just use 2 carousels instead.

Now that's a boring solution, isn't it?  Wink
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13730
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:24 am

Quoting GBan (Reply 22):
Now that's a boring solution, isn't it?

They do the same at LAX for the 744s. At least in my experience.

Of course my bag didn't come out at all. They told me after I waited the whole time that it was on a different flight...
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:35 am

Quoting Ikramerica (Reply 12):
The premium jetway would be attached to this floor directly, with the other two jetways attached to the main "rif raf" floor.

That is really only supportable if all premium seats are located on the second floor. Otherwise, boarding the upstairs Business section is done most efficiently from door 1 and up the staircase.

NS
 
BA0284
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:09 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:55 pm

Out of interest, which gates on the A side at SFO will have the triple airbridge configuration? If BA use the A380 to SFO, the BA terraces lounge is currently situated between gates A4 and A6, and currently has the ability to board through the lounge to the air bridges on these gates (for Club World, First, Silver Member etc). If the triple air bridge wont be at either of these gates, and BA decides to use the 380 to SFO, then they wont be able to board through the lounge....? It'll be interesting to see where they place them!

anyway, my main question is which gates on the A side at SFO will have the triple airbridge? Does anyone know yet?

Thanks!
BA0284
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 7982
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:42 pm

BA0284,

I think only the gates at the very end of Concourse A at SFO will get the triple jet bridges, because they were designed with the 80 x 80 meter parking space in mind. BA could ask to move their lounge to near these gates, if they're willing to pay SFO for the construction and moving costs.
 
ikramerica
Posts: 13730
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:33 am

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:07 pm

Quoting Gigneil (Reply 24):
That is really only supportable if all premium seats are located on the second floor.

Actually, we are talking about jetway "A" here, the one that attaches to door 1L. This door has access to the grand staircase which brings you up to business cabin as well as direct access to F (and more J if they put it on the main deck behind F as well).

For anyone who can't climb the stairs due to health, I would assume they plan on an elevator/lift that would connect the upper lounge with the lower boarding area, or a ramp in the jetway support structure that goes to the other two jetways (for VIPs that just happen to be in Y, for ground staff to navigate, etc.)
Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
 
stealth777
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:48 pm

RE: A380 And The Triple Jetways

Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:16 pm

Quoting BA0284 (Reply 25):
anyway, my main question is which gates on the A side at SFO will have the triple airbridge? Does anyone know yet?

From what I have heard it would be at the very end, identical to the layout on the G side. When I go back to work next week I'll check and see how the boarding area is set up at G101, but I believe there is nothing different inside the terminal. So the 1st class would be in line with the business whom would be in line with the Y class passengers. The only difference I have seen in SFO is door 1 from the terminal is for 1st and Business and door 2 is for the Y-cabin. Once all the premium pax are on board (or the majority of them) the airlines then use both doors for boarding to speed up the process.

-Stealth