eajpecrca

BA Muffin "theft" Results In Suspension

Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:53 pm

A BA steward was appparently hungry and ate a muffin that would have been discarded. He was accused of theft. This instance is a bit over the top as presented, but it made me think about the issue of employee accountability. I'm sure there is more to this story than shows up in the article.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/a...+passenger's+meal+tray/article.do

The article raises some questions for me. I used to work as a manager in a supermarket. Shoplifting was always a problem, of course, but I had to watch the employees too! How strict are airlines with regard to inventory of goods on their planes? I can imagine low paid FA's considering pocketing a soda or some wine. How often do such thefts occur? How do employers react to such pilfering?

airfoilsguy

RE: BA Muffin "theft" Results In Suspension

Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:57 pm

A BA spokesman said: "It is half-baked to suggest we are suspending someone over a muffin. It would be inappropriate to comment further at this stage."

In other words there is more to this story then meets the eye.
It's not a near miss it's a near hit!!

OA260

Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:58 pm

Quoting Eajpecrca (Thread starter):
A BA steward was appparently hungry and ate a muffin that would have been discarded. He was accused of theft.

Just shows how BA has gone to the dogs with all this PC Cr@p. First you cant wear a cross and now they think so little of their employees that a muffin that is being thrown away cant be eaten by their own staff!!!!

Maybe time to walk off the job and put manners on BA management . Im not in favor of strikes normally but BA would be asking for it of they got one !!!

futurecaptain

Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:59 pm

So, a muffin destined for the trash anyway, then eaten by an employee, is theft? That is one of the strictest policies I've ever heard. If something is going in the trash anyway I say let the employee eat it.