tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:21 am

United has some of the latest OAG additions added to their route map online -- One of them is SFO-IND operated by CO. Can anybody confirm that this will be an eventual routing?

http://cgi.ua.flightlookup.com/routemap/routemap-fullscreen.html
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
point2point
Posts: 2080
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:54 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:49 am

Quoting TOMMY767 (Thread starter):
United has some of the latest OAG additions added to their route map online -- One of them is SFO-IND operated by CO. Can anybody confirm that this will be an eventual routing?

http://cgi.ua.flightlookup.com/route....html

You're correct, it does show up on the route map. How long has this been on, would you know?

Okay, my theory (probably a bad one at that, very bad in fact, but here goes....) is that CO will begin the route. It was just added to the route map yesterday, with an announcement to be made today. But with all of the AA BK news, UA decided to hold off on the announcement, fearing it would get lost with today's big news.

Okay, bad, very bad theory.......

 
 
tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:23 am

Quoting point2point (Reply 1):

You're correct, it does show up on the route map. How long has this been on, would you know?

I've got no idea. I just saw it tonight when I was bored and surfed through the route map under SFO direct routes.

I would have expected that this would have been announced with the recent round of OAG adds. But perhaps they are trying to figure out the proper aircraft before they make it official. The map says it will be operated by CO metal so best guess is 1x 73G or 738.

According to UA.com there are a few adds that didn't make it to OAG but are still bookable on the website. Two examples are 1x LAX/PHX-EWR on UA metal. So perhaps SFO-IND is a delayed announcement until later in the winter.
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
dumbell2424
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:45 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:09 am

Strangely enough, if you type SFO to IND in the boxes at the top, the nonstop doesn't show up. Just connecting thru ORD or DEN
 
User avatar
calpsafltskeds
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:29 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:20 am

Quoting TOMMY767 (Reply 2):
I would have expected that this would have been announced with the recent round of OAG adds. But perhaps they are trying to figure out the proper aircraft before they make it official. The map says it will be operated by CO metal so best guess is 1x 73G or 738.

According to UA.com there are a few adds that didn't make it to OAG but are still bookable on the website. Two examples are 1x LAX/PHX-EWR on UA metal. So perhaps SFO-IND is a delayed announcement until later in the winter.

It just looks like IND-SFO maybe an error to me. IND has just RJs now and could UA/CO operate IND-SFO with an RJ?

Regarding the website routes, LAX-PHX is shown. PHX-EWR is shown eastbound only UA, Westbound CO only. In many cases blue and gold , blue and gray or gray and gold are shown with one looking like an outline.
sites.google.com/site/unitedfleetsite/
 
COSPN
Posts: 1535
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:33 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:34 am

CO has the 737 IND-IAH and is a CO Mainline Station so IND-SFO would be great ..
 
Superfly
Posts: 37735
Joined: Thu May 11, 2000 8:01 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:53 am

Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 4):
IND has just RJs now and could UA/CO operate IND-SFO with an RJ?

I certainly hope not. That is too long to fly on an RJ.
I've done SFO-DEN-IND.
At that time it was a 747-400 from SFO-DEN, then a 757 from DEN-IND.
Now the DEN-IND segment has been downgraded to an RJ.
The 747 occasionally makes an appearance on the SFO-DEN segment. I think United has used every kind of aircraft on the SFO-DEN segment and often times has wide-bodies.

[Edited 2011-11-30 00:55:25]
Bring back the Concorde
 
Goldenshield
Posts: 5005
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2001 3:45 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:09 pm

Quoting Superfly (Reply 6):
Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 4):
IND has just RJs now and could UA/CO operate IND-SFO with an RJ?

I certainly hope not. That is too long to fly on an RJ.

It's well outside the range of the CRJ-700/900 (with a full load,) let alone the -200. No idea on the E-170 or E-145XR, though.
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.
 
tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:19 pm

Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 4):
Regarding the website routes, LAX-PHX is shown. PHX-EWR is shown eastbound only UA, Westbound CO only. In many cases blue and gold , blue and gray or gray and gold are shown with one looking like an outline.

LAX-PHX and EWR are bookable on United.com from April onwards with United metal, eastbound only (don't ask me why.)

Quoting Goldenshield (Reply 7):
It's well outside the range of the CRJ-700/900 (with a full load,) let alone the -200. No idea on the E-170 or E-145XR, though.

I honestly don't think the CR7/CR9s have the legs for SFO-IND. Delta operates LAX-IND using a 320 -- if they could I'm sure they would try to fly an E170 on the route.

Quoting Superfly (Reply 6):
At that time it was a 747-400 from SFO-DEN, then a 757 from DEN-IND.

That was a looonnngg time ago. Back in like 2002 when UA still had the MX base in IND.

Quoting dumbell2424 (Reply 3):
Strangely enough, if you type SFO to IND in the boxes at the top, the nonstop doesn't show up. Just connecting thru ORD or DEN

Ah damn you are correct. But it still shows up as a nonstop from SFO when you click on SFO and zoom in.
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
Goldenshield
Posts: 5005
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2001 3:45 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:41 pm

Quoting TOMMY767 (Reply 8):
I honestly don't think the CR7/CR9s have the legs for SFO-IND

Actually, they can, but only with about 10-20 passengers. When they are fresh from the factory, they fly BTV-SLC non-stop, and that's only 30 miles longer than IND-SFO.
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.
 
as739x
Posts: 5001
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 7:23 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:47 pm

Quoting TOMMY767 (Thread starter):
Quoting point2point (Reply 1):

However, if you take the route map to show just SFO-IND. It only shows connections.
"Some pilots avoid storm cells and some play connect the dots!"
 
FWAERJ
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:23 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:32 pm

IND has been looking for the resumption of SFO service for some time. Here's a November 2010 article from Caldwell VanRiper, IND's ad agency:
http://www.cvrindy.com/detail.php?id=132&t=45

I predict that this route will do very well for UA, especially with the connections UA offers at SFO. Last time there was IND-SFO, it was a seasonal flight on NW, and there wasn't much offered in the way of connections.
"Did he really need the triple bypass? Or was it the miles?"
 
tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:42 pm

Quoting FWAERJ (Reply 11):

I think it would do well too. Note how over the last few years UA has been adding more heatland destinations to the SFO hub including OKC, MCI, and STL. IND would fit in nicely.
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
User avatar
calpsafltskeds
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:29 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:44 pm

It hasn't been announced.
It shows only on the IND and SFO maps
It doesn't show on SFO-IND or IND-SFO maps
If its CO, then it couldn't be anything but a 737 route. CO RJs won't make it.

I'd be surprised this route is for real. If so, it would most likely be on UA equipment (319 or EMB170).
sites.google.com/site/unitedfleetsite/
 
tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:46 pm

Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 13):
I'd be surprised this route is for real. If so, it would most likely be on UA equipment (319 or EMB170).

On the map it's indicated on CO metal (gold coloring.)

Again, perhaps a glitch but wishful thinking at this point.
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
User avatar
calpsafltskeds
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:29 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:48 pm

Quoting TOMMY767 (Reply 14):
Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 13):
I'd be surprised this route is for real. If so, it would most likely be on UA equipment (319 or EMB170).

On the map it's indicated on CO metal (gold coloring.)

Sorry to mention on my post that it was in gold coloring, thus CO. That's why I think it's a mistake.
sites.google.com/site/unitedfleetsite/
 
COSPN
Posts: 1535
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:33 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:41 pm

There are no UA emps at IND anymore so any Mailine to IND has to be CO
 
Superfly
Posts: 37735
Joined: Thu May 11, 2000 8:01 am

RE: UA/CO SFO-IND? (well, According To The Route Map)

Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:08 am

Quoting TOMMY767 (Reply 8):
That was a looonnngg time ago. Back in like 2002 when UA still had the MX base in IND.

I took this flight in 2005.
Bring back the Concorde

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: a320211, alggag, BoeingVista, dergay, euroflyer, evanb, Google Adsense [Bot], LazarosK, LGWGate49, MattSYD, OA940, qf2220, QF29, scbriml, SoJo, Tokushima, Whoopeecock, Yahoo [Bot] and 302 guests