fco110
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:37 pm

Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:12 am

I was in FCO and on the in bound and out bound I saw an Emirates A380 at the airport. It appears to be a quick turnaround. Can FCO support a 380 from anywhere? Or is this simply a stop en route to another location?
 
srbmod
Posts: 15446
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 1:32 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:25 am

Quoting fco110 (Thread starter):
Can FCO support a 380 from anywhere?

Emirates flies DXB-FCO-DXB so there must be enough support at both ends (and onward from DXB) to support an A380 on the route. If they couldn't you'd see a 777 or A340 on the route and not an A380.
 
blink182
Posts: 5269
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 1999 3:09 am

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:30 am

The aircraft's scheduled routing is DXB-FCO-DXB. EK97 on the inbound, EK98 outbound. How EK makes such a route work, particularly as there already is another EK flight with a 77W, is beyond my knowledge. Been operating for probably a year or so, maybe less?

That should answer the first part of your question, but I'm sure the Italian and UAE a.nutters can fill in more gaps as to the economics and history of this route.
Give me a break, I created this username when I was a kid...
 
NASCARAirforce
Posts: 2452
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:27 am

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:11 am

Someone I work with flew through FCO on another carrier then got on the Emirates A380 to Dubai, but he said it was half empty.
 
srbmod
Posts: 15446
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 1:32 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:22 am

Quoting NASCARAirforce (Reply 3):
Someone I work with flew through FCO on another carrier then got on the Emirates A380 to Dubai, but he said it was half empty.

I'm thinking that perhaps there is enough cargo demand out of FCO to DXB that they need the cargo capacity of an A380 to keep up with the demand as two 777s couldn't carry it all. While the passenger cabin may not be showing high loads, cargo goes at a rate that can more than cover the empty seats. There's no telling how many routes that airlines fly that if it wasn't for the cargo revenues, they would have long since dropped the route.
 
User avatar
9MMPQ
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:15 am

Quoting srbmod (Reply 4):
While the passenger cabin may not be showing high loads, cargo goes at a rate that can more than cover the empty seats.

While there is quite some cargo on offer ex Italy it is generally viewed as a somewhat lower yielding cargo market. The fact they can take cargo directly from FCO rather then truck it to another station in Europe will save them some money but i'd doubt it will be enough to support a half empty flight year round, if that really were the case.

Frankly you'd need the insight from a regular traveller on the route or EK employee to get any real sense of passenger loads year round.

Quoting srbmod (Reply 1):
If they couldn't you'd see a 777 or A340 on the route and not an A380.

Agreed, they have been quite careful in growing markets & have been upgrading once they felt traffic could sustain bigger aircraft. Meanwhile MH will be dropping FCO & EK has swapped one of it's B77W on KUL-DXB for the A380. More passengers to EK ?
I believe in coincidences. Coincidences happen every day. But I don't trust coincidences.
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:25 am

Quoting srbmod (Reply 4):
I'm thinking that perhaps there is enough cargo demand out of FCO to DXB that they need the cargo capacity of an A380 to keep up with the demand as two 777s couldn't carry it all.

2 x 777 can carry more cargo than 1 x 777 and 1 x 380. Must be pax demand.
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!
 
tcasalert
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:34 am

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:29 pm

Quoting blink182 (Reply 2):
The aircraft's scheduled routing is DXB-FCO-DXB. EK97 on the inbound, EK98 outbound. How EK makes such a route work, particularly as there already is another EK flight with a 77W, is beyond my knowledge. Been operating for probably a year or so, maybe less?

Don't forget we're not just talking traffic to DXB. EK rely heavily on connecting traffic, and have an excellent route network across Asia and Africa, much of the traffic will connect to other flights heading to Africa, the Middle East and the Indian Sub Continent.
Next flight: Feb 2012 - BHX-CPH-BHX - SK MD87 / CRJ900
 
Cassi
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 3:19 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:31 pm

Quoting blink182 (Reply 2):
Been operating for probably a year or so, maybe less?

You mean the A380? Only since 1st December 2011, so for barely more than a month.

http://www.emirates.com/it/english/f...0_double_decker_to_serve_rome.aspx

This is the advantage of having a super-hub like DXB. It is much easier to keep high load factors on feeder flights (with an A380). EK is not only the biggest operator of the whale, but probably the most efficient one as well.
 
aklrno
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:18 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Is this how all those Ferraris get to the middle east?
 
flyingalex
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:32 pm

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:19 pm

Quoting srbmod (Reply 4):
I'm thinking that perhaps there is enough cargo demand out of FCO to DXB that they need the cargo capacity of an A380 to keep up with the demand as two 777s couldn't carry it all.
Quoting gkirk (Reply 6):
2 x 777 can carry more cargo than 1 x 777 and 1 x 380.

As gkirk says, the B77W actually has a lot more cargo capacity than the A380 does. That's definitely not it.
Public service announcement: "It's" = "it is". To indicate posession, write "its." Looks wrong, but it's correct grammar
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Emirates A380 In FCO

Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:35 am

Quoting flyingalex (Reply 10):
As gkirk says, the B77W actually has a lot more cargo capacity than the A380 does. That's definitely not it.

In fact, I've got a feeling that even the A332 carries more cargo than the A380? A380s are usually full of bags, so very little room for cargo
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: afterburner33, AirbusOnly, AirlineCritic, AsiaTravel, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], BreninTW, David L, ERJ135, fca767, GCT64, Grizzly410, KarelXWB, MAH4546, michaelg90222, MrBren, Qatara340, slvrblt, VFRonTop, Waldo, XAM2175 and 246 guests