washingtonian
Topic Author

US Airways Strikes Merger Deal With AA Unions Part 1

Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:07 pm

Is this unprecedented? Making deals with the unions independent from management? Seems odd to me but I'm no bankruptcy expert...To clarify: This is NOT a merger. But it appears that US management has reached agreements (signed? binding? or letters of intent?) with three major AA unions regarding a future merger...

AMR Unions Call for Merger Talks With US Airways

Should the takeover succeed, US Airways CEO Doug Parker will have struck a deal with three major airline unions, creating an industry giant.

The contracts would cover American Airlines workers if there's a merger with US Airways. However, US Airways says no deal on a merger has been made.

US Airways says the deals are with the Transport Workers Union, the Association of Professional Flight Attendants, and the Allied Pilots Association.

[Edited 2012-04-20 07:08:19]

[Edited 2012-04-20 07:45:17]

[Edited 2012-04-20 09:15:50 by SA7700]

swafa

Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:23 pm

Talked to an AA f/a enroute from PHX to LAX last night who mentioned this. I didn't believe her at the time. She said that, based on what she is hearing on her end, the f/a's are hoping for a merger with US Airways. They feel like their chances are better there. Also, she mentioned that in these negotiations the AA pilots were offered "Delta pay, plus 3%". Not exactly sure how to interpret that.

SonomaFlyer

Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:25 pm

***IRONY ALERT***

US reaches deals with AA pilots on a "proposed" future combined airline but still has no contract with its own pilots.

US is making a serious play but how will this combined company work with the labor relations at US so fractured as it is?

kc135topboom

Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:25 pm