Gonzalo
Topic Author

The Next Big "consolidation" In The Industry?

Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:54 pm

In the recent years we have an outbreak of mergers and, like the CEOs like to say, "consolidations" in the industry, with UA/CO, AF/KL , IB/BA, LA/JJ, and so on. I'm not an expert but apparently this is the tendency in order to survive in a very competitive world, specially in an industry that suffers with a lot of factors ( oil, volcanoes, flu, economic crisis, competition ).
So, assuming this is the future, where ( or who ) do you think will be the next major mergers between big carriers ?
Besides the USA carriers ( where there is a lot of noise with AA/US ), Is it possible to think in a EK/EY/QR merger ?
Or a new entity with SQ/QF ?

Thoughts ?

Rgds.

G.
Gear Up!!: DC-3 / EMB-110 / Fairchild-227 / Ab318-19-20-21 / B732 / B763 / B789

mikey72

RE: The Next Big "consolidation" In The Industry?

Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:07 pm

One of the middle eastern carriers is going to get into bed with..............

(tune in tomorrow for the next exciting episode)

Would be my bet anyway.
Flying is like sex - I've never had all I wanted but occasionally I've had all I can stand.

flyingcat

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:17 pm

Foreign ownership will no doubt come up if AA, UA or DL have a bad enough run that their alliance has to save them.

It seems that for now the Euro carriers are in more trouble but most of the issues they face are not legal but those of pride.

Phen

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:26 pm

Quoting mikey72 (Reply 1):
One of the middle eastern carriers is going to get into bed with..............

Watch out for an EY/EI tie-up, EY already own 3% of EI and word has it would like to own more...

Coal

Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:13 pm

Quoting Gonzalo (Thread starter):
SQ/QF

Surely you mean MH, not SQ.

Cheers
Coal
Nxt Flts: MI RGN-SIN | SQ SIN-RGN-SIN | CX SIN-HKG-PVG | SQ PVG-SIN

mayor

Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:19 pm

Quoting flyingcaT (Reply 2):