KarlB737
Topic Author
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 9:51 pm

IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:42 pm

In a previous A-Net thread titled "LH A380 FRA-IAH To Begin In August" it was pointed out the fact that new LH A-380 flights would begin on August 1, 2012. The link for that thread which is now archived and can't be replied on is here:

IAH+A380+#ID5327236" target="_blank">http://www.airliners.net/aviation-fo...chid=5327236&s=IAH+A380+#ID5327236

Obviously the date for the A-380's arrival is rapidly approaching. A specific A-380 boarding bridge is now under construction to meet this need. The writeup on this installation is here:

Courtesy: Aviation Pros

IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

"A specially designed jet bridge that makes a curving sweep to reach the upper deck, 26 feet from the ground, arrived at Bush Intercontinental on Wednesday from a factory in Fort Worth and was installed immediately."

http://www.aviationpros.com/news/107...s-boarding-bridge-for-a380-flights

Lastly, I wonder if some of you could list what US airports have A-380 capable jetways and what other US airports that will be getting that capability. I fully realize that at this point the list will be extremely short.
 
aznmadsci
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Quoting KarlB737 (Thread starter):
IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

There's a YouTube video of it being built via computer graphics: IAH's Terminal D is Getting Ready for the A380

While the new jetway is for upper deck passengers, I'm excited I get to check this out at the end of August when I take the LH A380 flight!. Am surprised they're using D12 instead of D4/D4A/D5, unless that took too many gates out during a busy time at Terminal D.
The journey of life is not based on the accomplishments, but the experience.
 
jporterfi
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:25 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:59 pm

Airports with A380-capable jetways:
ATL
IAD
JFK
LAX
MIA
SFO

I'm sure there are some that I'm missing, so please add to this list if necessary.
 
Max Q
Posts: 5628
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 12:40 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:54 pm

They will need more than one for IAH now UA is pulling out of Paris.



I could see AF with the A380 in there quite soon.
The best contribution to safety is a competent Pilot.
 
User avatar
EK413
Posts: 4328
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:11 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:25 am

Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 1):

I've noticed the US boarding gates for A380s only have 2 bridges as opposed to 3 in SYD, MEL and other International ports which service the A380 on a daily basis...

EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!
 
nra-3b
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2000 2:38 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:21 am

The new Tom Bradley (West) International Terminal A380 capable gates at LAX will have 3 jetways. One for the upper deck and 2 for the lower. Not sure exactly how many gates in total will be A380 capable, but certainly a bunch more that the 2 we have now.

http://www.earthcam.com/clients/lax/?project=cam1&page=pano

click panorama to get it to load......
looks like some are already installed.

Cheers,
Bob
 
as739x
Posts: 4993
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 7:23 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:47 am

Quoting EK413 (Reply 4):

SFO has two gates with 3 jetways. I'm sure other US city's have the same.
"Some pilots avoid storm cells and some play connect the dots!"
 
Josh32121
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:33 am

Quoting jporterfi (Reply 2):
Airports with A380-capable jetways:
ATL

Which gate(s) at ATL is/are A380-capable? Right now, I don't know of any gates with more than one jetway--even at F.

In general, it seems that non-U.S. airports are far more likely to have multiple jetways for single aircraft than U.S. airports.
 
ua767400
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:17 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:53 am

Quoting Max Q (Reply 3):
They will need more than one for IAH now UA is pulling out of Paris.



I could see AF with the A380 in there quite soon.

I doubt we will see the A380 by AF...mostly because we only have one gate that is capable of handling the A380
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:24 am

Quoting UA767400 (Reply 8):
I doubt we will see the A380 by AF...mostly because we only have one gate that is capable of handling the A380

And AF 380s as well as 744s are more Y heavy. If anything you would see the 2nd AF flight back.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
SurfandSnow
Posts: 1047
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 7:09 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:32 am

WOW! LH's A380 flights are already 70% booked through October?!? Clearly the Houston market is ready to support this service. LH can probably expect to make a killing off those last-minute (oil/energy) IAH business pax...

Interesting that IAH is LH's 4th U.S. market to see the A380, but the first to receive year-round service while JFK, MIA, and SFO only see it seasonally. It still amazes me that ORD has yet to see any 748 or A380 service from LH...
Flying in the middle seat of coach is much better than not flying at all!
 
User avatar
TWA772LR
Posts: 3605
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:12 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:45 am

I go by Terminal D every day and construction really went by fast. Last I saw they had the entire jet way built so I guess they were hooking all the electronics and other systems up for testing. Also, they tore up some concrete at D12, most likely to support the immense weight. Great times ahead! 

aznmadsci, thanks for the video!  Smile LH comes in at a huge peak time for Terminal D, and most of the heavies wings' spread into other gates. D12 is like a corner lot in the average suburb, so it has the most ramp space.

[Edited 2012-06-30 20:50:59]
Not every day we find light winds. What do we do in these situations? Fly.
 
User avatar
EK413
Posts: 4328
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:11 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:27 am

Quoting nra-3b (Reply 5):
Quoting as739x (Reply 6):

Cheers... I do recall SFO was one of the 1st US ports to have A380 capable bays...

EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!
 
Gemuser
Posts: 4294
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 12:07 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:29 am

Quoting UA767400 (Reply 8):
.mostly because we only have one gate that is capable of handling the A380

What do you mean by this? IAH only has one B744 capable gate? Or do you mean only one gate with multiple bridges? In the later case I would to point out that multiple bridges are NOT NECESSARY, although they are convenient to have.

Quoting TWA772LR (Reply 11):
Also, they tore up some concrete at D12, most likely to support the immense weight.

The A380 actually requires LESS concrete strength than the B744, A346 & B777, because its greater weight is spread over more wheels. The B77W /A346 actually require the strongest concrete for airliners today.

Gemuser
DC23468910;B72172273373G73873H74374475275376377L77W;A319 320321332333343;BAe146;C402;DHC6;F27;L188;MD80MD85
 
ua767400
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:17 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:46 am

Quoting gemuser (Reply 13):
What do you mean by this? IAH only has one B744 capable gate? Or do you mean only one gate with multiple bridges? In the later case I would to point out that multiple bridges are NOT NECESSARY, although they are convenient to have.

Only one gate that is capable of handling the A380 as of now talking about ground markings and being able to get the other international aircraft lined up, butI am not referring to having the multiple bridges.
 
aznmadsci
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:57 am

Quoting EK413 (Reply 4):
US boarding gates for A380s only have 2 bridges
Quoting TWA772LR (Reply 11):
LH comes in at a huge peak time for Terminal D, and most of the heavies wings' spread into other gates. D12 is like a corner lot in the average suburb, so it has the most ramp space.

I had mention D4/D4A/D5 as the possible A380 gate because LH used to dock there and they had tried to extend D4A to reach the upper deck. Despite the distance between D3 and D4 is a ways, I guess the wingspan of the A380 and the position of the plane to use those 3 gates would occupy too much space during a heavy time. But it would be nice to drive through to see that big boy while driving up to IAH.

Quoting SurfandSnow (Reply 10):
Interesting that IAH is LH's 4th U.S. market to see the A380, but the first to receive year-round service while JFK, MIA, and SFO only see it seasonally.

Is the IAH service year round? I thought it was from August to October and would then return to SFO/IAD.

Quoting SurfandSnow (Reply 10):
ORD has yet to see any 748

Is ORD or LAX the airport to see the 748?
The journey of life is not based on the accomplishments, but the experience.
 
ua767400
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:17 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:11 pm

Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 15):

LH A380 service is year round. They just announced we are going to get year round

Also, you are correct it would occupy way too much space during rush hour as there will be 1-2 747s (I can't remember what BA is), and 4 777s that can overlap all at one time.
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:30 pm

I cant wait, I thought it was going to be seasonal but year round service is even better, I hope to fly on it soon. When should the construction on terminal D for the A380 be completed?
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
ua767400
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:17 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:38 pm

Quoting AVENSAB727 (Reply 17):
I cant wait, I thought it was going to be seasonal but year round service is even better, I hope to fly on it soon. When should the construction on terminal D for the A380 be completed?

There is a chance that it could always go seasonal as it will depend on demand.

I believe I heard mid July or so, but there is a lot of prep that needs to be done that includes widening taxiways.
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:58 pm

Lufthansa said it will be year round, there is a reason for that, market here is ready for that.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
airbazar
Posts: 6800
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:12 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:30 pm

Quoting KarlB737 (Thread starter):
Lastly, I wonder if some of you could list what US airports have A-380 capable jetways

Just about every airport has A380 capable jetways. I suspect you're refering to uppder deck jetways, specifically.
When the A380 diverts to BOS for example, they block an adjacent gate and use the standard lower deck jetways.
 
NW
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:37 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:33 pm

Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 15):
I had mention D4/D4A/D5 as the possible A380 gate because LH used to dock there and they had tried to extend D4A to reach the upper deck. Despite the distance between D3 and D4 is a ways, I guess the wingspan of the A380 and the position of the plane to use those 3 gates would occupy too much space during a heavy time. But it would be nice to drive through to see that big boy while driving up to IAH.

Delta is trying to secure the first few D gates.
 
iahflyer
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:34 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:45 pm

Speaking of sort-of rare things coming to IAH. If UA were to bring a 747 into IAH, mentioned for use to NRT, where would it go to, D or E? More importantly, how would it affect things, if were to go to E? I know D can handle it, as long as there is room of course.
Little airports with the big jets are the best!! Floyd
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:55 pm

Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 15):
Is the IAH service year round?
Quoting iahflyer (Reply 22):
More importantly, how would it affect things, if were to go to E? I know D can handle it, as long as there is room of course.

Well...if it came on a NRT routing then there is room at D for it at that time of day. Now E...it would have to be on E7 or something along those lines and it may block an adjacent gate. It definitely would pose a problem in the alley.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
Josh32121
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:44 pm

Quoting NW (Reply 21):
Delta is trying to secure the first few D gates.

Um, why does DL want gates on D at IAH? Am I missing something? Is this some new theory that DL wants to build an Int'l operation out of IAH to recapture those LOS customers lost to UA?
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:50 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 24):

Could this mean the DL is taking up the void left by these so called 10 percent cuts to IAH?
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:57 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 24):
Is this some new theory that DL wants to build an Int'l operation out of IAH to recapture those LOS customers lost to UA?

NO

Quoting AVENSAB727 (Reply 25):
Could this mean the DL is taking up the void left by these so called 10 percent cuts to IAH?

NO

This is because DL actually has a decent sized Skyteam operation...as far as spoke cities go. They feed alot onto Aeromexico, KLM, and AF at IAH. Moving into D1-D4 makes for seamless Skyteam connections. This would also leave A to UA's disposal which will come in handy during the Terminal B reconstruction. Air Canada is already at A. If they do move to D this would leave Alaska over on A North and UA Express dominating the rest of the north side. IIRC there was some contention between UA and DL on this matter...that could be different now though.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
User avatar
FedExFlyerPHL
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 11:15 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:59 pm

Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 15):
Is ORD or LAX the airport to see the 748?

I believe LH's 748s will be coming to LAX this summer sometime if I remember correctly.

Jeff
Home base: SNA, LGB, LAX
 
Josh32121
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:01 pm

Quoting drerx7 (Reply 26):
They feed alot onto Aeromexico, KLM, and AF at IAH.

I don't have any data to dispute your statement, but where, oh where, do these connecting passengers come from?? LAX? SLC? ATL? I'm honestly stumped.

If anything, it sounds like they'd move because it made financial sense--not to improve the SkyTeam connection situation at IAH.
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:04 pm

Now since the A380 comes in less than a month, how many spotters will be at the airport to see it arrive? I plan on going there hopefully.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:07 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 28):
If anything, it sounds like they'd move because it made financial sense--not to improve the SkyTeam connection situation at IAH.

Why would it make financial sense to move from one side of IAH to the other...?

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 28):
I don't have any data to dispute your statement, but where, oh where, do these connecting passengers come from?? LAX? SLC? ATL? I'm honestly stumped.

They come from CDG/AMS and beyond. Skyteam from IAH flies to MEX, SEA, CDG, AMS, SLC, ATL, MSP, MEM, LGA, CVG, DTW, and not to mention the interlining that happens, but specifically from Skyteam they carry a healthy amount of transfer traffic at IAH.

[Edited 2012-07-02 10:16:28]
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
Josh32121
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:11 pm

Quoting drerx7 (Reply 30):
Why would it make financial sense to move from one side of IAH to the other...?

If DL got a good deal for swapping out its gates in A for the ones in D...lower lease rates, a swap for UA gates at another airport, etc.?

Quoting drerx7 (Reply 30):
They come from CDG/AMS and beyond. Skyteam from IAH flies to MEX, SEA, CDG, AMS, SLC, ATL, MSP, MEM, LGA, CVG, DTW, and not to mention the interlining that happens, but specifically from Skyteam they carry a healthy amount of transfer traffic at IAH.

Yes, I realize there are a number of SkyTeam destinations to/from IAH, but very few of them turn IAH into a logical connection point--particularly when DL is the only US domestic carrier to carry those passengers onward. You really mean to tell me someone would fly AMS-IAH-CVG or CDG-IAH-MSP when connections via numerous other cities in DL's network or nonstop service make far more geographic sense. Perhaps MEX-IAH-, but how many people is that, really? I don't doubt that it happens; I just think the argument that it justifies DL relocating its IAH ops. is far-fetched.

Regardless, it sounds like LH will have no trouble filling up an A380 to FRA every day since it is a *A to *A hub flight. It should be a no-brainer and does underscore the question of why it hasn't shown up on FRA-ORD yet.
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:24 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 31):
f DL got a good deal for swapping out its gates in A for the ones in D...lower lease rates, a swap for UA gates at another airport, etc.?

They aren't.

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 31):
You really mean to tell me someone would fly AMS-IAH-CVG or CDG-IAH-MSP when connections via numerous other cities in DL's network or nonstop service make far more geographic sense. Perhaps MEX-IAH-, but how many people is that, really? I don't doubt that it happens; I just think the argument that it justifies DL relocating its IAH ops. is far-fetched.

I'm sorry, you confused my statements on the matter as opinion. I am telling you this is the case, its not debateable. We can debate about the numbers of pax that do transfer and if it is logical and what not about transfering at IAH...but the reason why DL wants to move is fact...not opinion. This was discussed over at Houstonspotter's about 6 months ago and there was an issue because DL wanted those gates and UA was beginning to have some objection to it. The whole point is for connectivety to KL/AM/AF.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
aznmadsci
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:08 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 31):
f DL got a good deal for swapping out its gates in A for the ones in D...lower lease rates, a swap for UA gates at another airport, etc.?

HAS (Houston Airport System) manages D since it's a common-use terminal so DL can try to get a deal with HAS and not UA.
The journey of life is not based on the accomplishments, but the experience.
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:58 am

So I wonder if the A380 that will go to Houston, will be named after the city, since LH is still taking A380 deliveries.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
NW
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:37 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:08 am

Delta wants to be one with joint venture partners KL and AF. The plans call for one ticket counter for all three carriers plus Alaska. AF is currently accepting bids for oursourcing the above wing work; currently a mix of AF employees and contract employees. All KL and AF flights can be worked in the Delta system thus synergies and cost savings. Delta only wants to pick up the KL and AF work if they are in the same terminal. With the joint venture, Delta pays for the KL lounge in D but the Delta domestic customers don't have convenient access to the lounge. Number one complaint post merger was the loss of lounge access that NW had in terminal A when CO moved NW to A. United has told Delta they want their gates in A and Delta has said only if we can move closer to our partners.
 
Josh32121
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:58 pm

Quoting NW (Reply 35):
Delta wants to be one with joint venture partners KL and AF. The plans call for one ticket counter for all three carriers plus Alaska. AF is currently accepting bids for oursourcing the above wing work; currently a mix of AF employees and contract employees. All KL and AF flights can be worked in the Delta system thus synergies and cost savings. Delta only wants to pick up the KL and AF work if they are in the same terminal. With the joint venture, Delta pays for the KL lounge in D but the Delta domestic customers don't have convenient access to the lounge. Number one complaint post merger was the loss of lounge access that NW had in terminal A when CO moved NW to A. United has told Delta they want their gates in A and Delta has said only if we can move closer to our partners.

Thank you for the more thorough explanation instead of just "I'm right; you're wrong." Indeed, there is a financial motive. DL and its JV partners will reduce their overall costs to operate at IAH by consolidating some ground ops.
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:05 pm

Quoting Josh32121 (Reply 36):
Thank you for the more thorough explanation instead of just "I'm right; you're wrong." Indeed, there is a financial motive. DL and its JV partners will reduce their overall costs to operate at IAH by consolidating some ground ops.

LOL, whatever helps you sleep at night.

But thanks NW for the clarification for myself as well. Since DL handles AS I would assume they would move to D as well. Is there a timeframe on this move? Like I said before those rumors surfaced about 6-8 months ago about Delta wanting to move to D.

[Edited 2012-07-03 09:16:39]
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:39 am

Can we go back on topic please, I hope the A380 that LH uses is named after Houston, LH named named A380s after New York,Tokyo.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
aznmadsci
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:26 am

Quoting AVENSAB727 (Reply 38):

Can we go back on topic please, I hope the A380 that LH uses is named after Houston, LH named named A380s after New York,Tokyo.

It will be nice if they did. Wish KL named had a plane Houston as well.
The journey of life is not based on the accomplishments, but the experience.
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:05 am

I wonder how much news coverage will the A380 have on August 1
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
FlyingSicilian
Posts: 1373
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:53 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:45 am

D-1 through 3 are really just as much C gates as D gates it seems.

Who uses the D-1-3 now? I use the USO often (which is in front of those gates) and I never see any aircraft or activity other than civil rights abusing TSA yahoos taking a break and using profanity amongst themselves.

As for the A380, I remember LH noted they might cancel that if Southwest were to start int'l ops at HOU, UA presented a letter by them on the subject IIRC. I presume that was just bluster and the LH 380 flights are indeed going to happen?
“Without seeing Sicily it is impossible to understand Italy.Sicily is the key of everything.”-Goethe "Journey to Italy"
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:49 am

Quoting FlyingSicilian (Reply 41):

It is bluster, nothing but smoke and mirrors, The A380 will arrive in IAH on August 1st.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
aznmadsci
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:03 am

Quoting FlyingSicilian (Reply 41):
As for the A380, I remember LH noted they might cancel that if Southwest were to start int'l ops at HOU, UA presented a letter by them on the subject IIRC. I presume that was just bluster and the LH 380 flights are indeed going to happen?

So far it's still showing A380 for my flight late August. I do not remember LH saying they would cancel A380 service, but that they support UA and keep IAH as the sole international airport for Houston.
The journey of life is not based on the accomplishments, but the experience.
 
cruiseshipcrew
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:30 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:15 am

Was talking to my Purser on my LH A380 flight last night and they are not very excited about having IAH as a connection city. Doesn't live up to par with South Africa, SFO, Tokyo etc.

The new jet bridge looked good when we used it on Tuesday.
Road Warrior
 
drerx7
Posts: 4203
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:45 pm

Quoting FlyingSicilian (Reply 41):
As for the A380, I remember LH noted they might cancel that if Southwest were to start int'l ops at HOU, UA presented a letter by them on the subject IIRC. I presume that was just bluster and the LH 380 flights are indeed going to happen?
Quoting aznmadsci (Reply 43):
So far it's still showing A380 for my flight late August. I do not remember LH saying they would cancel A380 service, but that they support UA and keep IAH as the sole international airport for Houston.

  
Not only is the service commencing, it will be the only A380 service to a U.S. city that will be year round...this has been covered at length in this thread and others related to IAH and the UA/WN/HOU debacle. In regards to the purser...meh, they'll have to get use to it.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
User avatar
AVENSAB727
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 4:02 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:03 pm

Quoting cruiseshipcrew (Reply 44):

They'll get used to it.
Always look on the bright side of Life!
 
thomasphoto60
Posts: 3686
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2000 1:04 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:30 pm

Quoting cruiseshipcrew (Reply 44):
Was talking to my Purser on my LH A380 flight last night and they are not very excited about having IAH as a connection city. Doesn't live up to par with South Africa, SFO, Tokyo etc.

Poor ol' Houston, we are truly the Rodney Daingerfield of cities......."We can't get no respect".

That said, that's why the get paid the big bucks, they'll get over it.

[Edited 2012-07-05 13:59:39]
"Show me the Braniffs"
 
N14AZ
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:19 pm

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:52 pm

Quoting cruiseshipcrew (Reply 44):

Was talking to my Purser on my LH A380 flight last night and they are not very excited about having IAH as a connection city. Doesn't live up to par with South Africa, SFO, Tokyo etc.

Unbelievable. I spent one night in Houston back in March 2000 on my way to Belize. Had a fantastic dinner in a restaurant near the airport, constructed like a wooden blockhouse. Didn't understand a single word the waiter said to me but the steaks were fantastic. How I would love to come back there. Maybe I should become an A380-purser...
 
ozglobal
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:33 am

RE: IAH Installs Boarding Bridge For A380 Flights

Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:31 pm

Quoting jporterfi (Reply 2):
Airports with A380-capable jetways:
ATL
IAD
JFK
LAX
MIA
SFO

I have to smile at the thousands of lines on this forum a few years ago devoted to arguing as to why no US airports other than JFK and LAX would EVER invest in A380 adaptions....
When all's said and done, there'll be more said than done.