akelley728
Topic Author

DL Flight Delayed By Massive Swarm Of Bees

Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:11 pm

This is interesting - never heard of a swarm of bees attaching itself to a jetliner!

http://pittsburgh.cbslocal.com/2012/...-pittsburgh-international-airport/

PHX787

RE: DL Flight Delayed By Massive Swarm Of Bees

Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:26 pm

Well I was driving once and I saw a huge swarm surrounding a semi truck. If the plane was idle for a long period of time and if there was a spill or something involving the galley stuff, that's prime bee-swarming conditions. I'm no bee expert but I'm assuming something about the airplane attracted the swarm.
Follow me on twitter: www.twitter.com/phx787

United1

Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:31 pm

Quoting akelley728 (Thread starter):
This is interesting - never heard of a swarm of bees attaching itself to a jetliner!

http://pittsburgh.cbslocal.com/2012/...port/

Neat link.... I have seen a pic posted on here that showed a swarm of bees on the wingtip of a US Airbus...I think that was at LAX. I guess it does happen from time to time.
I know the voices in my head aren't real but sometimes their ideas are just awesome!!!

XT6Wagon

Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:45 pm

They do that to rest up before they keep looking for a new site for a hive. We had a little appletree with a couple cubic feet of bees on it earlier this year.

http://ewitt.smugmug.com/photos/i-wxJX4wc/0/M/i-wxJX4wc-M.jpg

I don't know how true it is, but I've been told you can get paid by bee keepers if they get a swarm off your property since they would then be a productive asset for that keeper. This swarm left after a few hours of not bothering anything.

kaitak

Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:46 pm

My worst nightmare ... hate the little b******s! Glad they're on the outside. I don't know what I'd do if they swarmed inside the cabin!

jetmatt777
Crew

Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:08 pm

An oldie but a goodie:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Joey Collura