spiritair97
Topic Author
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:28 pm

Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:40 am

I've been wondering this for a while now, and whenever I see a picture of a Concorde on the ground, it beegs me to ask it here even more. Where the Concordes able to be hooked up to jetways? If not, where did they park at JFK? Also, given their height, did they need special airstairs, provided they used them? What is the height of the boarding door via airstairs vs the main deck of a 747 or a380? Also, what were the schedules for the Cncordes in and out of JFK? (Both AF and BA)

Here's an example of one in TLS:

http://www.airliners.net/photo/Air-F...d=ed5de9bb24cafdc2323f9f326d59c2cf

Any info is greatly appreciated.
 
Ideekay
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:18 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:45 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhN2ND3dybo

Stop the Video at 3:56, there you will see a Concorde on a jetway in Paris.
Stop it again at 7:35 there you will see the Concorde docked on a jetway in JFK.

[Edited 2012-08-03 22:47:06]
 
ambanmba
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:47 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:40 am

Definitely jetway compatible... I flew BA2 from JFK-LHR and we boarded via a jetway and disembarked via jetway at the other end.

Incidentally, flying time was 3h17m...  

-ambanmba
Concorde 300/10/19/20/21/30/40/80 707/17/27/37/47/57/67/77 AT7 146 CRJ DC3/9/10 DHC8 F100 L1011 MD11/80 S340 T154M Y7C
 
PHX Flyer
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 9:52 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:44 am

Concorde routinely used jetways in regular passenger ops:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Craig Sands
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Günter Grondstein


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Frank Schaefer

 
FI642
Posts: 992
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:48 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:56 am

Absolutely, my airport had several gates marked specifically for the Concorde, albeit they spelled it "concord"- I put the jetway on several times for charter ops.
737MAX, Cool Planes for the Worlds Coolest Airline.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 18850
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:14 pm

G-BOAE parked at JFK August 23, 2003.

 
bohica
Posts: 2298
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:21 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:26 pm

Quoting spiritair97 (Thread starter):
What is the height of the boarding door via airstairs vs the main deck of a 747 or a380?

I don't know the exact height, but the door sill on the Concorde is about the same as a 747. I once boarded a Concorde via stairs and they were the same stairs used for widebodies. (I didn't get to fly on it though.   )

The door sill looks higher because the fuselage is so skinny. Maybe slightly wider than a CRJ. I don't have the exact dimensions.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 18850
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:57 pm

Quoting bohica (Reply 6):
The door sill looks higher because the fuselage is so skinny. Maybe slightly wider than a CRJ. I don't have the exact dimensions.

Concorde passenger cabin was about 4 inches wider than the CRJ and about 4 inches narrower than the Embraer 170-195 series.
 
L1011TGU
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:37 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:05 pm

Quoting Viscount724 (Reply 7):
Quoting bohica (Reply 6):
The door sill looks higher because the fuselage is so skinny. Maybe slightly wider than a CRJ. I don't have the exact dimensions.

Concorde passenger cabin was about 4 inches wider than the CRJ and about 4 inches narrower than the Embraer 170-195 series.

A friend once told me that it was like flying an MD88. An MD88 going Mach 2 at FL600, but nevertheless, the size felt like an MD88.
 
User avatar
adg737800
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:42 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:44 pm

It was tiny inside. Imagine a CRJ with tiny, tiny windows. My only ever flight on Concorde was really claustrophobic. But amazing!!!!

Terminal 4 at LHR had jetways directly from the Concorde lounge. JFK also had jetways too and IAD too for Concorde.
Next flights: LCY-IOM (BA) IOM-LGW (U2); LHR-KUL-LHR (BA); KUL-LGK-KUL (AK)
 
olliejolly
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:17 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:09 pm

I was flying home from JFK - MAN back in late October 2003 and I saw Concorde parked, I'm pretty sure I remember it being parked at a jetway.
 
jmbweeboy
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:38 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:37 pm

As the others have mentioned, definetly jetway for sure at JFK. The interesting thing I recall is the Concorde had such limited space for things, including reading literature, that we had to choose the material of our choice from a table which was on the jetway at JFK just before we walked on the plane (and of course head to crouch our heads down) as the entry door was so small (and I am only 5'9"!) Flew it in 1984.

JMBWEEBOY
 
AirframeAS
Posts: 9811
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:56 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:42 pm

Speaking of limited space, just how big we're the cargo pits? What did the cargo doors look like and how were they operated?
A Safe Flight Begins With Quality Maintenance On The Ground.
 
spiritair97
Topic Author
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:28 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:37 pm

Quoting adg737800 (Reply 9):

I'm surprised that it was claustrophobic. Weren't they in all business class config.?
 
mark2fly1034
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:38 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:50 pm

It almost looks like the height of maybe a 757 or maybe 777 height (777 might be pushing it). I was trying to think what it would look like with 757 engines and I think it has to do with the illusion because the engines do not hang down near the ground.
 
User avatar
Polot
Posts: 4606
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:01 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:16 am

Quoting spiritair97 (Reply 13):
I'm surprised that it was claustrophobic. Weren't they in all business class config.?

The seats were more like your typical domestic first class seats but smaller. Remember the plane was 2+2 and narrower than a E-Jet. The service and especially the speed were the selling point, not seat comfort or window size (the windows are as mentioned tiny). Since you were only in them for a little over 3 hours it wasn't a big deal.

[Edited 2012-08-04 17:20:02]
 
DCA-ROCguy
Posts: 3890
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2000 5:03 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:56 am

When the Concorde visited ROC for the first time in 1986, it not only used a Jetway, it used a Jetway that was ramped up from the ground level. At that time, ROC was a one-story terminal (except for a small second floor for management offices and HVAC). I have a newspaper photo from one of the Rochester photos showing the plane at the gate with Jetway attached. But would not be legal to post.

Jim
Need a new airline paint scheme? Better call Saul! (Bass that is)
 
User avatar
adg737800
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:42 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:30 am

Quoting spiritair97 (Reply 13):
I'm surprised that it was claustrophobic. Weren't they in all business class config.?

Economy sized seats but with good legroom (36" pitch maybe?), so it wasn't uncomfortable. The windows were tiny, maybe 6" from top to bottom and, as other posters have said, the fuselage was narrower than a CRJ. Like I said earlier though it was a memorable experience and the take off amazing due to the speed and noise - it was like a rocket!
Next flights: LCY-IOM (BA) IOM-LGW (U2); LHR-KUL-LHR (BA); KUL-LGK-KUL (AK)
 
User avatar
RWA380
Posts: 4441
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:51 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:23 am

Quoting DCA-ROCguy (Reply 16):
When the Concorde visited ROC for the first time in 1986, it not only used a Jetway

Concorde came to PDX a few times, and always used gates and jetways near the end of D concourse.
Next Flights: PDX-HNL-OGG-LIH-PDX On AS, WP & HA
 
User avatar
Mortyman
Posts: 4082
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:26 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:40 am

There are some pictures of jetway connection aswell as mealdelivery truck connection with the Concorde here from SVG Stavanger Sola Airport in Norway. The Concorde was several times at Sola and several years ago there were 3 Concordes inbound to Sola airport and two Concordes at the same time at the airport:

Pictures here:

http://www.stp-norway.com/STP/Visit/Concorde/concorde.htm


Here is a rare video of landing and takeoff as well as jeyway connection of a Concorde at Sola Airport in Stavanger:

http://www.nfo.no/nyinfo/top/Video/video.htm

( Video is at the very end of the page )
 
JAAlbert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:43 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:31 pm

Quoting spiritair97 (Reply 13):

I'm surprised that it was claustrophobic. Weren't they in all business class config.?

You can tour a Condorde at Boeing's Museum of Flight (is that the name of the place?). My sister and I peeked inside recently - we were both shocked at the narrow and basic interior. The seats looked very narrow - it must have been a cozy ride bumping elbows with the glitterati that flew that plane!
 
harpandshamrock
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:55 pm

I was lucky enough to fly on Concorde as a very excited 12 year old from LHR-CDG (with a detour over the Atlantic and Bay of Biscay to permit supersonic flight), and at both airports jetways were used. I also can vouch for what others have said about the rocket like performance!
2011 so far: LX (4), FR (2), EI (2), BE (2) - 4004 miles
 
GDB
Posts: 12652
Joined: Wed May 23, 2001 6:25 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:08 pm

Quoting adg737800 (Reply 17):
Economy sized seats but with good legroom (36" pitch maybe?

Nearly, 38 inches. For both BA and AF.
Though the type was certified to carry 128 pax, both airlines knew that the market would be all 1st class so therefore a good standard of galley provision and decent legroom was needed.
So it was 38 inches seat pitch and more galley and general stowage space, for 100 pax.

In flight, it didn't feel as cramped as you might think just being on the ground, of course it helped when the journey time was half that of other airliners.
BA did a series of major cabin upgrades over the years. IFE at the end, was a CD based audio system. The regular customers tended to work, charter pax were too into the whole supersonic experience anyway.
Put it this way, you can see some movie any day, how often would you see that very dark sky at 58-60,000 feet, the curvature of the Earth?
Plus you could follow the speed, altitude, outside air temp, distance to go, on LCD displays on each bulkhead.

'Cargo' was really baggage rather than dedicated freight.
On some charters and BA's LHR-BGI service, there would be usually rather more of that than the core market of regular business pax frequently going to/from JFK.

On all my commercial flights (airline staff discounted), it was entered via a Jetway.
Including my first, IAD-LHR in 1993. (The thrice weekly IAD run by BA ended in late 1994 after 18 and a half years though it remained a regular charter destination).

But many pax would have used steps not Jetway, since for most of it's active life BA and AF ran many charters each year, many to smaller airfields.

My non commercial Concorde flights - from my time in BA Concorde Engineering - such as the last Concorde engineering test flight in Aug 03, we boarded via steps in the BA Engineering base.
G-BOAE's last ever flight, the last supersonic flight of my lifetime too, for it's delivery to retirement in Barbados, we boarded from T4 via steps. In the rain. 4 hours, 10 mins later, it was NOT raining at BGI!

One non commercial one however was boarded via a Jetway, from the lovely BA Concorde lounge at T4.
it was one of a series of flights to test new seats, new menus, help to re-train cabin staff, after the grounding in 2000.2001. Myself and 97 other BA Concorde staff, were 'commercial pax' for a LHR-LHR flight, but with the length, speeds. altitudes of a normal LHR-JFK service, just a turn back at 30W.
We boarded, euphoric. Three and a half hours later we walked back up the same Jetway at LHR, when we started to hear indications that we had returned to a different world.
The date was 11th Sept 2001.

The effects of that day, more then the AF crash, would be one of the main reasons the aircraft was retired early, by 3-5 years most likely.

However, for all your Concorde questions, for pics, including very detailed interior/cabin/hold ones and so much more, this is your one stop site;

www.concordesst.com
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 7982
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:44 pm

I think it was fortunate that the Concorde started its services only a few years after the Boeing 747, McDonnell-Douglas DC-10, Lockheed L-1011 and Airbus A300B came into service. Remember, airstairs that worked for the Boeing 707 and Douglas DC-8 were not high enough for the 747, so they had to build higher airstairs and jet bridges that could reach the same level as the 747 doors. As such, it didn't take much for jet bridges to make themselves compatible with the Concorde.

Compare this to what happened to the Tupolev Tu-114 when it started to fly to airports outside Russia just before 1960--the passenger doors were way above the level of the airstairs built to accommodate the 707 and DC-8. I remember they had to put an extension ladder on top of the airstairs so they could reach the doors of the plane when it visited then-Idlewild International Airport during Khrushchev's first visit to the USA.
 
MAUZAO
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:19 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:36 pm

Saw her connected to a jetway several times at Rio's GIG and JFK.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 18850
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:06 pm

Quoting RayChuang (Reply 23):
Compare this to what happened to the Tupolev Tu-114 when it started to fly to airports outside Russia just before 1960--the passenger doors were way above the level of the airstairs built to accommodate the 707 and DC-8. I remember they had to put an extension ladder on top of the airstairs so they could reach the doors of the plane when it visited then-Idlewild International Airport during Khrushchev's first visit to the USA.

In the photos below of the Tu-114's first visit to IDL in 1959 you can see the extension to the then-tallest stairs that had to be used to reach the doors. Pan Am terminal then under construction in background of first photo. And the famous designer, Andrei Tupolev, in 3rd photo.

http://www.gstatic.com/hostedimg/f19b1135e1247808_large

http://s017.radikal.ru/i430/1201/02/5988926af402.jpg

http://www.gstatic.com/hostedimg/6e8d9b78d1863d0c_large

[Edited 2012-08-05 14:23:28]
 
MAUZAO
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:19 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:27 am

... wonderful pictures of the TU 114 in NYC, thanks for posting.
 
Aircellist
Posts: 1242
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:43 am

RE: Was The Concorde Jetway-compatible?

Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:06 am

Quoting GDB (Reply 22):

I generally enjoy all your posts, but the Concorde ones are among what make this site so great. Thank you! (hope I do not bruise your modesty too much!)
"When I find out I was wrong, I change my mind. What do you do?" -attributed to John Maynard Keynes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Abeam79, Aesma, Baidu [Spider], Google Adsense [Bot], Grizzly410, Iemand91, KarelXWB, LazarosK, scbriml, SCQ83, speedygonzales, starbucks, tvh, Yahoo [Bot] and 187 guests