airDFW
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:44 pm

Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:38 pm

I would prefer a 1 stop rather than 15 hour flight, may be with just an hour layover. Just having a refueling stop may be in MAD (not in LHR, which is AA's only love) and pick up more passengers would have been beneficial to AA rather than just cancelling DEL? Since AA has flights to MAD from all their hubs, they could have made this to work...

Thanks for your opinions
 
steex
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:45 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:44 pm

I see two main problems with this idea:

1) ORD-MAD-DEL is over 1,200 statute miles longer than ORD-DEL non-stop, so it would increase travel time and make the route even less competitive when compared to AI's non-stop option.

2) MAD-DEL isn't a big O&D market, so AA would be flying a lot of empty (or deeply discounted) seats the 4,200 miles between those two cities. Every seat sold only on the ORD-MAD sector would need a new MAD-DEL pax to replenish the load, and there just aren't enough of those pax.

Edit to add: Welcome to A.net, AirDFW!

[Edited 2012-08-26 13:46:38]
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:47 pm

The issue is the amount of 1 stop choices. United and Lufthansa not to mention AI can get them there all day, so can DL.

I am not sure about getting pax in MAD either. Do rights exist?

NS
 
User avatar
rotating14
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:54 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:56 pm

Welcome aboard mate! I think a lot depends on competition, scheduling, available equipment and most of all what the market wants and needs. I too would prefer to split a 15 flight but where the layover is weighs as well.

[Edited 2012-08-26 14:06:31]
 
LAXdude1023
Posts: 4460
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:16 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:02 pm

No. Making ORD-DEL would drain the yields in an already low yielding market.
It is what it is...
 
DLBOIFIN
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:51 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:17 pm

How about ORD-HEL-DEL? Routing wise that would make more sense that via MAD, as HEL is pretty much on the US-India circle line. AA would get all the AY intra-EU feed for the HEL-DEL portion of the flight. Well, I guess this is just daydreaming...  
 
jcwr56
Posts: 758
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:36 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:24 pm

Shall we name the long list of international cities AA has dropped from ORD after giving them a try. Matter of fact, I don't believe they've ever restarted a dropped city and I would highly doubt AA would place DEL on the top of that list.

Don't get me wrong, I'd love to see them succeed....but outside of LHR from ORD and focus OW hubs, they can't seem to win.
 
mhkansan
Posts: 715
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:02 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:54 pm

DEL has structurally low yields and a very long flight time. There are actually very few connecting opportunities or logical stopping points on the great circle route between ORD and DEL also, the route is due North, crosses the North Pole, and then over Sibera to DEL. Not a lot of places to stop except for maybe ALA! (I don't think AA is very interested in an ORD-ALA nonstop nor are they very interested in returning to DEL at all until their costs are lower and they have a right-sized aircraft (787) for the trip.
 
jfk777
Posts: 5861
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:23 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:06 pm

To make a flight work from the USA to India you are competing agaist every airline that crosses the Atlantic and Pacific. All the Euro airlines and top Asians like Cathay and Sigapore too. Not to forget the Midle East tripple of Etihad, Qatar & Emrates. Seems only from New York does it work for a US airline, Continetal showed us it works nonstop.
 
aeroblogger
Posts: 1380
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:53 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:21 pm

Quoting DLBOIFIN (Reply 5):
How about ORD-HEL-DEL? Routing wise that would make more sense that via MAD, as HEL is pretty much on the US-India circle line. AA would get all the AY intra-EU feed for the HEL-DEL portion of the flight. Well, I guess this is just daydreaming...
HEL and LHR are the only 2 stops I can imagine for AA on the way to India... HEL because it makes sense routing-wise and AA's partner AY is based there, and LHR because of the tons of O&D available (in addition to BA's feed)...

[Edited 2012-08-26 15:21:36]
Airports 2012: IXE HYD DEL BLR BOM CCU KNU KTM BKK SIN ICN LAX BUR SFO PHX IAH ORD EWR PHL PVD BOS FRA MUC IST
 
steex
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:45 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Quoting aeroblogger (Reply 9):
HEL and LHR are the only 2 stops I can imagine for AA on the way to India... HEL because it makes sense routing-wise and AA's partner AY is based there, and LHR because of the tons of O&D available (in addition to BA's feed)...

In both cases, though, you can argue that they make very little sense because BA is already flying LHR-DEL and AY is flying HEL-DEL. AA can do half as much flying and just transfer the pax to their partners rather than competing and/or adding capacity.

Note that the only American carrier flying Europe-India is DL on AMS-BOM, and in that case it is because there are not enough India rights for Netherlands-based carriers to allow KLM to fly the route in addition to its other Indian services. As such, the AMS-India routes are included in the TATL JV so that KLM/DL combined can offer a full range of AMS-India options. This arrangement goes back to the NW/KLM days.
 
mhkansan
Posts: 715
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:02 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:08 am

As far as AA is concerned, most of the people I used to check-in for the ORD-DEL flight I am now checking in for ORD-DEL on AI. If AA can't make money (or can make more elsewhere with two 777s) on the route and we can provide a similar service interlining with AI, than more power to the airline. Not only does this keep the market as a whole profitable for carriers serving ORD-DEL, but AA can see high priced, high fare class international connecting inventory (Y,B,H,L class) and make more money on the domestic leg.

Until AA has lowered its costs to near that of it's rivals, and has an aircraft better equipped for the route (787 or a reconfigured, more-Y 777), this is probably the best scenario. There are many other 767 destinations in S. America or Europe that need 777 service. Two 777s is a lot to spare for a marginally-preforming, long, and low-yielding route such as ORD-DEL. Better to wait until the airplane itself is less valuable around the network with 77Ws and 787s coming online soon.
 
luckyone
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:50 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:40 am

Quoting jfk777 (Reply 8):
To make a flight work from the USA to India you are competing agaist every airline that crosses the Atlantic and Pacific. All the Euro airlines and top Asians like Cathay and Sigapore too.

The numbers may prove me wrong (anyone with them please share!), but at first glance SQ doesn't seem a serious contender in the US-India market. Just getting to Singapore takes as long or longer than either East or West Coast USA to India through Europe or from the US East Coast.
As for Cathay, their presence in the India market is ok, but some of their India stations aren't daily, and only one of their Dehli flights is nonstop. The other is routed through BKK.
 
AA94
Posts: 652
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:37 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:29 am

Quoting steex (Reply 10):
In both cases, though, you can argue that they make very little sense because BA is already flying LHR-DEL and AY is flying HEL-DEL. AA can do half as much flying and just transfer the pax to their partners rather than competing and/or adding capacity.

  

At this point, AA is only committed to flying what "works," and makes them money. Unfortunately, that is really only a very limited number of international routes. They're better off flying ORD-LHR and making a profit there, then just funnel passengers to BA.

Once AA gets its financial house back in order, and gets the right aircraft (read: 787) in their fleet, I'd say that we'll see some routes coming back, especially routes that were only slightly in the red.

However, I'm skeptical that ORD-DEL would come back before that, even with a European connecting point, because it's just too low-yielding.
If you can't take the heat, you best get out of the kitchen
 
airDFW
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:44 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 am

Quoting DLBOIFIN (Reply 5):
Quoting aeroblogger (Reply 9):

How about then ORD/DFW-HEL-BOM, would this work for AA in a future scenario? My point is with BA up there in LHR, AA flying own metal does not make sense but why not other OW hubs so that we get some connection and the fuel cost is reduced with a stop over.

Isn't AI making the ORD-DEL with a stopover in FRA sometimes?
 
aeroblogger
Posts: 1380
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:53 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:43 am

Quoting AirDFW (Reply 14):
Isn't AI making the ORD-DEL with a stopover in FRA sometimes?

No, ORD-DEL is nonstop.

There was a couple months where it was flown with a stopover in FRA because crew shortage required the flight to pick up passengers on the way...
Airports 2012: IXE HYD DEL BLR BOM CCU KNU KTM BKK SIN ICN LAX BUR SFO PHX IAH ORD EWR PHL PVD BOS FRA MUC IST
 
9w748capt
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:27 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 4:18 am

Quoting AirDFW (Reply 14):
How about then ORD/DFW-HEL-BOM, would this work for AA in a future scenario? My point is with BA up there in LHR, AA flying own metal does not make sense but why not other OW hubs so that we get some connection and the fuel cost is reduced with a stop over.

Isn't AI making the ORD-DEL with a stopover in FRA sometimes?

I'd find it very unlikely that AA is itching to fly their own metal to India again anytime soon. I was also disappointed that AA axed ORD-DEL - it was a great way to earn a bunch of miles - but it just makes more sense for AA to stick to its strengths and fly pax to LHR and then dump onto BA or 9W. Granted the 9W "cooperation" might end if they join star. India's economic emergence has resulted in a pretty large increase in capacity which has really depressed yields overall.

[Edited 2012-08-26 21:24:11]
 
777law
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:16 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:03 pm

Quoting luckyone (Reply 12):
The numbers may prove me wrong (anyone with them please share!), but at first glance SQ doesn't seem a serious contender in the US-India market. Just getting to Singapore takes as long or longer than either East or West Coast USA to India through Europe or from the US East Coast.

You're right - SIN is not a viable transit point for DEL or BOM from the US mid-west or east coast. UA's ORD-NRT-SIN / ORD-HKG-SIN flights (for example) require 18-20 hours of flying time from point to point - not to mention the stop-over time at NRT or HKG. Add 5 - 6 hours of flight time for SIN-DEL/BOM and you're looking at 24 hours of flying time to India via the Pacific route via SIN. Obviously DEL / BOM via Europe / Dubai or Qatar is shorter and much faster.
If its not a Boeing I ain't going
 
Delta777Jet
Posts: 1235
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2000 6:19 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:06 pm

How about a 4 weekly DFW-BER-DEL and a 3 weekly DFW-BER-BOM service on a B-767-300ER or B-777-200 as soon as BER is opening.

- Brand New Airport in Berlin with Good Connection
- Air Berlin (Oneworld) connection from JFK,ORD,MIA,LAX with AA Flight Number
- No other airline fyling BER- India nonstop
- Air Berlin, Iberia, British Airways, Finnair flying to BER too for connection services.
B-717/722/737-200/300/400/500/600/700/800/900/B-747-100/200/400/SP/8i/B-752/3/B-762/3/4/B-772/LR/300ER/B-788/DC-10-10/30/L-1011-1/500/MD-81/82/83/90/A-319/320/321/AB6/312/313/332/333/342/343/346/359/388/TU154/IL-18/ATR-42/72/DH4/DH3/E145/E170/190/CR2/7/9
 
ORDJOE
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:27 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:33 pm

I do not see this ever coming back, fuel is not likely to ever get much cheaper, the 787's are looking to be more of a 767 replacement. Yes the 787s will bring new routes, but not as much as people thought a few years ago when people had visions of MIA-JNB or STL to NRT.

In the coming years I see more and more of what AA and others are doing, flying you to LHR or where ever and letting BA take you the rest of the way. Airlines are less willing to burn fuel for the sake of carrying fuel. Yes there will always be ULH routes, but only ones between specific pairs. Also keep in mind India is in an economic slowdown, and that outage a few weeks ago where almost half the country went without power does not help matters. All this combined will make it harder to make a go of a route like this.
P.S. To me it does not matter if AI can make a go of it. When you are government owned minor things such as financing regulation, lending and that do not matter if you are owned by the group who makes the laws and prints the money.
 
sw733
Posts: 5307
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:19 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:31 pm

Quoting mhkansan (Reply 11):
If AA can't make money (or can make more elsewhere with two 777s)

I think that's a big part of it, especially in BK. The opportunity cost of 2 777s can be huge when they are being used on a lower-yielding route like ORD-DEL.
 
xdlx
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:29 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:39 pm

AA could make JFK-DEL work?
 
JAAlbert
Posts: 1556
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:43 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:52 pm

Instead of stopping at LHR, why not Gatwick?
 
sw733
Posts: 5307
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:19 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:58 pm

Quoting JAAlbert (Reply 22):
Instead of stopping at LHR, why not Gatwick?

Gatwick provides almost no worthwhile connections when their partner, BA, runs most non-leisure routes out of LHR. Better to just skip London altogether than go to Gatwick, IMHO.
 
tommy767
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:18 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:08 pm

Quoting 9w748capt (Reply 16):
I'd find it very unlikely that AA is itching to fly their own metal to India again anytime soon. I was also disappointed that AA axed ORD-DEL

It seems the only US airline to make US-India work is UA out of EWR. And still, I often ponder how profitable these routes are.
"KEEP CLIMBING" -- DELTA
 
2travel2know2
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:01 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:38 pm

Quoting JAAlbert (Reply 22):
Instead of stopping at LHR, why not Gatwick?

Make it ORD/JFK-LGW-DEL and AA may be into something.
BA presence @ LGW is still worth something and AA flying to JFK/ORD/DEL out of LGW may pull some seats out of BA's "non-LHR worth" destinations.
I'm not on CM's payroll.
 
mogandoCI
Posts: 1247
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:39 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:53 pm

Quoting tommy767 (Reply 24):
It seems the only US airline to make US-India work is UA out of EWR. And still, I often ponder how profitable these routes are.

Given that EWR-DEL/BOM are 2 of the hardest routes anywhere in the UA long-haul network to redeem a saver award J seat or have upgrades clear, that should say a lot regarding their front cabin loads (which can act as a proxy for its yields).

Does anyone know if EWR-DEL/BOM have been consistently year-round daily, or seasonally trimmed ?
 
LAXdude1023
Posts: 4460
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:16 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:58 pm

Quoting 2travel2know2 (Reply 25):
Make it ORD/JFK-LGW-DEL and AA may be into something.
BA presence @ LGW is still worth something and AA flying to JFK/ORD/DEL out of LGW may pull some seats out of BA's "non-LHR worth" destinations.

No way AA could make that work. Not only is DEL low yielding overall, but so is LGW compared to LHR.

AA cant make India work right now. Its unfortunate, but it is what it is. I read that ORD-DEL had a lower average paid fare than ORD-MAN did. Thats awful given the length of the flight!

Quoting AirDFW (Reply 14):
How about then ORD/DFW-HEL-BOM, would this work for AA in a future scenario? My point is with BA up there in LHR, AA flying own metal does not make sense but why not other OW hubs so that we get some connection and the fuel cost is reduced with a stop over.

DFW-HEL is my ultimate fantasy dream route. There is not a route from DFW that I would be more excited about than HEL. Finland is my favorite country worldwide!

That being said, it would never work.
It is what it is...
 
2travel2know2
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:01 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:13 pm

Quoting LAXdude1023 (Reply 27):
No way AA could make that work. Not only is DEL low yielding overall, but so is LGW compared to LHR.

That's why ORD-LGW-DEL could be flown on B767 and JFK-LGW on B757.
  
I'm not on CM's payroll.
 
User avatar
lightsaber
Crew
Posts: 11862
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:55 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:21 pm

Quoting Delta777Jet (Reply 18):
How about a 4 weekly DFW-BER-DEL and a 3 weekly DFW-BER-BOM service on a B-767-300ER or B-777-200 as soon as BER is opening.

A OW 'scissor hub' is about the only way to make this work. However, it would more likely be AB flying BER-BOM/DEL with AA flying a few TATL cities to BER.

Quoting LAXdude1023 (Reply 27):
AA cant make India work right now.

   OW direly needs an Indian partner (but they were wise to pull out of the IT sinking ship). There is no wonder 9W is putting themselves up for auction.   

9W May Not Join *A (by aeroblogger Aug 26 2012 in Civil Aviation)

*A is trying to 'sew up' India between TK and LH and possibly 9W and QR. Skyteam is a possible spoiler, but I'm going to wait and see how that goes.

Lightsaber
"They did not know it was impossible, so they did it!" - Mark Twain
 
User avatar
IrishAyes
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 6:04 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 4:21 pm

Quoting mhkansan (Reply 11):
As far as AA is concerned, most of the people I used to check-in for the ORD-DEL flight I am now checking in for ORD-DEL on AI. If AA can't make money (or can make more elsewhere with two 777s) on the route and we can provide a similar service interlining with AI, than more power to the airline. Not only does this keep the market as a whole profitable for carriers serving ORD-DEL, but AA can see high priced, high fare class international connecting inventory (Y,B,H,L class) and make more money on the domestic leg.

I'm going to be blunt here: the concepts of "ORD-DEL nonstop" and "profitable" are two mutually exclusive events. Air India is actually losing just as much, if not more, than AA with ORD-DEL. I wouldn't attribute the lasting nature of the AI flight with "success" as much as "survival" due to this...

Quoting ordjoe (Reply 19):
P.S. To me it does not matter if AI can make a go of it. When you are government owned minor things such as financing regulation, lending and that do not matter if you are owned by the group who makes the laws and prints the money.

   AI does not deserve entry into Star Alliance.

Quoting AirDFW (Reply 14):
Isn't AI making the ORD-DEL with a stopover in FRA sometimes?

AI is STILL making the FRA stopover and will do so until next week.

Quoting tommy767 (Reply 24):
It seems the only US airline to make US-India work is UA out of EWR. And still, I often ponder how profitable these routes are.

I think CO/UA is greatly aided by keeping their DEL flights in a 2-class cabin configuration. EWR is also bolstered by the fact that it serves a HUGE population size of Indian origin in the NYC area, not to mention has connecting feed, good departure and arrival times, and actually a pretty decent product offering in both cabins. I've flown this flight in Y when it was operated by CO and now by UA and have been satisfied on both occasions.

Quoting lightsaber (Reply 29):
A OW 'scissor hub' is about the only way to make this work. However, it would more likely be AB flying BER-BOM/DEL with AA flying a few TATL cities to BER.



Meh. The "scissor hub' operation has largely lost its luster. Notice how 9W is struggling to make this concept work out of BRU. Considering that BER is not very well connected to a large list of intercontinental destinations (esp non-leisure oriented ones) it would be a really tough sell.

Personally, I think most US carriers should concede to the fact that the US-India market has gone to other global players, namely the Middle Eastern carriers, and that situation will likely be irreversible.

I will say that I much prefer the concept of ULH/nonstop flights over the European connection. Frankly, I had an easier time recovering from a nonstop ORD-EWR-DEL flight in Y than I did on my return trip in J class on SWISS flying DEL-ZRH-ORD. A 14 hr nonstop really is so much better than two back-to-back 8 hour legs with a 3hr connection in between.
confidence is silent. insecurities are loud.
 
macsog6
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:25 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:36 pm

For what it is worth, I was a fairly regular pax on ORD-DEL and took the flight because it was a non-stop flight. No matter where AA elected to stop, be in MAD, HEL, LHR, BER etc., I preferred the non-stop. If I wanted to stop, I could have flown any number of carriers to a LHR, FRA, etc. and then made the connection to DEL, BLR, or other cities in India.

The non-stop had great appeal to me.
Sixty Plus Years of Flying! "I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things." - Saint Ex
 
xdlx
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:29 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:47 pm

Quoting macsog6 (Reply 31):

JFK-DEL would work same as EWR works for UA.
 
9w748capt
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:27 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Quoting xdlx (Reply 32):
JFK-DEL would work same as EWR works for UA.

Again, the yields just aren't there. For one thing AA doesn't have nearly the base or feed in NYC that UA/CO does so they likely won't poach the elite traffic, and then you already have AI on that route which depresses fares even more as AI isn't ever going to make a profit. I'm surprised this thread is still ongoing. It's pretty obvious there's no financial incentive whatsoever at the moment for another US-based carrier to enter India. Unfortunate but that's just how it is.

[Edited 2012-08-27 11:08:39]
 
User avatar
IrishAyes
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 6:04 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:11 pm

Quoting 9w748capt (Reply 33):
Again, the yields just aren't there. For one thing AA doesn't have nearly the base in NYC that UA/CO does so they likely won't poach the elite traffic, and then you already have AI on that route, which depresses fares even more as AI isn't ever going to make a profit. I'm surprised this thread is still ongoing. It's pretty obvious there's no incentive whatsoever at the moment for another carrier to enter the US-India market.

  

Remember that Delta once attempted the US-India market, and couldn't make ATL-BOM work from their fortress hub at Atlanta, nor JFK-BOM work from the HUGE O&D market that is New York-Bombay. I also believe that JFK-BOM existed before AI entered the JFK-BOM market, which has since been adjusted to fly JFK-DEL-BOM instead.

In fact, I came across a statistic which, although slightly outdated (2009/2010), confirmed that the US-India routes were the single biggest factor adversely affecting Air India's operations (accounting for 41% of total losses), according to the Comptroller and Auditor-General's report. This despite AI having a lower cost of labor.

(source: CAPA)

At present, I don't think a single US, Canadian or Indian carrier is in a position to enter US-India long-haul, and likely will not be for some time. Even Lufthansa, who has long offered the most seats of any of the European big-wigs to India, has reduced capacity significantly over the years.

[Edited 2012-08-27 11:14:44]
confidence is silent. insecurities are loud.
 
9w748capt
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:27 am

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:11 pm

Quoting IrishAyes (Reply 30):
Meh. The "scissor hub' operation has largely lost its luster. Notice how 9W is struggling to make this concept work out of BRU. Considering that BER is not very well connected to a large list of intercontinental destinations (esp non-leisure oriented ones) it would be a really tough sell.

   I'm still a little surprised that 9W couldn't survive at JFK. So now will they have 2 spokes NA-BRU (from EWR and YYZ), then 3 onward to India (DEL, BOM, MAA)? That's a little odd. Broken pair of scissors for sure.
 
xdlx
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:29 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:29 pm

Let them all connect in DXB then......! And if AI does not make money in the route why do they fly it?
 
User avatar
IrishAyes
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 6:04 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:38 pm

Quoting xdlx (Reply 36):
Let them all connect in DXB then......! And if AI does not make money in the route why do they fly it?

Simply and purely for glamour and because they can. Otherwise, the business logic underlying AI's nonstop services to the US is unviable and highly unimpressive.

One would think that after making strides such as restructuring the long-haul network, improving connections through a brand new terminal facility at T3 in Delhi, experiencing some revenue improvement YOY, and benefiting from the downsizing of IT, AI would show signs of recovery.

Instead, the carrier has hardly budged after years of so-called "concentrated efforts" to improve the carrier, and thus far, barely produced any meaningful results. Nothing has changed to relieve AI of the low productivity levels, high cost structure, fallen staff morale, poor business model, and failure to achieve reliability amid the GOI and AI management.

Frankly, who knows if the airline will ever recover.

As carriers like EK, QR, EY and TK continue to expand into the US, I firmly believe that AI's North American ops may eventually either contract significantly or be scaled back entirely. Trust me, the gaps will become very noticeable and the passenger will vote with their wallet. Should any of the gulf carriers (sans for TK) join a major airline alliance, it could be AI's worst nightmare come true.
confidence is silent. insecurities are loud.
 
WROORD
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:36 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:35 am

Quoting mhkansan (Reply 11):
As far as AA is concerned, most of the people I used to check-in for the ORD-DEL flight I am now checking in for ORD-DEL on AI. If AA can't make money (or can make more elsewhere with two 777s) on the route and we can provide a similar service interlining with AI, than more power to the airline. Not only does this keep the market as a whole profitable for carriers serving ORD-DEL, but AA can see high priced, high fare class international connecting inventory (Y,B,H,L class) and make more money on the domestic leg.

Absolutely, especially that additional connections are available in LHR via BA and HKG via CX. AA can use the aircraft for more profitable routes to Japan or China.
 
luckyone
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:50 pm

RE: Could AA Made ORD-DEL Work With 1 Stop?

Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:50 am

American's codeshare with Etihad probably isn't doing anything favorable toward service on their own metal to India, either.