JU068

Ryanair Abandons Passengers In Rijeka

Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:14 am

Good morning.

More bad press for Ryanair this time originating in the Balkans. A Ryanair flights from Rijeka to Stockholm Skavsta was cancelled due to strong winds. The problem occured when the flight departed two hours later without any passengers which made sense since they did not inform the passengers.

Ryanair did not provide alternatives to the passengers leaving them on their own to find their way home; this was further complicated by the fact that there is no internet connection at the airport. Some passengers had to spend up to €1,000 to get home and Ryanair is refusing to refund their travel expenses.
The Swedish Consumer Agency, Konsumentverket, has slammed Ryanair for its conduct last Friday. It says the airline was required to offer help with finding passengers alternative transport and provide them with food and accommodation.

Now, I am no expert but if the flight was cancelled wasn't Ryanair's duty under European Union law to find an alternative way home for these passengers?

For those interested you can read the full article here:

http://exyuaviation.blogspot.com/

JU068

kl911

RE: Ryanair Abandons Passengers In Rijeka

Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:22 am

Quoting ju068 (Thread starter):
Now, I am no expert but if the flight was cancelled wasn't Ryanair's duty under European Union law to find an alternative way home for these passengers?

Croatia is no EU member.

scouseflyer

Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:25 am

Don't know the laws and whether Ryansir abides by them but when I was travelling them and it looked like our flight was to be cancelled they just kept saying "you'll be refunded for your ticket" which I had bought 9 months previously for £35 - that wouldn't of been much use in trying to get back to the UK at such short notice.........

MIAspotter

Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:26 am

As I always say ¨pay peanuts, get monkeys¨

Quoting ju068 (Thread starter):