qf74

F9 To Relocate To MSY?

Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:51 pm

The state of Louisiana is backing a group of investors wanting to purchase Frontier and move it to NOLA.

http://www.225batonrouge.com/article...112/121009775/0/BUSINESSREPORT0401

It's the first I've heard of it, does anyone else have any insight? Do you think it could work?

As a New Orleans resident, I'd love to see it happen (but I have my doubts).

commavia

RE: F9 To Relocate To MSY?

Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:54 pm

What a stupid idea. More politicians fooling themselves into thinking they understand the airline industry ...

[Edited 2012-10-09 12:55:26]

drerx7

Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:57 pm

I think this would be a disaster for everyone involved.

"Every major city in Louisiana..." Louisiana doesn't have any real major cities except New Orleans. Even less important when in comes to air travel. No-one is going to fly from BTR-MSY, and F9 equipment is too large to economically connect SHV or AEX/LCH and the like to MSY.

Then there is the real issue of the loyal carriers...namely WN...you piss off WN and they either:
1.) Retalliate and finally disconnected the breathing machine from F9 via competition or...
2.) They retreat/stagnate from MSY and F9 still collapses - leaving MSY with pre-Katrina levels of service.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised

MSYtristar

Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:10 pm

Quoting drerx7 (Reply 2):
No-one is going to fly from BTR-MSY, and F9 equipment is too large to economically connect SHV or AEX/LCH and the like to MSY.

Yeah, I doubt that would be part of the plan "if" it ever got off the ground. Poorly worded article in some respect.

Quoting drerx7 (Reply 2):
Then there is the real issue of the loyal carriers...namely WN...you piss off WN and they either:
1.) Retalliate and finally disconnected the breathing machine from F9 via competition or...
2.) They retreat/stagnate from MSY and F9 still collapses - leaving MSY with pre-Katrina levels of service.