airtran737
Topic Author
Posts: 3223
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:47 am

UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:04 am

Anyone hear about a UA 747 going off the runway in FRU? Apparently the airport was closed for a while because of it.
Nice Trip Report!!! Great Pics, thanks for posting!!!! B747Forever
 
User avatar
Polot
Posts: 4960
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:01 pm

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:07 am

Do you mean FRA? I don't know why a UA 747 would be in Kyrgyzstan (other than a troop charter I guess).

[Edited 2012-12-01 16:08:57]
 
jporterfi
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:25 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:08 am

I assume you mean FRA? UA doesn't serve FRU.
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:11 am

Not sure what the circumstances were, but yes there was a 744 flight in FRU today that returned to blocks and subsequently was rescheduled with almost 24hours delay.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
airtran737
Topic Author
Posts: 3223
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:47 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:18 am

Quoting Polot (Reply 1):
Do you mean FRA? I don't know why a UA 747 would be in Kyrgyzstan (other than a troop charter I guess).
Quoting jporterfi (Reply 2):
I assume you mean FRA? UA doesn't serve FRU.

No, I meant FRU UAFM and it would have been a troop charter.
Nice Trip Report!!! Great Pics, thanks for posting!!!! B747Forever
 
User avatar
Polot
Posts: 4960
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:01 pm

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:31 am

I'm guessing then that the 744 was N194UA?
 
User avatar
calpsafltskeds
Posts: 2164
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:29 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:59 am

It is N194UA and was operating as 1886/1Dec FRU-HHN (Franklfurt Hahn). United.com shows it returned to the gate at FRU 2.5 hours after push.

Flight 1886 now sked FRU-HHN a day late 12/2, then shows sked HHN-GTB.

GTB -Genting, Malaysia - a small area near Kuala Lumpur and I can't find the airport on Google Earth and World Airport Codes show it on another island, but there is no airport at the GPS coordianates. Think that's a typo?
sites.google.com/site/unitedfleetsite/
 
Freshside3
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:11 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:03 am

There are occasionally military charters to the 'stans on UA, from time to time. So FRU(Biskek) would make sense.
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:51 am

Quoting CALPSAFltSkeds (Reply 6):

GTB is an FAA code, not an IATA code it seems. GTB=Wheeler-Sack Army Airfield

Surprised to hear about UA 747s in Bishkek.
 
aviateur
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 9:25 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:51 am

Quoting FreshSide3 (Reply 7):
There are occasionally military charters to the 'stans on UA, from time to time. So FRU(Biskek) would make sense.

Indeed. Delta does semi-regular military charters to Bishkek (FRU) as well.


PS
Patrick Smith is an airline pilot, air travel columnist and author
 
thrufru
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:48 pm

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:21 pm

Hmm, I'm a bit surprised at this. While the runway is pretty rough, the taxiways are plenty wide and the markings are fine. I've often been on the ramp in FRU, and have envied UA, DL, and all the other big boys. They've got the range for non-stop back to Europe, whereas we have to stop in TBS if we're full. The tech stop is somewhat softened, though, by the ground handler always giving us a case of Georgian wine.
 
FI642
Posts: 992
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:48 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:15 pm

FRU is the big hot spot for troop movements.

Just checked weather and notams for FRU. "Runway 08 cleared, friction coefficient 0.70 (good braking action)
and they are reporting freezing fog.

Maybe it slid off in bad weather. Freezing fog is bad news.

[Edited 2012-12-02 11:20:45]
737MAX, Cool Planes for the Worlds Coolest Airline.
 
Boeing757/767
Posts: 2179
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 1999 11:05 pm

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:54 pm

Atlas Air is a big mover of troops to FRU. UA and DL probably supplement that lift from time to time.

Here's the latest Atlas flight heading to FRU: http://flightaware.com/live/flight/GTI2456

[Edited 2012-12-02 14:00:47]
Free-thinking, left-leaning secularist
 
FI642
Posts: 992
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:48 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:01 pm

World just had an MD-11 back from FRU this morning.
737MAX, Cool Planes for the Worlds Coolest Airline.
 
User avatar
calpsafltskeds
Posts: 2164
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:29 am

RE: UA Off Runway In FRU?

Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:59 pm

UA 1886 did operate FRU-HHN-GTB 24 hours late without incident after departing FRU. I don't know if we'll find out exactly what happened, but my guess is after the aircraft came back to the gate in FRU, the crew was timed out for the day, thus the 24 hour delay.
sites.google.com/site/unitedfleetsite/