TC957
Topic Author

BA/IB - A Marriage Made In Hell.

Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:03 pm

It's reported in the travel trade publications that the IAG group are in the red purely because of IB's losses, with fuel prices being blamed. I'm wondering what possesed Willie Walsh that combining BA and IB was such a great idea.

LAXdude1023

RE: BA/IB - A Marriage Made In Hell.

Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:04 pm

Sounds similar to KL and AF. Its like the beautiful women (BA and KL) that married the fat ugly slobs (IB and AF).
It is what it is...

RussianJet

Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:22 pm

Quoting LAXdude1023 (Reply 1):
Sounds similar to KL and AF. Its like the beautiful women (BA and KL) that married the fat ugly slobs (IB and AF).

It is similar. Somehow, though, I feel more sorry for KL than BA. Not sure how accurate my impression is, and it's only an impression - I'm no expert, but it seems that KL is probably at more risk than BA in terms of maintaining their identity and product.

I have never understood even slightly why on earth they thought it was a good idea to join with IB. My immediate reaction when I heard it was happening was to question why the hell they did it, because there was little obvious reason.

Anyone care to try and explain what they were playing at when they made that decision?
✈ Every strike of the hammer is a blow against the enemy. ✈

LHRFlyer

Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:29 pm

Quoting RussianJet (Reply 2):
Anyone care to try and explain what they were playing at when they made that decision?

If you go back three years ago, BA had no scope for growth at LHR and had to look elsewhere and Iberia had a complementary route network. At the time, it was not expected that the Eurozone crisis would be so bad and at least Spain seems to have got through the worst of it with better than expected debt/GDP figures recently.

The fact that the share price actually went up today says investors have full confidence IAG can turn things around.